WritersButt Wednesday – Workouts on the road and a recipe!

Happy WritersButt Wednesday!  How have you all been this past week?

You all know that I’m away from home at my summer lake retreat on the lake. Because I’ll be away from home for over a month, I have to think about what sort of workouts I’ll be doing.  In years past, I’ve brought a lot of equipment with me. I’ve even dragged my Olympic barbell and weights out here. But you can do a lot of working out with very little to no equipment.

This summer, I decided to go old school and bring just two pieces of workout equipment.

A kettlebell and my jump rope

You can do a ton of things with a kettlebell – swings, cleans, snatches, weighted squats and lunges. It’s an awesome piece of equipment. Also, where I stay has a very steep private road that goes down to the house.  While I’m here, I do a lot of hill sprints. Nothing will kick your butt (literally) like some steep hill sprints.

People ask me all the time what they can do while traveling. You can get a great workout in anywhere, even in a hotel room, EVEN if they don’t have a gym! Think of all the different bodyweight exercises you can do.  Can’t think of any? Well … let me help!

Pushups – Squats – Burpees – Lunges – tuck jumps – situps – pike pushups – jumping jacks – jumping lunges – mountain climbers … just to name a few!  You can mix up various things with different reps and see how much you can get done. You are only limited by your creativity.

Some examples:

10 push ups, 15 situps, 20 squats – repeat for 10-15 minutes and see how many rounds you can get it.  Or – choose to do a set number of rounds, like 5 for example.

5 rounds of: 10 burpees followed by 25 jumping jacks

Or count down from a starting set of 10 reps down to 1 rep of Burpees and jumping lunges. So you’d do 10 of each, then 9, 8, 7 … all the way down to 1.

Make it hard so you will be winded fast. You shouldn’t have to workout longer than 15-20 minutes max, as long as you’re pushing really hard.  Then go and relax in the hotel’s hot tub.  I encourage you not to get stuck into thinking you need a gym with a treadmill or an elliptical to get a workout in.

Use your body as your machine! It’s an awesome thing.

Now that we’ve worked up a sweat and an appetite talking about all those burpees, how about I share a recent dinner I made.  Salmon packets alongside grilled asparagus with a fresh salad topped with crisp bell peppers and creamy goat cheese.

I love the beauty of fresh colorful food. It’s like heart-healthy art!

This salad could not be simpler.  Just fresh romaine, sliced bell peppers and crumbled goat cheese. Dressing is my usual of extra virgin olive oil, splash of vinegar, kosher salt, cracked pepper and a generous sprinkle of dried minced garlic. You can use any spices you want. A tip for you — try to use the same spices/flavoring in all the components of your meal so that it marries well.  For instance, in this dinner I used lemon zest and juice on the fish and on the asparagus and even squeezed a little on my salad. It was so fresh and smelled divine!

I know a lot of people are nervous about cooking fish. I was too. Lately our favorite way to eat fish is what we call ‘fish packets’. For this dinner I used salmon, but you can use tilapia, halibut, whatever. Cut a piece of heavy tin foil large enough for your fish and some cut up veggies. Put your fish in, season with olive oil and spices. I like to put in sliced lemon and often I’ll put in cut up veggies like zucinni, squash, onion, carrots … whatever you like.  You can cook these in your oven by placing them on a cookie sheet and bake at 350 for 20-30 minutes. The timing will depend on how thick your fish it, etc.  You can also cook these right on the grill.  YUM-FACTOR overload. Trust me!!

So, tell me some your creative workout ideas you can while on the road. I know you all can think up some great ideas!  Have a great week my friends!

About Ginger Calem

I never met a notebook I didn't want to buy. Pens speak to me. Sticky notes are dear to my heart. Some of my best friends are those clambering in my head trying to get onto the page. And when they have their stories told, and I release them to the world, I hope they'll be your friends too.

Posted on July 25, 2012, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 20 Comments.

  1. This couldn’t have come at a more perfect time! I’m about to go on a cross country road trip & then stay with my BFF for a few weeks. I’ve been worried about missing my workouts & not having a CrossFit gym to go to. I don’t want to lose any of the strength I’ve gained since starting CrossFit. Now I know what to do! Thank you!!!

  2. Love the exercise tips. We just cancelled our gym membership and I need to do exercises inside, as I’m not big on the 100 degree temps with 90% humidity outside:) And your recipe looks very yummy. We will be trying it!

  3. Shannon Esposito

    Yum! That salad is making my mouth water! Well, we leave for the Grand Canyon in three days…I’ll be doing alot of hiking…and more hiking. Hopefully some cool stuff like kayaking, too but don’t know with the kids.

    ps. The kettleball looks like an ancient torture device..I’m starting to worry about you. 😛

  4. Okay, I just got back from the gym, I worked off 450 calories on my elipitcal/stair monster combo in about 50 minutes. I’m staying away from the kettle bells, my trainer won’t let me play with them until my back is stable. But I”m loving the salad and the fish recipes. Have an awesome vaca, Ginger.

    • Thanks, Rachel. As soon as you’re able, get some weight training (with proper form and guidance) back into your routine because it will strengthen your back. In the mean time, keep on moving!!!

  5. I just subscribed. I love this post. Thanks for sharing.

  6. Years ago, I used to cook fish in foil. Why ever did I stop? Thanks for reminding me of foil-wrapped goodness. Enjoy your vacation, Ginger!

  7. I’ll admit to being a fish-cooking-fearer. I’m going to give your suggestion a try. Thanks, Ginger!

  8. I’m totally addicted to salmon. Wonder Wife cooks it many ways; my favorite is crusted and baked 🙂
    When I cook it, it’s usually a salmon burger on the grill.

    • Ok, love ‘Wonder Wife’. I will be telling my husband (Superman) that I need this name! 😉 I’ve purchased salmon burgers already made but haven’t done them myself. I really need to try this. Any tips?

  9. Very nice idea about the fish. My favorite is pollock, and if it’s not deep fried (my son’s preference), I like to fry it in PAM with Parmesan cheese. We’re boring as far as foil wrapped food…potatoes/garlic/Parmesan/PAM or lean ground beef/sliced potatoes/sliced carrots/onions, both on the grill.

    • I think anything on a grill is delish! I love the flavor of parmesan cheese. There’s a chicken dish I make with parm cheese, although I haven’t done it in ages. Dredge a chicken breast through plain yogurt then coat it with parm cheese. Saute in olive oil until cheese ‘sets’. YUM!

  10. The kettle bell is something I will have to think about for travel! And you really can work out anywhere–you don’t always need equipment. Push-ups, squats, and sit-ups can attest to that. So can your blog 😉

    That salad looks DELICIOUS. My mouth is watering at the sight of it. Time to go grocery shopping?

    I envy your ability to jump rope. I can skip rope just fine, but I often end up in a tangled heap when I try to jump 😛

  11. If you can bring a kettlebell on vacation that is an excellent way to stay in shape. Whenever I am going away without a KB I stick with this workouts without weights program. It gives me a great full body workout in just 20 minutes a day.

Leave a Reply

