Electric shocks are fun?

For those of you who haven’t heard of it, there’s this adventure race called a Tough Mudder.  It proclaims to be, “ … a 10+ mile event through mud and gnarly obstacles.”

Let me repeat something.  “Gnarly Obstacles”

I didn’t really know the full details of this race until recently because, quite frankly, they lost me at ‘mudder’.  I’m not a fan of getting dirty.  This race is filthy, like you are crashing into, rolling in and slogging through mud.  I don’t have a thing to wear to this type of event.  I’d never get those clothes clean.  And why ruin a perfectly cute pair of running shoes.

Anyway, lately, talk of this race has been sparking up into conversations around me.  There’s even a group from our CrossFit Georgetown gym who are going as a team.  The anticipation is high, expectations are buzzing … everyone is amped up.  And I’m happy and excited for them.  I can’t wait to see the pictures, really.

But back to those ‘gnarly obstacles’.  Not only are there towering walls of wood, burning hay bales and probably greased-up barbed wire fences to scale, at the end of the 10+ miles, the last thing you do is collapse through a field of electrical current – and I use the term collapse literally.

Electric Shock Dash  (youtube video as proof to the validity of which I speak)

Is that even legal?  (Obviously it is.)  Does this cause brain damage?  (I guess not??)  But it begs the question … why?  Why would someone willingly run through live electrical wires when they are covered in wet mud?

My only assumption is that it is obviously worth it to them.  Now, this I get.  I understand doing whatever is worth it to reach an achievement.  We all have goals in life, aspirations and dreams and you owe it to yourself to pursue them with your heart and soul.

 

For these Tough Mudder crazies, er, I mean supreme adventure seekers, finishing the race, facing the most gnarliest of obstacles and getting to the other side is worth it.

For many years, one of my greatest aspirations is to be a published author.  I have written the books, entered contests, joined online workshops, attended conferences — started a blog — all in the effort to achieve my dream.  And I’m not done trying yet.  But I draw the line on electrocution in my pursuit of publication.

Or dol I?  How bad does it hurt anyway?  Will I still have my taste buds?

What about you?  What is the craziest thing you can imagine doing in pursuit of a goal or dream?  Come on, I really want to know.

About Ginger Calem

I never met a notebook I didn't want to buy. Pens speak to me. Sticky notes are dear to my heart. Some of my best friends are those clambering in my head trying to get onto the page. And when they have their stories told, and I release them to the world, I hope they'll be your friends too.

Posted on September 16, 2011, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

