A Harry Potter Thanksgiving

Because my family is beyond awesome, we didn’t just have your average traditional Thanksgiving gathering.  No, we kicked it up about notch and a half and held the first ever, in the history of our minds…

Harry Potter Thanksgiving

Ok, so this post will be all about the pictures but let me give some background on how this came about. My family is crazy about Harry Potter, as will be glaringly evident below. We’ve read all the books (multiple times), watched all the movies and we even own all the audio versions so we can listen in the car. We ~HEART~ the Boy who Lived! This past summer when The Deathly Hallows part 2 came out, my sister-in-law, AKA — Professor Trelawny, and I were texting each other about how in love we were with the movie.  Between the two of us, we thought it would be fun to have a Harry Potter party.  It quickly morphed into a costume extravaganza!

Let me show you some pictures!

You can’t have a Harry Potter party without the famous trio — Ron (w/ Scabbers), Hermione and Harry

Even the Death Eaters were invited.  Yours truly as Bellatrix.

 A very pretty Moaning Myrtle

Teddy Lupin

Cutest Crookshanks ever.

We even let Voldermort come.

Professor Minerva McGonagall and Cornilius Fudge

Lucious Malfoy and Dobby


And then there was food!  The wonderful Trelawny made chocolate frogs and peppermint toads with character cards included.  In addition, we also had pumpkin juice, chocolate cauldrons and chocolate brooms.  Of course there was turkey, more potatoes than you can imagine, stuffing-muffins, veggies, pies … you name it, it was there.

We also had props.  Trelawny (yes, she’s been neglecting her crystal ball gazing to get all this done) made a Herbology book for Neville, Tom Riddle’s diary complete with conversation between Harry and Tom written out and more.  It was AMAZING!

Here’s our cast list!

MY FAMILY!!!

Ginger’s Public Service Announcement:  Wearing a corset prevents gorging yourself on Thanksgiving feast!  It also prevents anything more than a quarter of a breath, which quickly makes you a bit ‘off’.  No wonder Scarlett was such a bitch. God love her!
*
Hope you enjoyed the peek into my crazy, wonderful family.
So tell me, if your family had a Harry Potter party, who would you be?  If Harry Potter isn’t your thing (and I can hardly fathom this…) what other costume themed party can you think of that would be fun? We might need ideas for next year!
About Ginger Calem

I never met a notebook I didn't want to buy. Pens speak to me. Sticky notes are dear to my heart. Some of my best friends are those clambering in my head trying to get onto the page. And when they have their stories told, and I release them to the world, I hope they'll be your friends too.

Posted on December 1, 2011, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 28 Comments.

  1. You kicked up Thanksgiving w-a-a-a-y more than a notch and a half, Ginger. Thanks for giving the rest of us a glimpse of an awesome celebration. Love the costumes, the menu, and the attitude.

  2. That’s just freaking awesome. Thanks for sharing!

  3. I haven’t seen any of the movies, however, the costumes are awesome! Your family is great. One year for Halloween we (my family) dressed up as “the Incredibles”! Not near as fun as your Thanksgiving. Thanks for sharing:)

    • Hi Karen. The Incredibles are great. We are a family of 5 and we’ve kicked around that idea for Halloween. Maybe one year! Thanks for stopping by and you need to see the HP movies!

  4. Can you adopt me? LOL! Seriously, I can’t wait to do this with my family when my daughter is a little older. And with the news that The Wizarding World of Harry Potter is coming to Universal Hollywood (5 miles from my house!) I think it will be very easy to turn my daughter into a complete Harry Potter freak. Love the pictures…and thanks for the tip about the corset! 🙂

  5. It was SO SO SO awesome!! Great post Ging to share the fun 🙂

  6. Love the idea. Love the pictures. It’s amazing how great you all look. I’ve just re-read the books and this was perfect to see. And I’m joining your family. Prepare some extra chocolate frogs for me, will ya?

  7. I better not show this to my husband. He’ll for sure be wanting to do this. I absolutely love how creative your family is!

    • Oh, show him, Marcy! It’s so fun. Although someone mentioned trying Lord of the Rings and I drew the line at being an Orc. I just can rock that rotting/melting face look. Thanks for hanging out on my blog!

  8. Wow, this is amazing, Ginger. I love all of your pictures, and the theme and your costumes are a great idea to change up the Thanksgiving holiday. Oh, and I also love your reasoning for why Scarlett was a bitch. Now, I’m off to find a corset so I can use that excuse. 🙂

    • Hi Sheila, and thanks! We thought of doing this on Halloween but many of the kids had other costumes in mine for Halloween. I don’t know how we’ll surpass ourselves next year.

      And I’m serious about that corset. Might be worth a campaign to bring it back. With the smelling salts. The fits of temper. And RHETT!! ~swoon~

  9. You have an awesome, fun family. What a great party, and I love those photos!

  10. That is beyond cool! I want to come! 😀 I would love to do something like that but I know my family would not be on board the way yours was. I always wanted to host an Adams family Halloween party and have a contest for the best distant relative concept idea. It has never happened and I’ve had this idea for about seven or eight years now.

    • Debra, you should put your foot down and throw the Adams family party. I LOVE the idea of ‘best distant relative’. In our family, there were only a small few who didn’t dress up. Once they knew we were going for it, everyone just sort of had fun with it. It was a chance to play dress up like being a kid again.

  11. what a wonderful Thanksgiving. Your family gatherings must be a hoot. thanks for the pics. wow

    • Hi Louise. Yes, even when we’re not dressing up as witches and wizards, I would say our family gatherings are … unique! 🙂 We are a very eclectic group and we love a good time and laughter bouncing off the walls.

  12. I read this while I was sick and all I could think was, “I want to be part of their family!” Seriously, I have deep family envy now.

    You guys are so freakin awesome I’m moving in. Best. Thanksgiving. Ever.

    Ever!

    If Debra has that party ~ we all have to go. Super fun!

    • Move on in. I’m sure Delaney will share her room, but my friend Julie might have claimed it. Heck, we’ll make it work! It’s been so fun to share my crazy family with everyone. And I totally agree, if Debra has her party, I’m coming. I haven’t returned that corset to its owner. Oooh, and I have another black wig that’s super long and straight. I’m IN!

  1. Pingback: Anyone remember me? I’m BACK! « Ginger Calem

  2. Pingback: Banned Books Week — Ginger’s Picks | Reading, Writing, Raising Hell

Leave a Reply

