My Grandma made me do it — Introducing Duncan Calem in Noises Off

I hope you will allow me some indulgence as I show you my very proud mom-side. My son Duncan, who is a sophomore, just starred in his high school’s production of Noises Off. If you are my Facebook friend, you already know this because I bombarded you with notices of his performing nights, gushing about how awesome he was and all around being Ga-Ga over the entire production and cast. It was truly amazing! I wrote this post as the easiest way to share a few video clips of Duncan in action with my family and friends.

Ok, the real truth is my Grandma was so heartbroken not to be able to see Duncan perform that she guilted me into taking some video. And now, you ALL get to share her joy in seeing her great-grandson perform.

If you are unfamiliar with Noises Off, here is what About.com says about it:

Playwright Michael Frayn created Noises Off in the early 1980s. It is a love letter and an inside joke to those of us familiar with the thrilling and unpredictable nature of the stage.

What is ‘Noise Off’ About?

Noises Off is a play within a play. It is about an ambitious director and his troupe of mediocre actors. The cast and crew are putting together a silly sex comedy titled, Nothing On - a single-set farce in which lovers frollic, doors slam, clothes are tossed away, and embarrassing hi-jinks ensue.

I already knew Duncan loved theatre and acting. He’s been in numerous school productions already. And, while they were good and of course I always enjoy watching my children do something they love, Duncan’s performance in Noises Off … well, he Blew. Me. Away!

Thursday night was his last performace. The show was extended for an extra weekend so I finally took a few videos clips so I could share my thespian with you all. All three clips are taken from Act 1.

First clip is the entrance of Roger/Garry and really sets up his character.

The following small clip shows Roger becoming unraveled and things start to really fall apart.

The last clip is my favorite. Roger is calling the police because everything has gotten out of control.  This is just a tiny snippet of what was one of my top favorite scenes in the whole play.

And that’s all I have. Hope you enjoyed seeing my guy in action. We are so proud of him.

 

 

About Ginger Calem

I never met a notebook I didn't want to buy. Pens speak to me. Sticky notes are dear to my heart. Some of my best friends are those clambering in my head trying to get onto the page. And when they have their stories told, and I release them to the world, I hope they'll be your friends too.

Posted on November 16, 2013, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. You should be proud! Duncan is a natural! Brava!
    !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  2. Talented kid you’ve got there!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,534 other followers

