WritersButt Wednesday: Tweaking Lent

Hey, at least I didn’t call this post Twerking Lent. You’re welcome!

So, today is Ash Wednesday, the official start of the season of Lent.  Lent is the 40 days prior to Easter Sunday. It is known for being a time of sacrifice and reflection for the 40 days that Jesus fasted in the desert. I’ve observed the season of Lent for as long as I can remember. It is sometimes known more as a Catholic tradition, or at least that’s what people express to me, but I grew up in the Lutheran church and we always observed the season, so there you go.

Over the years, I’ve given up all sorts of things. The idea is to choose a vice, something you will really miss, so that you are constantly aware of your sacrifice and you are reminded to focus the sacrifice that Jesus made for us.

Listen, I’m not a religious historian, nor am I remotely an expert on the subject, so these are my interpretations as I grew up as a Christian. So while I’m sure I’m getting some of the details wrong, I’m focusing on what the season means to me.

This year I’ve chosen not to give something up, which I have always done in the past, from chocolate to sugar altogether. Last year I did “Paleo-Lent” where I was 100% strict with my Paleo diet (how I primarily eat anyway) for the entire season of Lent. There was nothing wrong with these sacrifices but this year I wanted to add something into my life instead of take something away.  I want to infuse my life with something positive instead of a constant reminder of what I wasn’t allowing myself to have.

If you have been following my WritersButt’s program for any length of time, you know it’s about connecting the mind and body to be more creative and productive. To do this, I suggest everyone be well hydrated, eat a healthy, wholesome diet, get enough sleep, incorporate exercise into your daily life and to practice gratitude.

It’s safe to say I do pretty well on most of the elements of WritersButt in my own life, but I think I can do better. Even while I go through all the motions of all the key components, I have been feeling a bit displaced in my daily life. I’m distracted and avoiding things that are very important to me … namely my writing.

Why?

I’m not sure but I hope to find out. I do know one of the key things that never fails to derail me, is to allow my mind to get too busy, too insistent on doing it ‘all’ and do it all ‘perfectly’.

Self-Sabotage!

I’m looking for some balance!

In addition to my consistent CrossFit weight training, I’ve added daily yoga to my routine. (Way more about this adventure in a later post!) But, I have been saying for over a year that I want to add in daily meditation, to quiet my mind and let my soul just breathe and my body and mind just be. Maybe if I can quiet the constant, hammering noise of my thoughts, I can actually HEAR what a deeper part of me has to say?

So, that’s what I’m doing for Lent this year. A daily meditation time.

meditation quote a hoopes

A year and a half ago, my husband and I took a fabulous trip to Mexico where we stayed at an amazing place called Present Moment Retreat. I still cherish every moment of that trip. While there, we learned how to meditate from the yoga instructor. (Hi Belen – HUGS from Texas!!))

It is not easy, and she suggests you start with just a few minutes. Here’s a great article with tips for a beginner starting a meditation practice.

I just did my meditation before writing this blog. It was less than 5 minutes.  It felt like an hour at least. It’s so hard to sit, breathe, empty your mind and just exist with an open heart. My word – I need the practice.

Good thing I have 39 more days until Easter to get better at mediation so that it will become a lifelong habit. I hope it will help connect me back to doing what brings me such joy – Chasing My Dreams!

Do any of you meditate? Do you participate in Lent? If you do, what are you giving up OR adding in this Lent?

 

 

About Ginger Calem

I never met a notebook I didn't want to buy. Pens speak to me. Sticky notes are dear to my heart. Some of my best friends are those clambering in my head trying to get onto the page. And when they have their stories told, and I release them to the world, I hope they'll be your friends too.

Posted on March 5, 2014, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 9 Comments.

  1. Hmm…now I’m wondering if I ever told you that I spent a year in meditation “school” (and have the certificate to prove it). Welcome to the path.

    • What?? Why don’t I know this? And yet, why does this not surprise me in the least? :) Remember that first time we met in Surrey and you did reiki (sp? — too lazy to look up) on my knee and it was a amazing, at least for me? Well, I realize that’s not ‘meditation’ but it does seem to go hand in hand. Now we need to talk more about this.

  2. Lent? Give something up? For 40 days? Nope. Not me. I’ve given up having money for most of my adult life. I’d like to add that one back in some day. But, I’m doing okay with what I have so i guess I’ll choose to be grateful instead. What’s money anyway?

    I’ve missed you around the blogging sphere. Hopefully you’re back for awhile. Good to see you!

    Happy Lent, or not, whatever you want I’m hoping you’ll find it.

    Patricia Rickrode
    w/a Jansen Schmidt

    • Hey, being grateful, as in actively and purposefully grateful for 40 days would be awesome! I really love the feeling I have already by adding something INTO my life that is positive.

      Thanks for missing me. I kept wanting to blog and yet, the words … they just weren’t there or they were saying the wrong things. I’m feeling more inspired again already though. Whew!!

      Hugs my friend!

  3. I love the notion of giving something back to my life during lent. It makes so much sense. Instead of counting down the days until I can again indulge in whatever “vice” I may chose to sacrifice, adding something during the forty days creates a new habit and — if chosen wisely –something that will enrich my spiritual life far beyond the season of lent.

    I’ve never given anything up for lent. While the Methodist church we now attend observes this practice, it wasn’t part of my early years. And, I’ve witnessed too many people give up something like beer, then wince and whine over their substitute (wine) during Lent.

    I’ve indulged in such a slug-is-me-fest for nearly three months. This year, I will add exercise back to my daily routine.

    And, I’ll take my morning chats with my Higher Power back to a level mirroring meditation. It’s something I learned six years ago when I got sober, but — lately — I’ve been doing the blathering and haven’t stayed quiet long enough to feel, let alone internalize, the response.

    Thank you!

    • Exactly my thinking … creating a new habit to enrich my life. Being thoughtful and reflective during Lent. Win Win. (okay, at first I automatically type wine-wine … you know what I’m NOT giving up!) ;)

      Adding exercise is an awesome idea. You knew I’d love that one! Start small. Be consistent. You can do. Shout out to me if you need any cheerleading. I’ve added in daily yoga too. I have discovered Yoga With Adriene. She has a YouTube channel with tons of great yoga sequences. If yoga is something you want to try … check her out! She’s adorbs!! ;)

      Finally, I need to hear more about this level mirroring meditation. Can you blog about it? Give me a link? Email/Message me?

      Always great to have you comment, Gloria. Thank You!

      • Snort! I sat here thinking, “Level mirroring meditation? Level mirroring meditation? Why did I write that? Was it a subconscious slip of knowledge into an otherwise conscious post? What in the cluck is level mirroring meditation?”

        The wording SHOULD have been “brought my morning chats with my Higher Power back to a level that mirrors meditation.”

        Duh!

        And, now, you know why I quadruple edit my novels. ;-)

        • Just between us…

          I’m tempted to INVENT a meditation method and name it Level Mirroring Meditation. Should you read a post about its many benefits, ignore me.

          Unless I trip over something brilliant with my mischief, of course.

          • SO FUNNY!! I totally think you should invent something. You know, there really are different sorts of mirror-meditations. I was just wondering what YOURS was all about. haha!! :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,538 other followers

