WritersButt Wednesday – It’s All in the Bones

Is it really Wednesday again? Wow! I’ve been a crazy little energizer bunny, only my batteries do indeed seem to be losing some juice. I keep meaning to add in more days to my blog, outside of my WritersButt Wednesday posts, only time slips away from me.

As a matter of fact, one of the new fun things to which I’ve given some of my time is a group blog with some of my favorite people on earth, some members of my 10+ years-strong critique group. We talk writing all the time and the publishing industry and whatnot. Because we are all voracious readers in addition to being writers, we also talk reading – and books – from a writer’s perspective and we thought we’d start sharing some of our conversations with, you know, anyone who’d like to chat with us.

Our new blog is … drumroll …

Reading, Writing, Raising Hell (or Heck!)

Now doesn’t that sound fun? I can tell you we are pretty cool and we’d LOVE for you to hang out with us by following our blog, which you can do by clicking the FOLLOW button from our site. Come’on, you know you want to. We are just getting started, so help us grow and talk books and reading with us!

All that said, why in the heck have I titled today’s blog ‘It’s All in the Bones’? Well, I’m going to tell you about a serious power food, like a super-packed-nutrient-bomb that is incredibly easy to make and cheap to boot.

It’s homemade bone broth. You can make bone broth from any bones; beef, chicken, turkey, pork, fish, etc. What you are going for is the minerals and nutrients from within the bones that you can extract through long (LONG) simmering.

Here’s an excerpt from Wellness Mama’s Blog about the benefits of bone broth:

Besides its amazing taste and culinary uses, broth is an excellent source of minerals and is known to boost the immune system (chicken soup when you are sick anyone?) and improve digestion. Its high calcium, magnesium, and phosphorus content make it great for bone and tooth health. Bone broth also supports joints, hair, skin, and nails due to its high collagen content. In fact, some even suggest that it helps eliminate cellulite as it supports smooth connective tissue.

But wait – did you read that last sentence carefully? Ladies, lean in here real quick, especially if you are someone who battles ~whispers~ Cellulite. Incorporating bone broth into your regular diet may actually help get rid of that cellulite, naturally and deliciously.

The following is from Balanced Bites regarding bone broth and the support of our cells:

But fighting a cold, combating disease and healing a leaky gut aren’t all broth can help to do: Dr. Cate Shanahan, author of Deep Nutrition: Why Your Genes Need Traditional Food, explains in her interview with Sean Croxton of Underground Wellness that the collagen found in home-made bone broth is a “super-food” when it comes to cellular integrity and in reducing the appearance of cellulite. Yes! There is a way to naturally, and legitimately, reduce cellulite – and it’s as simple as incorporating bone broth into your regular diet. Dr. Shanahan says that “cellulite is fat that lacks collagen support” and that “people who have more collagen in their diet… are less likely to have cellulite in their fat.” It’s not about just losing the fat – it’s about getting back to a diet that will support the structure of your cells.

How about I show you my first homemade bone broth experience. I used soup bones from the ¼ of a cow that I recently purchased from a local cattle farm called Raising 5 Cattle. It’s a family owned cattle farm right in my hometown. The herd grazes freely on their land and is grass fed and family-raised.

Soup Bones from Raising 5 Cattle

Soup Bones from Raising 5 Cattle

 

I diced up some veggies I planned to use.

Veggies for homemade broth

Veggies for homemade broth

I put the onion in the bottom on my crockpot, threw in a ton of garlic cloves and a healthy handful of whole peppercorns.

Ready for the slow, long, simmer

Ready for the slow, long, simmer

Then I filled up the crockpot with filtered water and set it on high. This was around 4 pm. I let it come to a good simmer for a while. When I went to bed, I switched the crockpot to low. We woke up to our home smelling so amazing. At that point, the water had evaporated enough that I added in the rest of my veggies.

Doubles as a centerpiece

Doubles as a centerpiece

I covered it back up and let it simmer all day. Finally, at nearly 4 pm, so about 24 hours later, I turned it off and strained it. I poured it into a stock pot through a steamer basket. Then I strained it again through a wire mesh strainer into my 8 cup Pampered Chef glass mixing bowl, filling it all the way to the top with this nutrient dense broth.

8 full cups of homemade super-food

8 full cups of homemade super-food

It will stay fresh in your fridge for up to a week or so, or you can freeze it for month. Once it cools in the fridge, any sediment will sink, all the fat will rise to the top (called tallow) and the broth will ‘gel’. You can use the tallow to cook. I did the other night and the family went crazy for the flavor of our chicken sausages, which I’d sautéed in the tallow.

You can use the broth in many ways. You can obviously use it simply as broth, for soup. Add in veggies, meat, etc. It would make a mean French Onion Soup. You can use the beef broth in any recipe that calls for broth as a liquid.

We have just been drinking it, from a mug. I never thought I’d see the day that I’d even type that. But it’s truly delicious and basically a mug of savory, healthy broth/soup. I scoop out the gelled broth into my mug and heat it in the microwave, then sip my super-soup!

My 15 year old son is currently in 2 theatre productions and his throat felt scratchy. He sipped him some broth on the way to school today. Such a smart boy!

So, who’s going to try it?

 

 

 

About Ginger Calem

I never met a notebook I didn't want to buy. Pens speak to me. Sticky notes are dear to my heart. Some of my best friends are those clambering in my head trying to get onto the page. And when they have their stories told, and I release them to the world, I hope they'll be your friends too.

Posted on September 25, 2013, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 9 Comments.

  1. I’ve been having bone broth for years now. It’s awesome. Especially in the winter. Ham bones are my favorite. Didn’t know it was helpful for (whisper) cellulite though. Good to know.

    Patricia Rickrode
    w/a Jansen Schmidt

  2. How interesting that bone broth is so good for you. A cup of warm broth on a chilly day… sounds great!

  3. I make broth and soup all the time. Ham, chicken, beef. Hubby is not fond of turkey soup so I don’t do that. I’ve never done fish broth because Hubby wouldn’t eat that either. I save all my celery, carrot, onions and herbs scraps in a bag in the freezer. When I want to make broth this bag goes in the CrockPot. It suddenly dawned on my one day that I didn’t have to buy specific veggies for my soups or broth like my mother did. Last time I made a pot roast, I pulled a prime rib bone from the freezer and tossed it in the CrockPot with the pot roast. Made wonder gravy and Hubby took what little meat was on the bone for the cats. We sure had happy cats that day. LOL

    • Pat — I love that idea of keeping a bag in the freezer. I throw stuff away all the time, veggies past their prime when I didn’t have a chance to cook them. Going to start this practice for sure! Thank you.

  4. Oh my goodness Ginger, this is good stuff here. I was gone last week and was going through my email and found this. It reminds me of when I was a little girl and my mother would feed me beef broth from the actual bone, or shank when I got sick. At the time there was some thought about how it built up your blood. I don’t know if that’s an old wise tale. But I had forgotten about this.

    And you get grass fed? I am so jealous! Does Raising 5 Cattle ship out of state? I’m serious! That is a fantastic resource you have there girlfriend. I’m all over this.

    Thank you so much! :)

    • Hi Karen. I honestly don’t know about building up your blood, but from what I’ve been reading, there sure is a ton of health benefits from bone broths. Yes, this is grass fed, no artificial food-ingredients of any kind, raised right here in my little town. Cool right? I do not think that they ship. You can check out their webpage http://www.raising5.com/ … Also, I can get you some grass fed cattle contacts that do ship. Let me know.

  5. Interesting Ginger. I checked out Raising5’s site and it doesn’t say anything about shipping. Hubby and I eat exclusively grass fed beef at home. Usually that said beef comes from Whole Foods or the Meat House. Ouch! I don’t know of any grass fed cattle ranches in California. I would suspect there should be. I’m going to do a little investigating. If I cannot find something closer to home, I will definitely take you up on your offer girl. Do you mind me asking what you pay per pound? Do you buy a whole or half cow to stock your freezer?

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,538 other followers

