WritersButt Wednesday: Getting on “The List”

Ginger's Gratitude List for Nov 7th, 2013

Ginger’s Gratitude List for Nov 7th, 2013

We are into November, the month of Thanksgiving.  Once again FB has exploded with posts of gratitude, one for each day. They are called 30 days of Thanksgiving or something similar. Because ‘Gratitude’ is a vital component in the WritersButt program, I’m all over this. It’s not like I’m not thankful all the other months of the year. I most certainly am. But in November, I make a very concerted effort to recognize something specifically unique for which I’m grateful that day and share it.

So, on Facebook this morning, a friend posted an article basically bashing this idea of sharing things publically that you are thankful for. The point of the article was that it was fine and dandy to be grateful but to share it publically could be considered bragging and might even inflict pain and suffering on others. Basically it said to keep your thanks to yourself.

What the … what??

Examples from the article suggest that if you are thankful for your children, someone reading it might be battling infertility and thus be saddened. Or if someone expresses thanks for a happy home, someone might not have a happy home life or maybe even be homeless so that little ‘gratitude’ on Facebook might plunge them into depression.

Oh, come on! That’s crazy-talk. We are not responsibly for other people’s reactions to our gratitudes in life. I derive more good feelings for things my friends and family (heck, even strangers) are blessed with. It makes me feel good to see and feel their joy. It makes me hopeful.

I’m not going to link to the article because I suspect the author might not be very happy, and maybe is finding it hard to find things for which to be thankful. So I don’t wish to inflict any negativity in that direction.

But I will offer up a challenge that I truly believe could change your life. As I’ve said many, many times in this WritersButt journey, you should be grateful every day for the things, people, and experiences in your life, big and small. Keeping a gratitude journal is a great way to experience the joy of being grateful.

Now I’d like to kick it up a notch with a new challenge.  Every day, make it your goal to get on someone’s gratitude list. That is to say, go about your day in such a way that you are looking for opportunities to positively effect the lives of others. These don’t have to be grand gestures. Something as small as a compliment on someone’s shoes could make someone’s day.

Don’t be stingy with your smiles. You can’t imagine how many people need to have one shine on them. The smile you share could be something they remember and give thanks for at the end of the day.

What kind of amazing effect would the world have if we all acted like this? If everyone was trying to positively impact others, consciously and specifically … the ripple effect would be astounding.

Make it your daily goal to GET ON THE LIST!

And SHARE far and wide your Gratitude. Be a part of the wave of THANKS and ride it with joy.

 

About Ginger Calem

I never met a notebook I didn't want to buy. Pens speak to me. Sticky notes are dear to my heart. Some of my best friends are those clambering in my head trying to get onto the page. And when they have their stories told, and I release them to the world, I hope they'll be your friends too.

Posted on November 6, 2013, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 18 Comments.

  1. I absolutely love this. Riding the wave of thanks and looking for ways to spread the gratitude!

  2. Trish Loye Elliott

    Ginger, you made my list with this post. Thanks.

    • Aww, that’s really sweet. Thank you! It really does feel awesome to make someone’s list. Hope all is well with you. MIssed seeing you all at Surrey this year. I’m sure it was a blast as always.

  3. I love this idea! I wish I had the time to participate, too. But right now, I am grateful everyday when the end of the workday comes and I get to go to the gym. Yay!

    • As a gym owner and trainer, I can tell you that when clients show up regularly, give all their effort, lift up others, clean up after themselves — I am so grateful to them. So you might be on their list every day!

  4. Great article Ginger you hit the nail on this one…. glad I was able to give you some ammo to write about :) One of my favorite quotes is “What if we woke up tomorrow & only had the things we thanked God for today?” That puts a whole different perspective on life, what’s important and being thankful everyday <3

  5. Molly Pendlebury

    I’m down with that…..challenge excepted :)

  6. Cheryl Dealbert

    Ginger, you made my list today ! Thank you for your words.

    • Aw, thanks, Cheryl. I’ve taken myself up on my own challenge. It’s a very specific mindset to go through your day TRYING to act in such a way that others will be thankful for you. I feel amazing!

  7. “Be a part of the wave of THANKS and ride it with joy.” Love this !!

  8. I’m grateful for you, Ginger. Apparently (according to the FB author) “if you can’t say something nice, don’t say anything at all,” should be more like “if you want to say something nice, don’t say it.” That’s back asswards.

    No matter how hard anyone tries, you’re never going to be able to please everyone. There has to be one in every crowd. Every party has a pooper.

    Thanks for taking the high road and staying positive my friend.

    Patricia Rickrode
    w/a Jansen Schmidt

  9. You know I’m an advocate of gratitude Ginger. I believe we should practice it everyday, not just one day out of the year because we are told to or out of obligation. We have so much to be thankful for. Like the fact that we are not living in the Philippines right now with the biggest storm in recorded history taking place over there. That we have a measure of health and safety, good food, our family and friends. We are very blessed. I am grateful for your post and most of all you girl for keeping everyone pumped up and in shape. That’s not an easy job. But you always rise to the occasion. Thanks! :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,539 other followers

