Power Plotting and Row80

I literally just came home from a wonderful and intense Power Plotting weekend with the incomparable Mary Buckham.  She does numerous online classes from which there is not a single one to be missed if you’re serious about your writing. Yes, she’s that good!! This past weekend I participated in her Break Into Fiction (BIF) Power Plotting weekend workshop, based on her book with Diana Love, where you literally plot a book (or in my case 2 or 3 books in my series) in just two days!

To say my mind is whirling, and yet, drained and fried at the same time is an understatement. If you can get to one of these weekend workshops, DO IT! At the very least, I highly recommend the book to help any writer create an air-tight roadmap for a story that will sell!

I want to give a huge shout out to my classmates from this weekend. I was in the company of 7 talented writers with amazing stories.  All you readers and lovers of a great book out there — be ready for some killer stories to come out of this group!  So, hats off and cheers to, Peggy, Karen, Wendy, Lori, Elizabeth, Jamie and Loy! It was pleasure to meet and work with you all.

As a writer, there is nothing quite like spending time with other writers working on our craft. Nothing! It’s hard to explain outside of the fact that … we all just GET each other!

Love and hugs from me!!

So, it’s Sunday and that means I’m supposed to post my ROW80 (round of words in 80 days) goals! I missed this last week simply because it fell off my radar. I actually did the work but new routines don’t come easy for me.

Strategic Plan for LAST 2 weeks:

*Watch Cassablaca for workshop DONE

*Conflict template for workshop  DONE

*De-clutter and organize desk  Done enough for now  😉

*Post 2 blogs + Row80 check-in  DONE

*Read 2 more chapters of Vogler’s WJ.  DONE

*Social Media—10-15 blogs w/ comments, RT, Shares, etc.  DONE and then some

*Minimum 1 random act of kindness  I’ve been nice and at times, that was hard. :-/

 

Strategic plan for week starting 4/23

 

*fill out beat sheet (just bullet points) for Ninja book just plotted this weekend

*note cards w/ scene/sequel notes for Ninja from start to crossing threshold

*complete 2 things I’ve been avoiding off of to-do list

*social media – minimum 20 blogs read/comments/shares/RTs

 

About Ginger Calem

I never met a notebook I didn't want to buy. Pens speak to me. Sticky notes are dear to my heart. Some of my best friends are those clambering in my head trying to get onto the page. And when they have their stories told, and I release them to the world, I hope they'll be your friends too.

Posted on April 22, 2012, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 11 Comments.

  1. Mary’s classes are awesome. glad you got to hear her.

    • YES! Mary is one of my treasures in life and has been for many years. In fact, the majority of my crafting ‘tool box’ comes straight from Mary Buckham. I was thrilled to finally drag her to Texas!

      • we had her in Calgary a year or 2 ago and it was wonderful. at our RWA meeting today we were talking about what a good teacher she is. how lucky for you to have known her for so long.

  2. I want to read a ninja book! Sounds like you had a great weekend.

  3. Nancy J Nicholson

    Ginger, I’m jeolous. Mary Buckham is awesome. Sounds like your pumped and your Row Goals will skyrocket.

  4. This weekend retreat happened in Texas and I missed it? CRUMB!

    I’ve never taken on of Mary Buckham’s courses. Sounds like I might want to stalk her. Cograts and green-with-envy awe on the stellar progress you made in a short weekend with a small group of dedicated writers.

    • Oh darn, Gloria! I mentioned it here and there on FB and Twitter. Wish you’d seen it. Two days of really REALLY hard work but, man, it pays off. Yes, stalk Mary. Tell her I sent you, that’ll really scare her. haha!

  5. YAY for a plotting weekend. That sounds fantastic! I need one…
    Now…get to work!

Leave a Reply

