I’m aboard the Row80 train! Choo choo!!!

I did it. I made it aboard the Row80 train! Ok, so I’m hanging onto the caboose by the very tips of my fingers, but hey, I ran hard to catch the train and was determined to jump on. I understand I was supposed to post my goals yesterday, but I didn’t know that. Clearly I need the remedial class.  I’ll catch up, I promise.

Oh, for those of you who read my blog, (and I appreciate every one of you) who don’t know what I’m talking about, Row80 (Round of Words in 80 days) is a writing challenge. I will declare my goals here on my blog. This will help keep me accountable as well as give me an opportunity to go to other blogs of awesome writers and support them in their round of Row80!

Goals for Round 2 Row80 à April 1st through June 21st, 2012:

Writing Goals:

*Use my daily NOTEBOOK to stay on track. It works – just do it, Ginger!

*Finish plotting Ninja Chick through plotting workshop on weekend of April 21/22

*Finally learn out to use Scrivener — read ‘How to’ book and start using program.

*Starting NO later than May 1st, write minimum of 500 words x 6 days a week in Ninja Chick

*Blog 2-3 times a week, plus Row80 check in on Sundays (On Wednesdays my blog is dedicated to WritersButt Wednesday, so I’ll start with one Row80 check in per week for starters)

*Social Media fun and support: Read and comment on minimum of 10-15 blogs per week. Already exceed this, so totally doable. Continue to create connections and make friends on Twitter and support my fellow writers.

*Honor my writing space by getting rid of clutter and making it special

Life Goals:

*Keep up with house so I don’t get buried in clutter and dog hair which steals my creative drive.

*End each day by writing 3-5 things in my Notebook for which I felt grateful during the day

*Bonus Challenge: Once a week, do something unexpected to make someone else feel appreciated and special.

I think that’s a good start. I will adjust if I found I didn’t challenge myself enough or I was totally unrealistic.  Looking forward to 80 days of AWESOMESAUCE!

About Ginger Calem

I never met a notebook I didn't want to buy. Pens speak to me. Sticky notes are dear to my heart. Some of my best friends are those clambering in my head trying to get onto the page. And when they have their stories told, and I release them to the world, I hope they'll be your friends too.

Posted on April 2, 2012, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 17 Comments.

  1. Woot woot – kick butt girl!

  2. Karen McFarland

    WAHOOOOOOOO!!!!!!!!!

    I am so excited Ginger! You are going to ROCK the ROW girl! Fantastic goals and achievable too!

    Just so you know, I didn’t know we were supposed to check in yesterday and list our goals and I am already in ROW80. LOL! I can’t keep up with my world these days Ginger. In fact, I was thinking of not doing ROW this round. But that would be a cop out. You have just inspired me! I love how that works! 🙂

  3. Welcome aboard the ROW80 challenge, Ginger!
    Your goals look great and I’m positive you’ll be able to meet them with no worries.
    Good luck!

  4. Have to ask: how exactly do you use your notebook to stay on track?

    • Ah, my NOTEBOOK. It’s a great tool that I found out about in an online workshop given by Margie Lawson. The workshop is called Defeating Self-Defeating Behaviors. I believe she only teaches in once a year, in January. But you may be able to get the workshop packet.

      Ok, that said, it sort of works a bit like ROW80, only on a daily level. I’ve tailored it to meet my needs. I have a small notebook that I keep at my desk. I break each page into parts. Top is Writing, middle is Life and bottom is Gratitudes. Every day, I list the things I will get done that day. These aren’t things you’d like to get done in a week or two. These are things that you need to and ‘can’ achieve on this day. (Be realistic) I do sometimes add a SS (Super Star) goal, which is something that I really want to get done but might not be feasible so if I do it, I’m a Super Star. 😉

      I love lists and crossing things off. I keep an eye of my Notebook all day and make sure I’m checking things off. When I don’t use it, I can waste hours or a whole day doing nothing productive. Once everything is crossed off, I’m free to do what I want.

      My sections work for me like this. Writing is all writing related things such as a blog post that needs to be prepared or posted, X-many words I have to write that day, etc. Life is, grocery store, vacuum, make a certain call, etc. Gratitudes are for the end of the day when I write down 3-5 things for which I’m grateful that day.

      Anyway, it works for me and really helps me stay on track and get a LOT done instead of procrastinating. And I do highly recommend Margie’s class. I’m thinking of retaking it. Maybe next Jan.

  5. All very good goals. I hope you achieve them all.

    I’m not on the train so I really have no idea what you’re talking about, but I support my blogger buddies.

    Patricia Rickrode
    w/a Jansen Schmidt

  6. Reetta Raitanen

    Great goals and they sound very doable. Good luck. I’m joining the fun this round and post my goals tomorrow.

  7. Fantastic! Best wishes for a fab ROW80!

  8. Those sound like great goals! I think I might borrow your idea of writing down 3 to 5 things I’m grateful for at the end of the day. That is such a good habit to start! Thanks for the idea!

    • Emma, it really helps to put you in an appreciative mindset all day long. You are searching for those things so you tend to find things for which to be grateful all day long.

  9. Thanks everyone for the support and cheerleading! I’m excited!

  10. How did you do Ging? Get all your goals this week?

  11. Juliana Haygert

    Hello there!
    Nice goals you have there! I like them!
    *shakes pompoms* I’m sure you can do it!
    See you around the ROW!

Leave a Reply

