One of THOSE days!

Don’t we all have those days where we’re just looking for a fight?  You know what I mean. You’re irritable, cranky and you feel the only fair thing would be to send out a warning to tell people to give you a wide berth or suffer the consequences.  I’m having one of those days.  It started before I even opened my eyes. I knew I’d be on a hair-trigger and I was right. Even the cadence of the dog’s breathing annoyed me.

My mood made me think of this video I ran across years ago.

In a mood like this I suggest:

–unleashing a path of destructive word-lashing to any unsuspecting soul who phones, emails or texts you or anyone you run across on the net.  (Or you could save yourself regrets and back away from any human contact!)

–Immediately find a bar of Lindt dark chocolate with sea salt and don’t share with anyone, no matter how much they beg or how needy their expression.  It’s an ACT to get your treat. Don’t give in!

–Start drinking. Somewhere in the world, like in Egypt or someplace, it’s bound to be 5pm.  Heck, who cares if it’s 5 anyway? Who’s in charge here?

Anyone have any other helpful and friendly tips to add to my own?  You know, in case some or all of mine don’t work, which is absurd, because I know they work. But some of us may need a back up plan in case we run out of wine and chocolate and someone breaks the internet.

Have a GREAT day! :)

About Ginger Calem

I never met a notebook I didn't want to buy. Pens speak to me. Sticky notes are dear to my heart. Some of my best friends are those clambering in my head trying to get onto the page. And when they have their stories told, and I release them to the world, I hope they'll be your friends too.

Posted on November 16, 2011, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 19 Comments.

  1. Shannon Esposito

    LOL! This makes me think we should have an additional “I’m going to kick somebody’s ass” day added on to sick days. These kinds of days, I go to bed early (like, as soon as my kids do) and just know the next day will be better. :-)

  2. I love the video, for there are days like that. I always know when I’m on the edge as I get so cranky I can’t even stand myself. That’s when I retreat to the TV, plug in Serenity, and watch River Tam show what a girl with PMS can really do. Always makes me feel better. (The Irish Coffee I have with it doesn’t hurt either.)
    Chin up, girl, better days ahead. :)

  3. I like the way you think. In all honestly, I think there should be ‘mental health’ days. Sometimes we just need a day to do whatever it is to get our mind back in line. I have one child who really does need an occasional mental health day off of school to regroup.

  4. I write fiction and float away in the words. It works!!

    • I wish I was a writer and could do that. Wait … I have to go now! haha!! Seriously, if anything I can inflict some suffering on my characters which might make me feel better and is SURE to improve the story! Thanks for stopping by Susie and for the tweet!

  5. Sorry about your bad day Ginger and I have to agree with you. Five o’clock never comes too soon!

  6. Pull out a good book and hide in a corner with it. Turn on some funky music and crank it up louder than the voices in your head. Bang out your frustrations on a set of drums.

    Hope you’re feeling much better tomorrow, Ginger!

  7. I love the video. some days are just like that, aren’t they?

  8. Oh yes if you can’t actually whip someone’s ass, doing it in fiction is much better. I will be watching this on certain days.

    • Agreed! Doing it in fiction opens so many more possibilities because I can’t get arrested for assault. :) Finding and watching that video actually put a huge smile on my face, so it really works!

  9. LOL. This made even my son smile who was feeling a little bit like that chick today. Thanks for this perfect post Ginger!

  10. Oh dear, I vote for all of the above. I am a firm believer in the power of chocolate and/or alcohol to fix all things (or at least to make them feel better). On a rough day, you can find me at happy hour (or hosting my own happy hour at home, lol), munching on chocolate and knocking back greyhounds. :p

    Also! I have to add, completely off-topic, that I am obsessed with notebooks and pens! I have every journal I’ve kept since junior high, along with all the notebooks that I’ve filled with creative writing and school notes. My parents think I’m completely crazy, but there’s something so wonderfully visceral about writing things by hand — a connection between the page, the pen, and the brain, or something like that. :)

    • Lena, you and I would be two peas in a pod! You even totally ‘get it’ when paper and pens. The first words written on a blank notebook page are magical in some way! Thanks for the comment!

  11. 1) Beer and chocolate chip cookies 2) Beer with a friend 3) Go outside (helps dispel the energy) 4) Run and lift weights (this solves just about everything) 5) Sleep (lack thereof is usually why I get set off anyway) 6) Did I mention beer and chocolate chip cookies?

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,538 other followers

