WritersButt – Thank You and a Field Trip!

Before I get into this week’s post, which is a day late, (I’m sorry), I want to say something from my heart.  Thank you all to infinity for your support, love and enthusiasm about my news last week. I can’t describe how loved I’ve felt seeing all the comments here on my blog, on Twitter (@GingerCalem), and on Facebook. You all seriously amazed me.  Thank you, thank you!

 

***HEART***

Ok, that said … remember a few weeks ago when I gave you all permission to ‘cheat’ on your nutrition, only y’all know I prefer indulge to cheat, but let’s not split hairs. Well today, we’re going on a field trip. Or rather, I want you all to plan one and get out and do something fun. This is along the lines of what I blogged about in April, when I gave you an eviction notice to get our of your comfort zone.

I’m guessing most of you reading this blog are busy, like really busy with crazy schedules. You have deadlines. You have jobs. You have kids demanding all sorts of ridiculous things from you, like food and clean underwear.  But you have to have some fun. It’s crucial to the little kid in you.

As children, every day is a new adventure. Ever notice how kids turn the most ordinary things into fun discoveries? Often they’re the ones begging to go and ‘do something’. They feed off the magic of fun. As adults, many of us have forgotten this and we need to be reminded how much our soul needs this outlet to explore and play.

My husband and I have recently taken up SUP boarding. Here’s a great video that shows a bit about the origins and how much fun it can be and see why it appeals to the writersbutt in me!

I’m an outdoors girl and I also crave exposure to bodies of water, especially the lake. SUP boarding fits the bill for me when we’re not waterskiing. Outdoors in the sunshine, fresh air, having fun on the lake, yep, that’s Ginger’s kind of fun.  In addition to that, it feeds my writer’s soul. The beauty of the water and the warmth of the sun calm me. While the physical activity challenges me and taps into those endorphins we talked about ages ago.  This combination never fails to put me into a super creative state. My thoughts wander, clinging onto the most amazing things that would never have had room to expand if I hadn’t given them the right environment.

I don’t know about you, but often I sit and look at my laptop, or a notebook, and I can’t pull out a decent sentence, much less a chapter. My brain is too pressured to produce. Then I feel guilty for not writing enough or writing well enough, so I force myself to stay there and browbeat my muse to get her act together.

Can any of you relate to this? I know I’m not alone. So come on, let’s get out of here, break our muses out of jail and go on an adventure!

 

One year my husband and I were in Washington, DC and we rented Segways. Oh my gosh, we had a blast. It was a 3 hour tour, on Segways of course, of all the different monuments and sights around our nation’s capitol, including the White House. All the sights were really cool, and I enjoyed it, but I have to admit, the best part was zipping around on the Segways. You guys have to try them out. They look hard but they’re intuitive and a blast to ride. Most major cities offer tours.  See if there’s one near you.  I’ve always wanted to try zip-lining and para-sailing, so those are on my list. The other night my daughter Delaney said she wanted to be underwater and hang out with the fish. Guess she’ll be trying out scuba diving some day.

If you go field trips already, tell us where you go and what you do. I’d love some new ideas!

I haven’t given you a recipe in a while so I’ll share this one we had the other night for my birthday. We had fish tacos for dinner – YUM! Often I make this fresh pepper and bean salad to go along with it.

Ingredients, which you can alter to your tastes:

~ 3 bell peppers. I mix yellow, orange and red

~ some spicy pepper, like anaheim, poblano, jalapeno

~ 2 cans black beans, fully drained and rinsed (important so salad doesn’t look dirty)

~ corn (I normally don’t add corn but my mom had some fresh on hand)

~ large avocado

Seasoning:

~splash of vinegar

~Extra virgin olive oil

~garlic powder

~kosher salt and cracked pepper

~chili powder

~little cumin

~juice of a lime – you can add some zest too for added zing

Mix and enjoy.  Note: This salad gets better as it sits a bit and the ingredients really soak up the seasonings. I rarely eat beans so this is a treat for me occasionally, and it was my birthday after all!

Now, I’d give you the recipe for my “secret sauce” that goes with the fish tacos but my kids tell me I couldn’t continue to call it secret.  I’ll see if I can convince them. If not, I’ll tell you but you can’t let them know!  ~grin~

Keep up with your 100oz of water, especially now that it’s getting hot in many areas of the country.

This week let’s have some fun and do ‘jump squats’ every time you visit the restroom. That’s a ‘potty squat’ with a vertical jump, then right back into your squat, repeat 10 times. That’ll ratchet up the heartbeat a bit!

Enjoy the week!

About Ginger Calem

I never met a notebook I didn't want to buy. Pens speak to me. Sticky notes are dear to my heart. Some of my best friends are those clambering in my head trying to get onto the page. And when they have their stories told, and I release them to the world, I hope they'll be your friends too.

Posted on June 7, 2012, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 13 Comments.

  1. Karen McFarland

    Happy Writer’s Butt Wednesday to you Ginger! 🙂

    Okay, I love that film and the paddle boarding. You do know that I live in Surf City! Oh yeah, surfers everywhere. Where do you paddle board in Texas? I know you’re very active girl.

    But listen, get ready for Monday. I’ve started with Fast Draft today. I know I’m not going to do nearly as much as I’m supposed to but I was roped into it. I’m finishing my plotting and writing a few scenes and it feels great. Can’t wait to start with you and everyone at #1kwaday on Monday! We are going to get that first draft going Ginger! Also, if you are feeling too pressured to produce, try taking some Rescue Remedy. It really works to help calm you and that helps you to think.

    Love that Fresh Pepper and Bean salad! That is going on my to do lists for summer foods!

    Thanks Ginger! 🙂

    • Hi Karen. So far, we’ve paddle boarding on Town Lake in Austin, but mostly on our little lake right here in our town. We’re going to try to ride our boat wake with the SUP boards. Should be a fun experiment. ha! I’m ready for Monday. Can’t wait to get the momentum going.

      You know, you’ve mentioned rescue remedy before and I totally forgot to look into it. I really must check this out and have some on hand.

  2. Love this recipe! I am trying to stay away from canned food as much as possible. So next batch of black beans this is happening!

    • Oh, I bet it’ll be awesome with fresh beans. I really don’t eat beans very much, but I do love their flavor, almost all kinds. My stomach doesn’t like them as much. 😉

  3. Ok, seriously!??! I do NOT look like that on a paddle board. It’s like my dream….but really.
    I love that they’re surfing on them. I have no idea how I never knew that, but I only go out on mine when the lake is super calm. I’m still working on that ‘balance’ thing I keep hearing about.
    P.S. I’m now going to hound you for the fish taco sauce recipe…
    🙂

    • Elena, most of the times we’ve gone out, it’s been windy (like white caps) and often with boat wakes. So not necessarily ‘surf’ but not tranquil. It’s been interesting.

      Mmmm…. secret sauce … nom nom! hee hee

  4. My arms hurt watching that video. 😀 But I am tempted to give a try, if only once. I would love the experience. I can do my pull ups and pushups, but for some reason when I have to hold something out and steady like that for a long time the muscles in my arms rebel. Hmm. More workouts required.

    That recipe looks delish if I sub chicken for fish. No fish in this house. 😐 I know, I know. It’s healthy. What can I say??? I fail at many things.

    • Paddling does use muscles different that say pull-ups and push-ups, although there is overlap. It’s actually a lot of core/lat work. Oh, and what we found out the first time is surprisingly, your legs and feet too as you engage them constantly for balance.

      You can totally sub chicken, like grilled tenders. Would be delicious! You’re so funny. Not eating fish is no way ‘failing’ at anything. I don’t eat red meat, pork, etc … just my thing. Our unique awesomeness makes the world brighter!

  5. I’m officially craving that salad! Thanks, Ginger. 🙂

    • Try it! So good. I know a lot of people would add in raw onion (of which I’m not a fan) but I can see that adding a lot of flavor. Oh, and I’ve also added cilantro before too. Enjoy!

  6. That looks like a fantastic core workout. I wouldn’t want to try it in the waves, but I’d love to try it on smooth water.

    • It really is a great core workout, between the constant balancing and the paddling. They do fitness and yoga on SUP boards too. That’s my next adventure — but definitely need smooth water for that.

  1. Pingback: WritersButt Wednesday-Taking my own advice « Ginger Calem

Leave a Reply

