Locks of Love: My daughter’s Donation

Today is all about my daughter and her how she grew her hair out to donate it to Locks of Love. I love it that she started this over a year ago, when she was ten. And now, at 11 ½ it is long enough to donate.

I’m willing to guess that there isn’t a single person reading my little blog who hasn’t been touched by the dreaded “C” … cancer.  I have been, numerous times, with many loved ones and cherished friends. The evil beast that is cancer has stolen people from me, people like my Aunt Alice, who I think about every single day of my life and I still miss her acutely.

In looking at Locks of Love’s website, I see that they provide hairpieces to financially disadvantaged children in the US and Canada under the age of 21 suffering from long-term medical hair loss from any diagnosis.  How cool are they?

Before I show you the pictures, I want to give a huge shout out to the salon, Scarlet Red, for doing the cut and donation FREE OF CHARGE!  Scarlet Red’s owner, Cirstan, is awesome! As you will see in the pictures, she’s a talented stylist, extremely professional and made sure that it was a very special experience for my daughter.  In fact, before we left the salon, I made an appointment to get my hair done next week.

Now – the photo evidence. 🙂

Check out that wall of hair!

Getting it prepped for the big cut.

Cirstan was awesome about discussing the photo that my daughter brought in to make sure she understood how short her hair would be and how it would fall once it was cut and making sure she’d be happy.

The cut!

I hope some lucky child gets that thick pony tail of healthy hair!

Now time for the professional cut.

 Thank you, Cirstan!!  Awesome job.

Have to add this photo so you can see what an amazing cut she got.  Cirstan even made sure to leave a little hint of the fun color at the nape of her neck.  🙂  My daughter left swishing her hair about and walking tall and proud. Love it!

About Ginger Calem

I never met a notebook I didn't want to buy. Pens speak to me. Sticky notes are dear to my heart. Some of my best friends are those clambering in my head trying to get onto the page. And when they have their stories told, and I release them to the world, I hope they'll be your friends too.

Posted on March 16, 2012, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 37 Comments.

  1. I love, love, love, love, love this! Your daughter totally rocks. That is such an amazing thing she did ~ I know how much girl’s love their hair and for her to be able to give someone a sense of ‘normalcy’ in such a trying time. Ah! I just love her for being so awesome. That cut is adorable and the hint of blue is a fun surprise. Thanks for sharing the story and the pics.

    By the way, I love Cirstan’s name and already have a character in mind for it. 😉

    • Thanks, Tameri! I’m so proud of her. She was ready for a short haircut many months ago, but she knew if she held out, this would be a special thing.

      Oooh, can’t wait to meet your Cirstan! That’s awesome.

  2. lynnkelleyauthor

    Your daughter is such a sweetheart, and what beautiful hair. How awesome that she grew it out just to donate it. Yes, cancer is such an ugly disease and has stolen too many people away from me. And others, thank God, are survivors.

    Three cheers for your daughter. You must be super proud of her. Love her new haircut, too!

    • I am proud of her. She’s very giving and sensitive to other’s need … especially animals! On the way to the salon, she said she saw a dog who appeared lost. Asked if we could go pick it up on the way home in case it was scared. Oy!

  3. This is soooo beautiful and special! Lots of love to your daughter, AND to you, Miss Ginger.

  4. Coleen Patrick

    So beautiful Ginger!!

  5. Too, too cute! What an amazing thing your daughter did. Last summer I cut off 16 inches of hair and I wanted to donate it, but was told at that time that Locks of Love wouldn’t accept color treated hair. After it got swept into the trash, someone else told me that they would have accepted it, but it was too late by then.

    My mother suffered from 2 different forms of cancer, one ultimately taking her life. It’s a horrible disease and any time someone does something unselfish to help strangers makes me smile. I know my mom appreciated all the kindnesses that were shown to her during her illness.

    And, coindidentally, that is how I got my hair cut, without the touch of color at he nape. My color comes in naturally and furiously at the crown in the form of gray, which I regularly try to defeat. It’s getting harder and harder to win that battle.

    Cute kiddo, Ginger!

    Patricia Rickrode
    w/a Jansen Schmidt

    • Wow — 16 inches! That’s crazy. I can’t believe they told you that. I was worried about that because we let our daughter color the underside of her hair. Just a wee bit of fun. But they said they just won’t use the colored part. That’s really too bad that your 16 inches of hair was lost. 😦

      I say, grow it out again!

      This stacked bob is the cutest cut on almost everyone. She had swim coaching today so all that flat ironed hair is now wavy and poofy! 🙂 Still looks adorable though.

  6. This is so, so special, Ginger. What a wonderful thing for her to do. And that new haircut is just perfect for her. She must have got her taste from her mom 🙂

  7. Kudos to your awesome daughter!

  8. You must be so proud of your daughter. What a great thing to do. Wins my heart. — Roy

  9. Your daughter is an incredibly generous person – and obviously she learned that at home. well done, mom

  10. What a great thing to do!

  11. So awesome!!!!! Love her, love her spirit, love her hair cut!! Scarlet Red ROCKS!! Did you make sure the navel piercer is there when your hair appointment is? I want to be there for that appointment 🙂

  12. You’ve got a special girl, Ginger, and I love her haircut and outlook on life. Cirstan’s special, too.

  13. What a sweetie- and she looks adorable in her new hair cut. I’ve donated twice- if I looked that cute with short hair I might do it more often.

    • How cool that you’ve donated twice. I’m kicking around the idea of growing mine out since my hair grows super fast. But I really love short haircuts. Decisions!

  14. You’ve raised a wonderful daughter. Her new short hair cut is adorable. I think I need to convince my husband that me having short hair for a little while would be a worthy sacrifice in order to donate.

  15. Jessica O'Neal

    Adorable!

  16. Amazing!!! Your daughter rocks Ginger…luv it and adore the pics. She’s gorgeous and so given and warm…a treasure! Here’s to both of you today!

  17. Not only is your daughter’s new haircut adorable, but she’s an inspiration—like her mama! Tell her to keep swishing. 🙂

  18. Shannon Esposito

    What a beautiful little soul you are raising, Ginger! Both inside and out 🙂

  19. I LOVE her new cut and the splash of color. How awesome that your daughter did this!! One of my girls was wanting to do this, but before we could donate it she got a huge knot in her hair that we had to cut out and her hair wasn’t quite long enough to donate. (she was young and not brushing her hair everyday,hence the huge “rats nest” ). Your daughter should be super proud!

  20. Great post, and a great thing to do. My daughter has done that a couple of times, and if you live near a Great Clips, they also give haircuts for free when you donate to locks of love. BTW, your daughter is a real cutie. Love the cut.

Leave a Reply

