Hopeless Addiction

I have this ‘not-so-secret’ addiction.  No, it’s not the wine … that’s a whole other post.

I’m thoroughly obsessed with notebooks, pens, and sticky notes and just about all things office-supply.  In any store where these things are sold, by a seemingly insurmountable gravitational pull, my body is guided to their presence.  Don’t judge.  A girl’s entitled to a weakness. Or two.  Or however many, who’s counting anyway?

But truly, a new notebook is like a promise.  It’s ripe with potential.  It’s screaming, “Grab a pen, since I know you have a thousand, and tell me a story!”

So I have this brand new story I’m working on and I’ve decided it needed its very own binder, complete with tabbed pocket dividers.  squeel!

 

 

 

 

 

While shopping for the folder and some much needed notebooks (hush-up peanut gallery), I came across a 3-hole punch.  Just what I needed for all the printed pages of notes, plotting worksheets, and photos of guys to be cast as my hunky teen soccer player.  (A writer has research!)  My sister tried to convince me not to get it but I held my ground.  See, doesn’t it look grand on my desk?

 

And check out what I found when I purchasing a pocket dictionary/thesaurus for oldest child.  Isn’t it just the cutest thing?

The following day, I accidentally meandered into Office Depot and you would not believe it, they were marking down the back-to-school supplies to these ridiculous close-out clearance prices.  I mean, this was not even advertised yet. The lady with the magic price-gun told me in confidence.  We bonded!  I asked if the prices would ring up correctly, a valid concern being that I had pre-sale insider info.  She said they would when she rang me up personally.  This is akin to her handing out free samples of crack to an addict in a meth-lab!

Check out what I got … all for … wait for it … $4.60.  That is not a typo, less than a 5-spot!

 What am I to do with all these glorious notebooks other than covertly hide them in my desk drawer for when I need an emergency fix?  Hey, I know just what I can do!

Wait, where did I put my pen?  Let me open this drawer …

Here’s one!  🙂

*

YOUR TURN:  What can you NOT resist buying even though it’s the last thing you really need?  Make me feel better people!

About Ginger Calem

I never met a notebook I didn't want to buy. Pens speak to me. Sticky notes are dear to my heart. Some of my best friends are those clambering in my head trying to get onto the page. And when they have their stories told, and I release them to the world, I hope they'll be your friends too.

Posted on September 23, 2011, in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 14 Comments.

  1. Ah, the lure of the office supply store to a writer…it can only be compared to an addiction…which I share with you.

    Thanks for giving me a fix with this fun post.

  2. I am also drawn to office supplies. I love good pens and colored post it notes. But, scissors are my weakness. I have one pair for fabric. My family knows that those are untouchable. Those sweet scissors have been well cared for. Never subjected to the dulling affects of paper. I have discovered them in the hands of the much less experienced. For safe keeping, they are now hidden in the utility room. I have another pair that give me pure joy. They feel good in my hand and cut paper like butter. I even have a pair in my car. You would be amazed at how often I save the day because I’m smart enough to carry scissors everywhere I go. I believe I may even be raising children that will be wise scissor toting adults.

    • Oh my gosh! I adore scissors too and I pity the fool who messes with my fabric scissors! You know, I don’t have a pair for my car. I might have to take a quick jaunt to the office supply aisle … 🙂

  3. I believe you needed every one of those things, and guess what – so do I.
    I could take my own pictures and they’d look just like yours.
    And guess what – after wanting a three-hole punch for many years, I too bought one this year!!!!!

  4. Yep, I’m obsessed with office supplies, too. I actually have to restrain myself when I’m near the fancy stores like Papyrus, or in the journal section of Barnes & Noble. Also, art supplies. I’m not an artist by any means, but put me in a store like Blix and all of a sudden I’m Picasso. I must have canvases and brushes and paint or I will perish! And then of course they sit in the corner of my office and collect dust. Sigh.

    • Hi Nicole. As you know, I can totally relate! I get into a craft store and all of a sudden and picture Martha Stewart weeping in envy at my awesomeness! And I know I’m not the only one who looks hungrily at the jumbo-pack of sharpies, that pretty rainbow of goodness. 😉

  5. Goodness, if I had known, I would of given you my electric hole puncher which is super fun to use and oh so fast.

  6. Is there really anyone who doesn’t like office supplies? I can’t imagine and if they said they weren’t, can’t say I’d believe them….they are certainly still in the supply closet. After reading your post and comments, I now know, I need to up my scissor supply immediately and will forever feel better about my weakness for pens (ok all kinds, shapes and sizes). Although, just about any office supply will bring a smile to my face, it’s pens that are probably the “addiction” I have. However, if we leave the office supply store **cry a little as the doors slide shut behind me** It’s the sugar addiction that I struggle the most with. I will rationalize whatever “treat” I’m considering and probably 50% of the time, I buy it. Must say, that not long ago it was 80% at least so, I think I’m making progress……oooo, that was swell of me….I think I’ll go reward my self with a “treat”…maybe it’ll be a pen ;o)

    • That’s a 30% increase in your progress! 🙂 I do agree that more people than not are likely addicted to office supplies and it makes you wonder why? My kids are always asking me for some new kind of pen or mechanical pencil.

  7. Office supplies – yes! Office Depot & Office Max are as big a wallet-vacuum as a bookstore is. For me, it’s sticky notes. It would also be purple pens (pens that write purple) except I have a hard time finding them anymore.

    My other buying addiction, which I have cured somewhat, is cookbooks. I’ll browse through one, love it, buy it, and even mark recipes in it. And then cook . . . maybe . . . one. I sold a bunch at a garage sale years ago and have done much better since then.

    • Oh Jennifer, we are cut from the same cloth!! I have ‘many’ of Rachael Ray’s cookbooks. I know you can get recipes online but sometimes I just want the cookbook open on the island while I cook and drizzle olive oil on it. Gives it character! Purple ink can be tricky. If I ever see a good one in a major store, I’ll let you know! We have to stick together!! 😉 Thanks for visiting my blog.

Leave a Reply

