Caption this photo from the vault

Happy Friday my friends.  And, it’s not just Friday, it’s Friday the 13th.  AAACCCKKKKK!!!  Actually, I don’t quiver in fear over Friday the 13th, and back in January, for our last Friday the 13th, I even blogged about all the hoopla surrounding this much feared occurrence.

Today, in case some of you are hiding at home so you don’t walk under ladders or chance a run in with a black kitty, I thought I’d try to give you a smile.

Back in November we had a garage sale and in the process of clearing out our junk treasures so others could deal with love and appreciate them, I unearthed a huge stash of old photos.  I now call all those photos, The Vault, and occasionally I’ll pull one out to laugh my ass off remember a special moment.  Because I’m the sharing kind of person and no one likes to laugh at themselves alone, I’m going to share with you.

This photo is circa 1985 and was taken in Cervia, Italy.  That summer, I was performing in a water ski show in Germany and my dad was crazy enough to allow me uber-smart and Mr. Awesomesauce and sent me on a month long road show in Italy. I was 15.  The rest of the skiers were in their 20’s. There was no drinking age and no curfew.  I told you my dad was awesome!  This was one of the most amazing months of my life and it had nothing to do with The Cotton Club.

We had two shows a day, both in the evening, one after dark by spotlight.  (SO cool!!)  That meant we didn’t have to be at work until like 3 or 4 pm.  Our hotel was down the street from the ocean. The town never slept.  We stayed up all night, we slept until mid-day.  Can I go back?  One of my favorite parts of the summer was the bike I rented, The Pink Flamingo.

(Sorry it’s not only a distant pic but scanned crooked as well. Pretend it adds to the charm.)

I rode this bike everywhere, including to and from work.  All the skiers rented bikes.  We were like a street-bike gang. We had contests to see who could ride the longest without hands. You try that with your pink wicker basket loaded down with your work bag, water bottle and who knows what else.  For the record, I made it all the way to work one day with no hands, numerous miles, many turns, across busy streets and around the round-abouts with crazy Italian drivers, by the whistling construction workers and all the way to the large trailer that was our ‘locker room’ which used to be used as the elephant trailer for a circus.

One day between shows, the girls, all 3 of us, decided to take a picture. Why we staged it this way, I’ll never remember. I’ve blocked it from my memory bank. Who needs a jump helmet and vest in a canoe?  And, is that more or less intriguing than the park-worker in the background on his smoke break?

You tell me.

Caption this photo!

I’m in the middle.

Have a great weekend. And remember, if you venture out in a canoe, don’t forget your helmet!

About Ginger Calem

I never met a notebook I didn't want to buy. Pens speak to me. Sticky notes are dear to my heart. Some of my best friends are those clambering in my head trying to get onto the page. And when they have their stories told, and I release them to the world, I hope they'll be your friends too.

Posted on April 13, 2012, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 17 Comments.

  1. My caption: Realio, trulio helmet hair!

    Neat experience Ginger. Thanks for blogging about it.

  2. That’s a funny picture. Now you got me wondering what the heck the helmet was supposed to be used for. If you fell over, wouldn’t you sink in that?:)

    • Hi Cora. The helmet was for the ski show. The guys wore them for the jump act. I have no clue why we decided to wear them for the picture. Thanks for stopping by my blog!

  3. Although it was never a popular sport, Waterless Canoeing was definitely a challenging one.

  4. I’m so glad you mentioned the guy in the background, because otherwise I might have missed it! And I think it might be my favorite part! Is he really just wearing shorts? And they look like jean cut-offs! Oh, my. You three in front look so normal in comparison! 🙂

    • No, Emma, not shorts. Worse. That would be a speedo. Or, as we called them that summer, a marble-bag. (I know, crude and gross, sorry!) If he was like the other men walking around in their speedos, especially the guy in a leopard string one we saw one day, he probably carries his cigarettes and/or wallet tucked into his, er, drawers. 🙂

  5. Good laugh, Ginger. It’s amazing what you can get away with in Europe, eh?

    Producers decided to move their TV show to the Pacific after early screen tests of police drama “Rome 5-0” failed to draw the anticipated crowds.

    Cheers!

  6. crude and scary is a man wearing a marble bag of see through material on the beach in hawaii. ouch

  7. Coolest summer ever! Wow! Caption: “Wait, did they say Niagara Falls?” Great post, Ginger!

  8. Karen McFarland

    “And remember, if you venture out in a canoe, don’t forget your helmet!”

    LOL Ginger! 🙂 That’s hilarious!

    Europe is a very cool place. The Italian coastline is spectacular. What a privilege for you to have traveled there at a young age. Yet you were old enough to appreciate it. And your Dad sounds very cool! Ah the memories of our youth. That’s why we need to steal the opportunities when they come along. Thanks for sharing yours Ginger.

    See you soon! 🙂

  9. Oh – you’re in the canoe? I was busy checking out the dude leaning against the wall in the background. I didn’t even notice you.

    I can’t help but thinking, “Just sit right back and you’ll hear a tale, a tale of a fateful trip, that started from this . . . . ” well you get it.

    Patricia Rickrode
    w/a Jansen Schmidt

Leave a Reply

