WritersButt Wednesday Getting Down with Fish Oil

Another WritersButt Wednesday is here.  Yay!!  You’re cheering with me, aren’t you? Really, I can’t hear you … put some effort into your enthusiasm people.  I know we’re all spread out over the world – yeah, WritersButt has an international following – so what’s the weather like in your slice of the universe? As many of you know, I’m in central Texas and we are melting and breaking heat records. I’m not kidding. See, here’s a little visual of yesterday.

My daughter, Delaney, and I got into the car to run some errands and I said,

“Holy mother of all that is merciful, it’s hot in this car.”

And my little Miss Sassy, being a deadpan comedic, replied,

“It’s a good thing these seatbelts are black.”

She kills me!

So, before I get into the topic of Fish Oil and why you should all be taking this supplement, I want to follow up with the super fabulous guest blog by the awesome Kassandra Lamb with her announcement of the winner of the drawing.

The winner of the misterio press contest for a free three-book set of Kassandra Lamb’s Kate Huntington Mystery series is Coleen Patrick! Congratulations, Colleen!

Kassandra also wanted me to pass on her appreciation to everyone who stopped by and read her interviews and posts doing her blog-hop week and especially to those who contributed to some wonderful discussions.  ((Isn’t Kassandra uber-awesome!!))

Now, we move on to Fish Oil!

As someone who is deeply involved in the health and fitness arena of life, I’m always exploring different supplements that will help with a variety of things.  My husband and I will often try different supplements, sort of like guinea pigs, to see what works so that we can pass along that knowledge to our clients. Anything from protein powders, super green powders, products for energy and recovery, all the way to things that will help promote lean muscle mass and fat loss.

If there is one single supplement we’d recommend that everybody take, whether you are a gym-junkie or not, it’s Fish Oil. This supplement packs a powerhouse of healthy goodness.  There is a ton of info about fish oil out there so I’m going to keep this simple. Trust me, if you want the nitty-gritty details, it’s out there.

Fish oil comes from the tissue of fatty fish and contains Omega 3 fatty acids called EPA and DHA.  These acids are essential to the human diet because our bodies can’t produce them. We have to get them from other sources.  The reason it’s recommended to take fish oil in supplement form is because it’s nearly impossible to eat enough fatty fish or other food sources which contain Omega 3’s to get enough.

This wonderful Fish Oil FAQ from Whole9Life (a site I highly recommend you follow!) will give you tons of valuable information. I’ll point out some highlights from the post.

You might be wondering why EPA and DHA acids are so important to your health … from the Whole9Life’s post you will learn that:

EPA and DHA are natural anti-inflammatory agents, and as such, play a role in brain health, heart health, protection against cancer, Alzheimer’s and depression, improvement of skin conditions like psoriasis and acne, fetal brain development, inflammatory bowel disorders, and arthritis, to name a few.

You interested?

The most commons forms of supplement forms for fish oil are capsule or liquid form. But what’s important is to find a source that is concentrated so you get enough. Many forms have very little per capsule or spoonful, leaving you to have to take about 10 pills to get your daily amount.  I have taken both forms and I prefer the liquid form. It’s super easy to add to a protein drink if I’m having one that day or I just take it straight. It does not taste fishy or gross as most liquid forms come in flavors. I love the lemon the best or Stronger Faster Healthier’s mint flavor, which when mixed with a chocolate protein powder, makes me think of a thin mint.  ~swoon~

How much should you take and which sources are best? As I mentioned above, a good clean source can be found from Stronger Faster Healthier. We’ve also taken Carson’s and even the generic label from The Vitamin Shoppe. The SFH brand is by far my favorite though because of its super clean quality and because it truly does taste good enough to drink.

Whichever form you take, you want to make sure you’re getting the right amount.  Look at the label carefully and your goal it to aim for 2-4 grams of combined EPA/DHA per day. This is why a concentrated form is the best.

Worried about Fish Burps?

Keep the oil in the fridge. It doesn’t like heat or bright light. Same with the capsules – in the fridge. This will eliminate fish burps or any fishy aftertaste.  Trust me.  Also, take with a meal, especially if you are prone to a queasy stomach.

Now, one more thing … there are some people who will want to talk to their doctor before taking fish oil supplements. Fish oil reduces to the stickiness of platelets,  so people who have bleeding tendency, are taking blood thinning medications or about to have surgery should discuss with their doctor.

Next week — the recipe for our dinner last night which was seriously, one of the best meals I’ve ever had. I know I say that a lot, but really you guys … this was gooood!  Let’s call it: Lemon and smokey paprika chicken over veggies of amazing goodness. I KNOW I’ll see you next week after that tease. With the recipe, I’m going to talk about why you should buy and try veggies you have no idea how to cook! Think Adventure!

About Ginger Calem

I never met a notebook I didn't want to buy. Pens speak to me. Sticky notes are dear to my heart. Some of my best friends are those clambering in my head trying to get onto the page. And when they have their stories told, and I release them to the world, I hope they'll be your friends too.

Posted on June 27, 2012, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 23 Comments.

  1. Fish emulsion has worked wonders for my plants, so I’ll give fish oil a try. Before I do, mind if I whine a little about the heat? So-o-o hot! The Houston high was only 103 yesterday, though, so you win, Ginger.

  2. I’ve been a fan of omega 3 fish oils for years. Anti-inflammatories and good for lots of things. Keep spreading the word on health, Ginger. You’re an inspiration.

  3. Great Blog, Ginger! I’m going online now to buy the SFH brand and see how that works for me. Thanks for all your insight!

  4. I take fish oil capsules too – but sporadically (gotta work on that!)

    Could you send some of that heat up here to BC? It’s so cold I’m about to make a cup of hot tea to warm up.

  5. Yeah!

    I eat oily fish at least three times a week along with live food (not cooked). And as a cancer survivor I take a quality supplement too. I need all the help I can get. Which might seem overkill but there are times when I’m busy and forget to look after myself.

    Love this post and all your insights into how we can look after ourselves!

  6. Hey, Ginger, great post! My husband is a huge fan of fish oil. It really helps with his arthritis, and he is now able to work out again. Which I love, because he’s not grumpy all the time anymore.

  7. I’m glad to know I’m doing something right. My acupuncturist told me to take it for my asthma & for joint pain. I haven’t used my inhaler in over a year. So I’m a fish oil believer!

  8. That’s the one thing I don’t miss about San Antonio… (the heat, not the fish oil!) 🙂

  9. Ginger, my old friend, now you are talking my language. The single most important supplement you can take. Natures lubricant! I would love to challenge you just a bit. No reason to refrigerate, nor will you have fish burps. You just have not tried the best in the industry…Shaklee Omega Guard. Ultra-Pure, Pharmaceutical -grade, delivers more EPA and DHA than other brands. Contains all seven Omega -3 Fatty acids. Contains natural fish oil derived from small, sustainable cold-water fish in a smaller size for easier swallowing. I take two daily. Please challenge our guarantee, return the bottle empty a year from now, we will refund you if you don’t agree. Further info…
    http://cheryldealbert.myshaklee.com/us/en/products.php?sku=21252

  10. Refrigerate – genius! I always took the fish supplements but the burps just were so bad that I finally stopped. Even if I took then with a meal. But this is genius and if it works, I’ll get back on the oil. Woot woot. Tks Ginger!!!

    • Yeah try it! Or an alternate brand. Or maybe a liquid form? Also, my good friend, who’s a health coach, says that there are some people who are just prone to that reaction. I truly hope that’s not the case with you. Let me know!

      • I am not positive, but I think it has to do with the delivery system. The coatings that the company uses. Try opening the container, give a big whiff, strong aroma, cheap coating, more issues with digesting, burping. Needs to be absorbed lower in intestinal system. Also if pharma grade, less nasty side effects. Should not scrimp on price here. You get what you pay for.

  11. Sorry I’m late this week. But better late than never right?

    I’m already taking the fish oil so I’m go to go this week. Looking forward to lemon paprika chicken recipe! Love me some chicken!

    Patricia Rickrode
    w/a Jansen Schmidt

    • You’re never late! 🙂 Way to go with already being on top of the fish oil. Had leftovers last night from the lemon/paprika chicken … just as swoon-worthy. Will have to make this one again soon.

Leave a Reply

