Summertime’s Hilarious Dangerous Moments

Yesterday as the last day of school. My sophomore is now a junior, my middle schooler is now a high schooler and my sassy girl is off to middle school.  I know, I can’t believe this either. This was a momentous end of year in so many ways. My middle child received a very special award, which I will blog about separately because it totally deserves it’s own ‘moment’.  So with school out, that makes today is the first day of Summer 2012!

Cue the cheering, fist-bumbing and cartwheels down the hallway.  We LOVE summer at the Calem Clan. The entire pace of our life changes, and after the hectic, frantic pace of the school year, the downshift is welcomed with a huge sigh of relief.  We spend a lot of time outdoors in the summer, specifically at the lake.  This summer will be no exception and I hope to blog about some of our summertime antics.

Other than out lake fun, we just do a lot of hanging out. My kids sleep in, like really sleep in, until close to noon. We read a lot of books. We grill dinners. Mainly, we fully enjoy what feels like an expansive amount of breathing room that summer brings.

Do any of you have big summer plans? I want to know what you’re up to, what your planning, even if it’s only lazy evenings on the porch sipping sun-tea or a frosty margarita.  Because, lazy evenings on the porch is fantastico in my book!

In the meantime, I ran across this short video and I’m sharing it so we can all start our summer, or our weekend if it’s not yet summer in your neck of the woods, with a giggle.

ENJOY!!

About Ginger Calem

I never met a notebook I didn't want to buy. Pens speak to me. Sticky notes are dear to my heart. Some of my best friends are those clambering in my head trying to get onto the page. And when they have their stories told, and I release them to the world, I hope they'll be your friends too.

Posted on May 25, 2012, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 16 Comments.

  1. Sandra Fraser Brougher

    No plans on the books…yet. Except for a week in LA, just me, myself and I.

  2. Ooouch…some of those are truly cringe-worthy! I love summer, too. We’ll be spending the mornings at the beach, before it gets too hot. We do have a big trip planned at the end of July, we’re going to the Grand Canyon! We’re shipping out camping gear and everything so it will be a whole new experience for me. (And yes, I do have a hotel booked just in case…lol)

    • Absolutely love that you have the hotel booked. My daughter asked me if we could go camping … I said I’d look for a great cabin to camp in. Mornings at the beach sound very summer-worthy. Love that too.

  3. That was a silly cute video!

    Congratulations to your son!

    My summer starts next Friday when I fly to Miami to begin my 7 day cruise to the Western Caribbean on Saturday morning. Good times!

    BTW – since I didn’t see a Writer’s Butt Wednesday post, I wanted to let you know that I ventured tentatively over to the big boys’ area at the gym – the free weights section where all the grunting and serious sweating happens. I grabbed some dumbells and pretended to know what I was doing. Then I snatched up a barbell and tried to look like I knew what I was doing. Nothing bad happened and I didn’t get any weird looks or anything so I might go back next week. It was scary, but I survived. Your little voice was in the back of my head egging, I mean encouraging, me on the whole time. You should be so proud.

    Have a great long weekend!

    Patricia Rickrode
    w/a Jansen Schidt

    • Patricia, I’m SO proud of you!!!! I’m sorry I didn’t have a WB post this week. I was buried and stressed and I didn’t have one completed ahead of time, like it always my plan. I love it that it was actually ‘missed’. 🙂 You got a huge STAR for doing your homework and hearing my voice–which was totally encouraging you–so yes, I’m beyond proud.

      Have a FANTASTIC cruise. Savor every moment of fun. You’ve certainly earned it.

  4. Bring on summer!!! Bring on the margarita’s and various other cocktails!! Bring on the travel!! Bring on the extra reading time!! Bring on the extra blogging time!! Just BRING IT ALL ON!!!!

  5. What I loved about your post was your glee about spending the summer with your kids — having fun, making memories.

    I must check where you live. Texas is not a picnic waiting to happen through the summer months. Summer is when I most miss my native Pennsylvania. And, Autumn, where there are big trees with raspberry, orange and lemon sherbet-scoop-like globs of color on those rolling hills.

    I have a driving get-away from mid July to whenever. I’m going to drive to Pennsylvania, then on to Toronto to visit my bestie, Sherry Isaac. My husband’s family and friends all live in Texas so we see them all the time. THIS year, it’s my turn and I plan to enjoy every minute of it.

    Have map, will travel.

    Can’t wait to hear about your son’s big achievement.

    • Hi Gloria. Yep, that’s what I love most about summer, time as a family without the schedule and demands of a school year. We’re not the Waltons, by any stretch, but for the most part, we love being together and having fun, cracking up, and being active. Because our oldest has only 2 years of high school left, I kind of feel that we’re on borrowed time with these summers, so I’m grasping onto them tightly and savoring every moment.

      I’m in central Texas, north of Austin. You are right, it’s not exactly a picnic here in the summer. That is why we escape to TN for a good long getaway, usually the whole summer, but this year we’ll be gone a month.

      You paint a marvelous picture of Autumn in Pennsylvania. (you must be a writer? *wink*)

      Absolutely love ‘have map, will travel’. That rocks.

      I’ll be blogging about Duncan’s award soon. We are still blown away.

  6. When my kids were at home and in school, we loved summer – lots of down time and fun things to do, especially just hanging out.

  7. I’m planning on hanging out with friends and family until I move, and then getting to know my new city. It isn’t summer here, yet, though. We still have 3 more weeks of school. So, I’m super jealous right now!

    • The west coast really takes its sweet time breaking into summer, doesn’t it? I’m really looking forward to hearing about your adventure to your new city! I’m so excited for you. I hope you have a fabulous last summer in PNW before you head to palm trees and flamingos. 🙂

  8. Love your summertime plans – sounds wonderful. Ours are much the same. We spend a lot of time outside, BBQ, beach, golf, hiking, biking and relaxing. I LOVE the pace of summer with more time spent barefoot and in a ballcap than work gear….luv it!

Leave a Reply

