Hunger Games going down at midnight!

The Calem Clan is very excited this week. Something BIG is going down.

Do I have a child turning 16 and getting his license? No, that happened last month. I know, I haven’t gotten over the shock yet either.

Is it Spring Break? No, that was last week. It’s over. I’m still wiping my tears.

Am I heading off to a FANTABULOUS writer’s BIF (Break Into Fiction) retreat weekend with my bestie-writing-teach, the amazing Mary Buckham? No, that’s next month … 32 days and 7 ½ hours from now … not that I’m counting.

No-no-no, it’s nothing like that. But it’s something we’ve looked forward to for a long time and it’s finally almost here. What, you want me to get to it already?

Fine. Grouchy much?

This week is the movie premiere of THE HUNGER GAMES! And here at the Calem Clan stronghold, We-Can’t-Wait! And we’re not going to wait long because we are seeing the midnight showing!! Squeeee!!!!!

Yes, we’re the parents who are going to take our 3 school-age children to a midnight showing on a school night. Why? Because it’s fun and you just have to have some fun like this sometimes with your kids. On Friday when everyone might be talking about seeing the movie on opening weekend, we’ll have SEEN it. We will likely see it again too.

Do you know what makes this even more fun and special? Like all of the Harry Potter books and movies, the Hunger Games series were books we all enjoyed. We can talk about them together, as a family. It’s not that often that the same books are equally enjoyed by the parents, through the teenagers and down to the 5th grader. I love that! Those are the kinds of books I want to write. It’s the sort of story I’m striving for with my Ninja Chick.

For the past few weeks, we have listened to the audio version of The Hunger Games so that we’re all refreshed with the details and characters. Daughter has her T-Shirt to wear to the premier.

I even bought this magazine with lots of behind the scenes photos and details, bios on all the actors and even 3 full-sized posters!

So, tell me, are any of you seeing the midnight showing?  Have you ever gone to one before? How early do we have to line up? Do you sometimes do things that might not be conventional (like taking school-age kids to a midnight showing) because the experience is bigger than what might be considered ‘acceptable’?

Oh, and of course, I HAVE to ask …. Peeta or Gale?  Or maybe I should save that for another blog post.  It probably comes as no surprise that I have a definite opinion and I’m prepared to argue my point.

About Ginger Calem

I never met a notebook I didn't want to buy. Pens speak to me. Sticky notes are dear to my heart. Some of my best friends are those clambering in my head trying to get onto the page. And when they have their stories told, and I release them to the world, I hope they'll be your friends too.

Posted on March 19, 2012, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 25 Comments.

  1. I’m so jealous. I would love to go to the midnight showing, but my local theater doesn’t even offer it as an option (plus I’m pretty certain I couldn’t convince my husband who hasn’t read the books). I haven’t looked forward to a movie this much since the last Harry Potter movie came out. And I’m definitely Team Peeta 😉

    • Oh Marcy … wish you could go too! Dang! I’ll think of you and consider you there with us in spirit!

      P.S. I’m absolutely Team Peeta as well! Was from the very get-go! 😉

  2. Been to a few midnight movie premiers. Depends on the theatre that you go to. Hopefully Citylights will open up more than one theatre the way they have done with HP in the past. That controls crowds and lunacy. We usually arrive about an hour before hand. The excitement in the theatre is a lot of fun.
    With HP there is always people in costume, don’t know about HG. Have fun, we decided to skip the midnight showing after all.
    Team Peeta as well.

    • Sandra, I believe they will have is showing on 3 screens. At least, that’s what they showed when I ordered the tickets. How come you all aren’t going? I though you already had tickets. Bummer!

  3. Sooooo jealous you are going to a midnight showing. And…ummmm…can I just say you are the coolest Mom ever! Squeee…love it! 🙂 Your kids will recover from a sleepless night and whatever they might miss in school, they’ll make up for it but they will ALWAYS treasure this memory and that matters!!!
    Hmmmmmmm….I am so torn between Peeta and Gale…so torn! I think I must reread the books to decide since it’s been ages but I’d love to hear your arguments for and against!! SQUEEE!!!

    • Hee hee! Waving my “Coolest Mom Ever” card! Oh, and I do plan to send them to school on Friday. They’ll just be tired but they’ll live. That’s totally what I figured, the memory of a fun night will trump everything!

      Okaaayy, so you’re torn. Oh my goodness. Well, I knew it was Peeta from the get-go. I’ll wait until you reread so we can ‘discuss’. 😉

  4. Coleen Patrick

    Can’t wait to see it–and I’m for Peeta. 🙂 Have fun Ginger!!!

  5. Well, I’m going to admit that I have absolutely no desire to see the movie so you go and enjoy without me. I’ll be doing my squats in the bathroom and eating my kale chips after my zumba session and tap dancing class.

    But, I do love a good writing conference with Mary Buckham. She’s fabulous! I know you’ll have a super good time there and that is something I’d attend with you if I could.

    Have fun at the movies Calem family!

    Patricia Rickrode
    w/a Jansen Schmidt

    • You always crack me up! hee hee!

      Mary and I go waaay back. Gosh, I can’t remember the first time I was a rabble-rouser in the ‘back row’ of one of her online classes with my buddies. She’s a beyond awesome and I love to see her and never fail to learn from her and come away a better writer.

      Wish you could come too! I’ve done the BIF online, read the book, etc but I’ve wanted to do the weekend power plotting retreat since she started it. Finally, it sort of fell in my back yard and no way I could pass it up.

      Enjoy those Kale chips! Keep squatting! I’m watching you. WB post coming on Wed. 🙂

  6. I have never been to the midnight showing. I know, I know… It’s on my list of things to do 🙂
    We might see Hunger Games in the movie theather or just wait to buy it on a DVD. But I would much rather see it sooner than later.

    I’ve read all three books in the series and it would be interesting to see how the movie compares to the actual book. I hope there are not very many differences 😦

    Peeta or Gale? Definitely Gale.

    • I’ve heard that it’s really good. My son said all the critics are 100% in favor of the movie. I hope I agree with them!

      You prefer Gale? Ok, we need to talk! haha

  7. this sounds like an incredibly fun night. take the kids out of school? Hell yes. go for it girlfriend – it will be a wonderful memory. and when all is said and done, that’s all that really counts.

  8. Jessica O'Neal

    Heck yes I am seeing it at midnight!! Bought my tickets about a week after they went up. And for the first time EVER, I don’t have to work the next day. I don’t know how I will handle being able to get more than 3 hours of sleep afterwards. It will be glorious.

  9. A friend and I are going a week after the opening–to avoid crowds.
    I’ve been to several midnight showings, and two Harry Potter midnight launches. Can’t wait for my kids to grow up so they can join me 🙂

    • It’s a pretty fun stage with my kids at their ages. We do all sorts of cool stuff together now that they’re older and yet not too old to ‘not’ want to be with us or totally grown up with lives of their own.

  10. Middle of the day on Friday for me. I need to go when I can get a baby sitter. Dad wants to go too! You’re going to have a ball!

  11. Karen McFarland

    Hey Ginger! Look whose here! I did it! I’ve gone underground with WordPress! And they said it couldn’t be done! But no one can say that I’m not persistent!

    Hunger games. Ah yes, the midnight movie. How fun is that? You and the kids have to love it! What a great idea for the family. Ginger, I’m a family first kind of girl. I took my kids out of school a bunch when it came to doing something with the family. This so ROCKS!

    Oh, and did I see that you are joining us all over at the ROW? That’s so super cool! Woot woot!

    And Ginger, you made me cry the other day on my post. You said some really nice things that I don’t know if I deserve them, but I’m so happy to have meet you. Thank you so much for all your wonderful support and comments!

    And what is going on over at #writersbutt? I’m heading over there now to leave a comment!

    It’s spring Ginger, it’s spring! Take care! 🙂

    • Oh, I didn’t mean to make you cry … but I know what you mean. I’m glad I made you feel special and loved because you are!

      Just posted the latest WritersButt post. It was late today but it’s finally out. Woo!

      About the Hunger Games, I do plan on making the kids go to school the next day, Friday, and I’m sure they’ll be plenty tired. Found out the movie it 2 1/2 hours long. Starts at midnight, add in previews and we should be home sometime around, what, 3 am! haha! I’ll have to blog about our midnight fun.

      And yes, I hope to join Row. When does the next one start? Didn’t this one just end. I think I’ll ask on our wana FB page, shall I? haha 😉

      • Karen McFarland

        Ginger, the new round for ROW80 starts April 2nd. So excited your going to join us. It’ll be fun! Have fun at the movie! 🙂

  12. Hi, could you please tell me where did you buy that hunger games tshirt? i’m so looking forward to it 😦 thanks! 🙂

Leave a Reply

