Blog post or Novella?

How long should a blog post be?  That is my burning question.  Ok, I realize not all blog posts are created equal, nor should they be.  But, I have an opinion (shocker!) on this one.  I think shorter is often better.  Let me explain, briefly.

I love information.  I have a great time being in the know and peeking in on all sorts of things throughout the day.  Facebook and Twitter are never farther away than my smartphone, which is usually clutched tight in my hot little hands.  I’m always running around like a crazy person trying to get too much done in too little time.

 

If someone forwards me something via email and I have to go here, click that, read this long thing and forward to 32 people or have a curse placed on my head for eternity, I’m outta there.  On Facebook, if the hilarious video you’ve shared is longer than about 2 minutes, it better have been giggle-snorting funny.  When I follow links to blogs on Twitter, I want good, relatable, concise information and maybe a photo or two.  Bonus points for funny!

And yet I wonder, has our world become too focused on instant gratification?  Too impatient to appreciate the finer details?  Too drive-thru lane; zip in-zip out, and away we go?  Should I take time to smell the tweety-flowers?

What do you think?

Something I must ponder while I switch the laundry, check in with my Twitter-Peeps, tackle the grocery story, peek into Facebook and plot my next gripping scene before the house-natives get home from school.

About Ginger Calem

I never met a notebook I didn't want to buy. Pens speak to me. Sticky notes are dear to my heart. Some of my best friends are those clambering in my head trying to get onto the page. And when they have their stories told, and I release them to the world, I hope they'll be your friends too.

Posted on September 14, 2011, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. Agreed. (She says guiltily, realizing today’s post on her own blog is nothing close to short… but it is small chunks of info grouped together… so does that count?)

  2. I think this is great. By which I mean I’ve learned that you are willing to flip the load and possibly fold the laundry while doing a zillion other things. So I’m going to hijack you and bring you here. Bwa ha ha!

  3. Thanks, Linda. I zipped through your fun blog today as I always do. You bring up a good point. Small chunks grouped together is awesome, especially because you always have great pictures too. It’s those large blocks of text that make me antsy to move on.

    Liz–Please hijack me! I know where you are and want to be there! I’ll even do the laundry if you handle the dishes.

  4. I admire you so much. I’m going to be a loyal follower I can tell and maybe one day start my own blog…or just write more 🙂

Leave a Reply

