Friday Favorites that are Squeee-Worthy!

I don’t know about you but I very often find myself saying “That is one of my most favorite things.” I feel this way about a lot of things. Some things just make me smile everywhere. You know the kind of things I’m talking about right? Things that are so YOU that you practically bond with them. I believe you can tell a lot about a person from the collection of their favorite things. Going forward, I’ll make a point of sharing some of my favorite things here on my blog on Fridays and I’d love to hear about your favorite things!

At the end of 2011, I blogged about my top five favorite things of the year. This year, I’d like to share with you a few gifts I received for Christmas that I flipped out over because they were totally unexpected and spoke to me.

Not pictured are the bottles of liquor and gift card to Specs (thanks, Mom!) or the purse that my Dad managed to surprise me with when I am almost impossible to surprise.

First up —

 

Custom made Harry Potter coasters

Custom made Harry Potter coasters

This was my first surprise. A good friend gave me these amazingly cool Harry Potter coasters. I squealed.  When I asked her where in the world she’d found them she told me she MADE them, choosing the photos herself just for me. I squealed and did that little jumpy-hand-wavy thing.

Pretty tealight holder

Pretty tealight holder

Then my wonderful sister-in-law surprised us with this gorgeous candleholder. I mean, tea lights and wine bottles.  Hello!

Gorgeous wooden bracelet and ring

Gorgeous wooden bracelet and ring

My lovely sister chose this ring and bracelet and it was love at first sight. Seriously, how cool are these? I love how warm the wood is against my skin. They are totally my style and I think I’ve worn them every time I’ve gotten out of my workout clothes since.

Handblown glass tree

Handblown glass tree

Ok, this blew me away! My wonderful mother-in-law picked my name for our family Secret Santa exchange. I love trees, especially willowy ones because I feel they are dancing and swaying to some beautiful song of nature. This tree is hand-blown glass and was found at the Texas Renaissance Fest. I’m in love with it.

I am Wonder Woman!

I am Wonder Woman!

Finally, that same awesome mother-in-law gave me a set of wine-finds. You know those charms you put on a wine glass so you can keep track of it at a party. Only, I use them all the time even when I’m having a glass all by myself because it’s like my glass looking sassy just for me. Well, I saw this cool set of wine finds at our local Christmas Stroll. They are made from pennies. The full set is huge nod to all things superhero. Captain America, Batman, Spidey …. as you might imagine, my favorite one is Wonder Woman!

So tell me, did you get anything for Christmas (or Chanukah, or recently ‘just because’) that made you want to hug it and kiss it and do the jumpy-hand-wavy thing?

Here’s to a great 2013 and many more favorite things!

About Ginger Calem

I never met a notebook I didn't want to buy. Pens speak to me. Sticky notes are dear to my heart. Some of my best friends are those clambering in my head trying to get onto the page. And when they have their stories told, and I release them to the world, I hope they'll be your friends too.

Posted on January 11, 2013, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 10 Comments.

  1. You got some winners there. I was gifted this year by my daughter and son-in-law with a purse made from my debut novel’s book cover. I posted on FB so if you want to have a look. It’s the cool gift I’ve gotten in a very long time.

    • Hi Judythe and thank you! I saw the picture of your most fabulous purse on Facebook. That is indeed an awesome gift and one to be treasured! Your daughter gets big props for that one.

  2. ALL so cool! Love the wine-bottle tea-light thing. That’s awesome. And the tree is pretty stellar, too!

  3. Well, I’m afraid I didn’t get anything that made me want to to the jumpy-hand-wavy thing, but I do know how you feel because I have had those moments. I love your glass tree and the wine bottle tea light ensemble. How totally cool to have such unique things.

    Looks like a good haul this year!

    Patricia Rickrode
    w/a Jansen Schmidt

  4. In LOVE with the Wonder Woman choker!

  5. I LOVE the wonder woman wine thingy. I don’t drink wine, but I bet it would work on martini glasses, too. The best gift I got for the holidays was from my dad. He got me a generous gift certificate to Barnes and Noble and put it inside a box of Godiva chocolate. Really, my two favorite things in one. I have the best dad!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,538 other followers

