WritersButt Recipe Wednesday

I hope you all are in the mood for recipes for some yummy summer meals today, because that’s what I have for you! Summertime eating in our house is all about simple. We do a lot of grilling, as I’ve mentioned before, but even my indoor cooking get simplified during the long, hot days of summer.  Last week I made a slow cooked shredded BBQ chicken meal that was amazing. I paired it with coleslaw.

Ingredients:

*onion, chopped

*4-5 garlic cloves, smashed

*Large packet of skinless chicken breasts (natural, hormone-free, free-range, etc is best!)

*Jar BBQ sauce (here’s where I cheated this week because I was pressed for time and got the best store bought one I could find with NO high fructose corn syrup.  But there are some great homemade paleo BBQ sauce recipes, so I’ll do that next time.)

*Bottle of beer (recipe didn’t specify which kind of beer. I used one with a lime flavoring to add some zesty action)

*kosher salt and cracked  pepper

*1-2 tbsp of smoked paprika powder (SOOO good!!)

Put your chopped onion and smashed garlic in crock pot. Pour in sauce and beer and seasonings. Add your chicken to the pool.  🙂  I started on high for a few hours and then switched to low for a couple hours until we were ready to eat.

Coleslaw:

So here’s what’s funny. Everyone loves my coleslaw. The reason this is funny, to me, is that it’s not special at all. I buy angel hair cabbage already shredded in a bag. I add what I guess is the ‘magic’ ingredient, MAYO. And please do not insult your cabbage by slathering it in non-fat or low-fat mayo. I’m serious. The cabbage will not be happy. Don’t make the cabbage cranky! I splash a bit of rice vinegar in there, salt/pepper, little chili powder …. mix it up. This gets better after sitting in the fridge a bit before dinner.

This is how the chicken looks after it’s cooked. I put it all in a bowl and shredded it up easy-peasy with a fork.

Since I don’t eat bread, I just had mine next to my slaw. Seriously YUM! The kids had theirs on a fresh roll, like a chopped chicken sandwich.

William’s Sweet Potato Chips

I have to credit my husband for these because he made them before I did and I have no idea where he found the recipe but they are SO good. Just slice a sweet potato into very thin slices. Arrange on cookie sheet. Drizzle with coconut oil or extra virgin olive oil. Season with kosher salt, cracked pepper, crunchy minced garlic and we added some of the smoked paprika powder.  Into the oven at 350 and just keep checking on them.  I think they took roughly 30-ish minutes.

What they look like raw.

Finished! Ok, they may not look super impressive. Maybe I should have put them in a pretty bowl or something, but I’m not writing a cookbook here. Trust me, these are delicious. My favorite ones are the ones with the burnt parts. Crispy goodness! Every one of these were devoured.

Burger Night

Took a little help from the store for these salmon burgers. They were already seasoned mediterranean style, to which I added some minced garlic, pepper and smoked paprika. Grill them on the foil. Tip — which we did not do but will next time — spray your foil with a little olive oil or coconut spray for some non-stick help.

Salmon burger, slaw and sweet potato chips w/ a lovely glass of wine. I *heart* summer!

Miss Sassy wanted her picture on the blog. Here she’s showing her grilled burger w/ sweet potato chips, her newly streaked hair and her summer smile!

EASY LUNCH

I know a lot of you think it’s hard to grab something fast and healthy for lunch, especially when you’re writing and don’t want to take a break to ‘fix’ anything. Below was my lunch on Monday. I had some delicious broccoli slaw from the salmon burger night in the fridge. I almost always have plenty of hard-boiled eggs on hand for a quick protein snack. Sliced up a couple eggs over the slaw. Took no more than 60 seconds and I was back at my computer having a healthy lunch!

 

So, what about you guys? Any healthy summertime recipes you can share.  Here in Texas, we have long, hot, summers, so I need some ideas.

Coming soon to WritersButt: How to eat healthy while away at conferences and still have some indulgences!

 

About Ginger Calem

I never met a notebook I didn't want to buy. Pens speak to me. Sticky notes are dear to my heart. Some of my best friends are those clambering in my head trying to get onto the page. And when they have their stories told, and I release them to the world, I hope they'll be your friends too.

Posted on June 20, 2012, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 30 Comments.

  1. Julie O'Connell

    My favorite quick recipes are my Greek turkey burgers and grilled asparagus. We have these all the time. Burgers – ground turkey, onion powder, dried basil, dried oregano, small bit of garlic (fresh or powder), pepper and feta cheese. Smoosh all together. OIL THE GRILL then grill until done. The asparagus – clean spears and snap off ends. Put in zip-loc bag with a healthy glug or two of your favorite vinaigrette. Let marinate for a bit. Grill spears until they just soften up as they’ll keep cooking on the platter. Yum squared!

    What else are you putting in your cole slaw? Carrots? It doesn’t look like just cabbage and mayo.

    • Julie, the greek burgers look fab. And I adore asparagus on the grill. I always look to see if the asparagus is a good price and when it is, I grab a bunch.

      Oh, that particular cole slaw was the regular kind in the bag. They were out of my angel hair one, which I do prefer — and is the bomb with fish tacos — but the traditional cabbage one has some carrots in it and purple cabbage, etc. Can also use the same method with broccoli slaw.

  2. Your summer dishes look and sound delicious, Ginger! I’ve been seeking great ways to prepare fish without filling the house with fish-smell. Your burgers seem perfect. 🙂

    I like sauteeing raw coleslaw mix (or just chopped up cabbage) with canola oil, onion, chickpeas and curry spices. It’s a super tasty, easy dish on its own or in lettuce wraps or whole grain pita.

  3. Ooh, I’m going to make your bbq chicken dish, Ginger. By the way, I appreciate the way you (and Julie and August) use spices to add flavor.

    • Hi Pat. Let me know how it turns out. Yep, I’m all about flavoring with spices. In fact, another thing I’m known for are my salads. They aren’t particularly special but everyone asks for my ‘dressing recipe’. It’s always olive oil, vinegar, s/p, and garlic crunchies. I think that simple flavoring lets you enjoy the veggies and berries or whatever is on your salad.

  4. Coleen Patrick

    It all looks yum, Ginger! Especially those sweet potato chips!!!

  5. I like the sound of the shredded chicken! We make yam fries, but I’ll have to try cutting them into round chips next time 🙂 Parsnips are good roasted like that too.

  6. Well I guess I have some new stuff to try. I love cabbage so I’m eager to try your version of “slaw.” Can’t eat salmon cuz I’m allergic and I hate sweet potatoes but everything else looks yummy.

    I have a delicious black bean and corn salad recipe that I make quite often in the summer, but I can’t remember off the top of my head all of the ingredients. It has like a balsamic dressing on it and some celery and some kind of hot pepper thing chopped up in there. If I wasn’t in the process of moving right now I’d dig out the recipe and post it but that’ll have to wait until I get settled in my new house and find the recipe box.

    Thanks for the tips! Can’t want to get cooking.

    Patricia Rickrode
    w/a Jansen Schmidt

    • Allergic to salmon … oh, poor you! Are you allergic to all fish? Have we already discussed this?

      Your black bean salad reminds me of one I made with my fish tacos. YUM! I look forward to your version once you get settled.

      • No I’m not allergic to all fish – just the salmon. I have to be careful of sushi all the time because sometimes I can’t tell the salmon from the ahi.

        No I don’t think we’ve discussed this.

        Patricia

  7. YUM!
    Tonight we’re having everything on the grill. Sausages, veggies and skewered potatoes. Easy peasy. AND…DONE!
    Okay, now that I’ve said I’m coming to Surrey, you need to give me healthy options. Because let me tell you…the food…not so healthy.

    • Dinner off the grill … SWOOON!! My fav! Ok, we’ll totally talk conference food. Of course I eat off the buffet and make the best choices possible, but I bring snacks and such for the hotel to keep me on course as much as possible and don’t even get me started on airport food! Also, I’ll tell you right now that we have massive snacks (healthy and not) plus libations in our room, so pretty much we can plot and chat and hang out all night!! Wee…. I’ll expect you in your jammies! 🙂

  8. Karen McFarland

    “Don’t make the cabbage cranky!” Ginger, you crack me up girl!

    Okay, seriously, now I’m hungry! I’m bookmarking these recipes. And we love sweet potato in our house, so the chip recipe is a winner! Well all of them are. Thanks for putting so much work into this post today Ginger with all the pics!

    Yummy! :

    • Thanks, Karen. You know, we love sweet potatoes too but I don’t make them that often. I guess because I’m always making dinner ‘fast’. That’s why I like this chip recipe, verses baking the whole potato.

  9. That chicken sounds delicious and not to difficult to make. In the summer I eat a lot of salads, and I love ceviche on a warm day. Yum. Thanks for the great recipes! 🙂

  10. I wish I knew a substitute for the beer in the chicken. My family (both my parents and husband) have an aversion to the flavor of beer in cooked recipes (even though they all drink it cold)

  11. OK…it all looks to DIE for. Love the salmon burger ideas – I am definitely going to try.
    Your daughter is gorgeous! LOVE the new hairstyle….adorable!!!

  12. Yum, yum, yum! I know what I’m making Sunday night for dinner. Thanks for the recipes, Ginger. I’m always looking for tasty, healthier options.

  13. I’m trying the BBQ Chix. Tell Miss Sassy, she did a fine job modeling that hamburger.

  14. Yum! I love seeing what other people cook in their homes…now I just need someone to come cook it in MY home 🙂

  1. Pingback: WritersButt Wednesday – Courage to be a doofus « Ginger Calem

Leave a Reply

