What do you feed your soul?

My last blog post I was heading out for our annual road trip to TN to spend some summer time at the lake. This never fails to put a smile on my face and make my spirit dance. It’s my happy place. This got me hoping that everyone has a place or an activity that is truly a vortex of happiness and contentment — your PASSION!

Lake Georgetown, Texas

(photo source: Ginger Calem)

Do you have things in your life that you are so passionate about they feed your soul? Things that if they were taken away from you or you stopped doing them, a vital piece of who you are would go missing? I’m here to tell you that if you do, you are blessed and if you don’t … FIND SOME!

We all need things in our life that bring us joy and fulfillment. I believe that everyone is born with a need inside of us to do certain things. Sometimes it is easy to find out what that is and sometimes it’s hard. But it is always worth it.

A dancer dances, even when no one is looking. A composer is never without a melody or masterpiece playing in his heart. A woodworker sees the trees in the woods as tools for his art.

Our world is richer through people’s passions. You can tell when someone is doing something that stems from deep inside of him or her. And you can tell when they aren’t.

A lot of things that make me happy, but not all of those things are my passions.  I enjoy cooking, and crafts like knitting and quilting and I really enjoy photography, especially sports-shots of my kids.  That said, if I don’t knit or photograph an event, I don’t feel cheated out of something or that I’m not living up to my potential. Ok, maybe a little with the cooking because our family has gotten really spoiled with healthy, fresh meals.

(photo source: Ginger Calem)

There are some things in my life that if I stopped doing them, I would not be the same person, I would be neglecting my passions and cheating my soul from it’s joy. One of those things is writing. I have to write. I have characters in my head and in my heart and they are a part of who I am. It is not enough to have them inside of me. I have to give them life and share them. When I do, I feel alive.

(photo source: Ginger Calem)

Many of you know I’m pretty serious about health and fitness. I’m one of those people who has always worked out in some way.  I love how I feel when I’m strong and fit. I don’t always like how I feel during a workout. Quite frankly, most of the time I want to stop.  But I don’t because I’m stubborn and I know the feeling when I’m done will trump any pain I felt during. When life makes it difficult for me to workout and I miss some days, something gets tripped up in my brain. I need that adrenaline and those endorphins. Also, the working out totally feeds the creativity and my writing so these two go hand in hand.

Douglas Lake, TN -- Summer 2011

(photo source: Ginger Calem)

Lastly, I’m a lake girl. Not just any lake girl, but a water sports, in the boat, behind the boat, on top of the water, surfing or trying to jump wakes and not kill myself but maybe come close, kind of girl. It makes my heart sing and my soul soar. I can’t ski and not smile. I guess I could try but what is the point of that? I let my joy show because it’s pointless to hold that back when it’s bursting to get out of me.

Lake Georgetown, Texas 2012

(photo source: Ginger Calem)

Do you have something in your life that you are so passionate about that you simply have to do it? Something that fills your heart to bursting and radiates happiness? I truly hope so and I’d love to hear all about it.  So tell me!

If you don’t have a passion, whether it is glassblowing, basket weaving or dog training, I encourage you to find one. I can promise you that it will be worth it … times infinity!

About Ginger Calem

I never met a notebook I didn't want to buy. Pens speak to me. Sticky notes are dear to my heart. Some of my best friends are those clambering in my head trying to get onto the page. And when they have their stories told, and I release them to the world, I hope they'll be your friends too.

Posted on July 23, 2012, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 31 Comments.

  1. Shannon Esposito

    Oooo…now you have a new name..lake ninja! Great question and when I really think about the answer, I realize how lucky I am to be living my passions: writing, dogs, the beach & yoga. If you took anyone of these away from me, I’d feel like I was loosing a part of my soul. So, thanks for the reminder to count myself amoung the lucky. 🙂

    • Oh, I will totally claim Lake Ninja! That’s 100% me. The fact that you are living your passions comes out in everything you do. You exude a generous and joyful spirit!

  2. Great post. I was like that with soccer. I played for twenty years or so – reffed, coached – you name it. My position is goal – which is odd because I’m so short but I play the angles and get the job done. I could play without hurtling myself into a sea of swinging feet and an angry ball – but where’s the fun in that? Go hard or go home. But it caught up to me. An injury has kept me off the field for the last three seasons – breaks my heart. I just don’t know what to do with myself in the summer time. 😦

    • Lisa, what a coincidence. The YA novel I’m currently writing has a main character who’s short and also the keeper and trying to make varsity — soccer is her passion too! And she’s a Ninja to boot. hee hee!

      I’m so sorry an injury has tripped you up. Any way you can still coach or train? Go hard or go home … you speak my language girl!! Love it.

      • Interesting 🙂 They wouldn’t let me play goal as long as I played with the boys. But, once they forced me to play with all-girl teams (aka – I turned 15) I kept getting carded because I was used to playing with the boys and you had to give twice as hard as they did to just be allowed to play. They put me in net because they figured I couldn’t hurt anyone there, and I loved it. Been playing there ever since. You have to really play the angles though, and I pushed my D to play the offside trap hard.

  3. Love your passions. Mine are writing, music, and big lakes (Lakes Michigan, Huron, and Superior). I love the sounds of the waves washing up on shore, and the breeze that is so much cooler coming across the water. 🙂

    • Kristy, I can feel and hear what you’re talking about. Isn’t it fabulous? My grandparents live on Lake Minnetonka so I grew up visiting that huge lake. So fun. Where I spend my summers is a pretty big lake too. Not HUGE but big enough to really explore and find all sorts of fun coves to ski in. My son is my music man — it lives in his soul, so I bet you can relate!

  4. Music does it for me. Even with housework the house rocks to the sound of rock. At least, it used to until I got sick, but now rock’s rocking the house! And I used to adore gardening and now I’m back doing that too.

    I want to sing like Adele!

    Great post and why are you not relaxing and chilling out?

    • Music is a huge passion. It is for my son as well. He loves classic rock and got a turntable for his birthday (at his request) and now owns a lot of classic vinyl. 😉

      Gardening is an awesome passion. I keep trying and I keep killing stuff. *sigh* But I won’t give up!!

  5. Very cool, Lisa. I will incorporate my character (Mai) really working the angels. I already have her orchestrating her defense but actually haven’t incorporated the offside trap yet. So thanks for that reminder as well. I played soccer as a kid and I’ve been a soccer mom forever. It’s fun to put that of my life into my book.

  6. I totally agree Ginger! I’m a big fan of hiking–getting out in nature any chance I get. And I like to happen upon stuff too. Last week I stumbled on a park with swings and I hopped on in my work clothes and swang away. Wheeeee!

    • Liz, I absolutely love the image of you swinging in your corporate clothes. You have such a free spirit. One of my favorite memories was the fantastic walk we took on Bainbridge and seeing those gigantic jelly fish and collecting shells and rocks and sea glass. Oh and how we made everyone go out and get a workout in. hahaha! I harbor those sorts of moments forever.

  7. george Covarelli

    Ginger, well this is a little out of my comfort zone, but will give it a try. Well skiing is it for me. I learned when i was 4, but didnt know much about 3 event un til i was 18. so when our family went camping, you could not get us out of the water. At 18 had a major set back and broke my neck diving into the river, but still had everything moving , Praise the Lord, and healed after an operation in August and water skied on New years day that year. Started recreationaly skiing again for a few years, then wanted to try 3 event again. Went and started buying equipment, and then a MasterCraft. if your all in your all in. So to make a long story short, I met some friends and they talked me into learning how to Barefoot. Wow, I put the skies away and started Footing all the time. it was it for me. 83 entered my first tournament as a novice and won. the 3 event overall. Qualified for the 84 Nationals but couldnt go because i broke my ribs in the Regionals in the last event. but then qualified again in 85 and went and placed 10th overall with 2 PB’s . Then,….about a yr earlier, I met one of my best friends, who is the World record holder in quarter mile speed barfoot skiing. Scott Pelaton maybe you have heard of him. And i asked him to teach me. I trained with Scott and his Brother and on the 3rd yr it was my time to go for it. My first run was 89 MPH totaly barefoot . Ya ouch, then after getting more equipment and booties, i skiied again on fathers day in AZ, and became the first one to go over 100mph in 6yrs without dieing. I went 107.38 Mph. in November i wa sto ski again with Scott and did and went 1 second faster but the speed trap did not work so it did not count. then retired from skiing to take a break after getting Married.
    Well, here it is 25 yrs later and i started sking again 3 yrs ago, and met Mike and Jan and trhe Mavericks, they have been my God send through the divorce that i went through. the group is so supportive and the comrodery , i know spelling, is bar none the best. They are all great friends and we have a great time, and i am happy to be skiing wiuth such a great group of athletes.
    So, thats my storey. Sorry went a little long , but that is the condenced version.
    Hope to see you out there with us soon. God Bless.

  8. george Covarelli

    Oh ya , I am kind of a All or nothin kind of Person, but i guess you mightr guess that. lol

    • Love it, George! Yep, you most definitely have skiing as a passion. I’d add being a speed demon too. I can’t fathom barefooting over 100 mph. That’s seriously crazy. I’m glad you have a great support system. Rock On!!

      • George Covarelli

        hope it wasnt to exhaustive. Al that being said, I take that same passion into the Show and working with Mike Spence , Glenn Sperry, and all the rest which are all so supportive. Hope you and you Dad can come out some time soon. Be Blessed. GC

  9. Love! I can totally see you grinning on your skis. 🙂 If I haven’t had my nose in a book for at least part of the day, I turn into a total funk-turd.

    • You know, I kind of consider reading and writing as synonymous. I doubt a day of my life goes by without me reading either and yes, too long away from a good book and I’m a total funk-turd too — which is the best saying ever.

  10. I would have to say that writing, and now working out thanks to CrossFit, are two of my biggest passions. There’s also eating, shopping, and hanging out with friends.

  11. Coleen Patrick

    I love to walk/hike in places with great scenery–like waterfalls. I also love DIY stuff and crafting and sewing/quilting. There were times I could easily spend an afternoon staring at fabrics at the fabric store! 🙂 Enjoy your vacation Ginger!

    • I totally know what you mean about fabric stores. Also, I can really eat up some time in a yarn store. I love all the colors and just the possibilities! Some day, I hope to get back to my knitting and maybe even learn to make something besides a scarf. 😉

  12. That OWN image really does suit this! Beautiful messages here, Ginger. Writing is definitely my passion/soul driver. 😉

  13. Fab post Ginger. I think it’s so important to know what passions feed your soul and you can’t live without as opposed to those things you simply enjoy doing. Time is so precious these days and I think sometimes we can easily get caught up in just going from one thing to the next. It’s important to know what feeds your soul and then make it a priority in your life. Schedule it in!
    Beautifully said!
    For me…I think I am still discovering what that is….it’s been an interesting journey thus far!

  14. prudencemacleod

    Wow, love this. I write my stories, hang out with friends, walk my dogs in the hills, I guess most of my days are spent nourishing my soul. Does this book make my soul look fat? tee hee I do miss pumping iron though, I no longer have access to a gym or a place to store weights. Maybe I can carry the labrador around, that would work…

  15. Oh, Ginger.
    One more way that we’re truly kindred.
    I’m SUCH a lake girl. CANNOT survive without my lake. In it, on it, around it, by it, looking at it.
    And when I’m writing my stories at the lake…perfect bliss!
    Happy holiday!

  1. Pingback: Hubby’s Corner: As legends has it… – Natalie Hartford

Leave a Reply

