Stop Censorship!! Stop the SOPA/PIPA bills!

 

Hi everyone.  I am compelled to blog about something today because I feel it is very important.  If you’ve known me for even a small amount of time, you’ll have likely learned that I don’t usually get involved in politics. But, I am now because there’s something going on in U.S. politics right now that I need to make sure you know about and understand, because it affects us all.

On Jan 24th, Congress will vote to pass internet censorship in the Senate, even though the vast majority of Americans are opposed. We need to kill the bill – PIPA in the Senate and SOPA in the House – to protect our rights to free speech, privacy, and prosperity.

The website, Strike Against SOPA has encouraged us to take action! What kind of action? Read on!

On January 18th, 2012 the internet is going on strike to stop the web censorship bills in Congress! Now is our moment— we need you to do everything you can, whether you have a website or not.  

Well, I have a website (more than one in fact) and I’m choosing to take this action! For this reason, my blog will be inactive tomorrow.  I will somehow figure out a way to ‘black out’ my blog or show that I’m participating.  I won’t be accepting comments tomorrow (so make them today if you’re inclined!).  I’m a new blogger and one little person, but it is my right to express myself in this moment on this issue.  I value that right!

Both blogs that I keep are WordPress blogs.  I love wordpress and when I saw that they were joining in on this cause, along with a slew of others, (<–scroll down this page to see!!) it confirmed my conviction to take action.

You can TAKE ACTION TOO!

On Jan 10th WordPress made an announcement about this issue with which I agree completely.  They said it so well, I encourage you to read it.  Highlights quoted from within their announcement are:

  • In the U.S. our legal system maintains that the burden of proof is on the accuser, and that people are innocent until proven guilty. This tenet seems to be on the chopping block when it comes to the web if these bills pass, as companies could shut down sites based on accusation alone.
  • Laws are not like lines of PHP; they are not easily reverted if someone wakes up and realizes there is a better way to do things. We should not be so quick to codify something this far-reaching.
  • The people writing these laws are not the people writing the independent web, and they are not out to protect it. We have to stand up for it ourselves.

Blogging is a form of activism. You can be an agent of change. Some people will tell you that taking action is useless, that online petitions, phone calls to representatives, and other actions won’t change a single mind, especially one that’s been convinced of something by lobbyist dollars. To those people, I repeat the words of Margaret Mead:

Never doubt that a small group of thoughtful, committed citizens can change the world. Indeed, it is the only thing that ever has.  

Please watch this video to learn more (by Fight for the Future).

Until Thursday!!

About Ginger Calem

I never met a notebook I didn't want to buy. Pens speak to me. Sticky notes are dear to my heart. Some of my best friends are those clambering in my head trying to get onto the page. And when they have their stories told, and I release them to the world, I hope they'll be your friends too.

Posted on January 17, 2012, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 24 Comments.

  1. Wow. I had no idea Ginger!!! Serious stuff. I’ll do my best to help get the word out!!!

  2. Holy Crap!! I was so confused on this whole issue. Thank you Ginger so much for you post and the video that finally explains it in a way that I can understand. My blogs will be dark tomorrow as well.

  3. Thanks for the information Ginger!! Was going to post tomorrow, but went ahead and did it now.

  4. I’m going to strike as well.
    I have such a hard time understanding why this was even put in for a vote. When information is subject to censorship on any one medium, it will be just a matter of time before its censored on all. Think about it – newspapers and news shows only reporting what is “allowed” (and who do you think makes that decision?), radio shows and talk show hosts limited to certain subject matter, music being censored, books being censored (or burned?)… this is crazy! Haven’t we, as a society, already been down this road many times before? How many times do We The People have to stand up and fight for our freedom of speech? My thoughts are once they take away one right, the rest are soon to follow.
    Guess I need to find that remote island that I can buy and move far far away from this kind of insanity.

  5. Great idea Ginger.

    I am trying to do this on my wordpress website and blog. Have not figured out how to do the blackout because can’t activate plug in but I will continue to try.

  6. Ginger, this is a serious issue and it should be treated as such. Thank you for writing about this. I’m off to watch the video and then I will post the link to your blog on various social media sites.

  7. Oh, I forgot to add that I’m posting this on my blog too. I will try to figure out if there is a way to do the blackout on Blogger. Thanks again.

  8. Love that you posted this. I was reading about it and putting something together as you were posting. On the same wavelength. Hmm? LOL But I was running back and forth between the kids. WordPress made the ribbon and blackout so easy. Thank you Julie! Got my post up and I am rockin’ the message with you now!

  9. I mentioned it on Debra’s site and I will here, too, because I think it’s extremely important. Many people think that online petitions are legal. They are not. Legal petitions require signatures and, as far as I understand it, identification to prove you are who you say you are. (http://www.snopes.com/inboxer/petition/internet.asp is one quick source to verify this). I know this because I needed to find out for two different things, the last being petitions to recall our governor last year.

    Our time would be better spent phoning our representatives in Washington D.C. If we want our voices heard.

  10. Great post! This breaks it down so nicely, even I can understand it. Like you, I shy away from politics (mostly because I rarely have the time to decipher what they’re really saying), but this is an important issue that I feel needs my attention.

  1. Pingback: I Won’t See You Tomorrow « Serena Dracis' Blog

  2. Pingback: SOPA/PIPA Protest! « Molly Pendlebury

  3. Pingback: Stop Censorship NOW!!! « CrossFit Georgetown

  4. Pingback: STOP THE SOPA BILLS « simplycreating

  5. Pingback: STOP SOPA « simplycreating

Leave a Reply

