Let the Games Begin!!

Tonight is the opening ceremonies of the 2012 Summer Games in London.  I bet you all already knew that. I mean, how can you not unless you are literally living in a cave, in Siberia, with a bag over your head. And even then, I bet you have your smartphone with you so really DO know!

In case you haven’t guessed, I LOVE the Olympics. Like, goosebumps and crying and jumping up and down screaming. And that’s just for the opening ceremonies.  I get really crazy once the event-action starts. I marvel at the athletic talent. I am humbled by the immense level of effort and hard work each athlete has given to their sport, their passion. I am brought to a raw level of inspiration. They make me want to be better.

I wish I could have been an Olympian. I joke that I had all three of my children in Olympic years and expected them all to make it to the Olympic. No pressure but the challenge is out there for them, should they choose to make my dream come true.

Even though I have favorite events like swimming, gymnastics and the sprinting in track and field, I really love it all.  But one thing I’m kind of wishing will happen, outside of the USA doing well overall, is that I really hope that Ryan Lochte pulls off an upset against Phelps. I wish Michael Phelps all the luck in the world. He is amazing, there is not doubt. But, there’s a little part of me that wants Ryan to sneak in there and grab his moment against the best.

Here is a great video of great Olympic moments of past games.

Let the Games Begin!!!  Go USA!!

About Ginger Calem

I never met a notebook I didn't want to buy. Pens speak to me. Sticky notes are dear to my heart. Some of my best friends are those clambering in my head trying to get onto the page. And when they have their stories told, and I release them to the world, I hope they'll be your friends too.

Posted on July 27, 2012, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 17 Comments.

  1. I am with you Ginger. LOVE the Olympics. There is something inspiring and pure about it and seeing athletes challenge themselves and accomplish incredible feats is amazing. I plan to be glued to the TV must till it’s over!
    GREAT video!

  2. Luv this video, Ginger! I go crazy over the Olympics, too. Gymnastics and swimming, yep! And I adore those sprinters. What legs! And isn’t great to see all the different countries in the opening ceremonies? Can’t wait!

  3. August McLaughlin

    I love the stories behind Olympians. So inspiring! Hope your Lotche wish come true. 🙂 Keep us posted??

  4. We are excited here as well. It is such an inspiration to watch those athletes compete!

  5. Ginger, I love the Olympics too… and what an emotional roller coaster it is. Seeing the winners exel, but then suffering the agony of the defeat with the losers. And what really inspires me is seeing the losers who really know how to lose well, who even though it took them years to get there and all the work and effort, to be a gracious loser for me, is just as emotional if not more, than seeing a gracious winner. Loved the video, especially that it features music from one of my favorite movies, “The Last of the Mohicans.”

  6. Karen McFarland

    I bet you’d love the Olympics. You are such an athletic person so you appreciate what those Olympiads go through and how they push their bodies to their full potential. I enjoy watching them too. And as you know, I like the special Olympics as I blogged about them a month ago. It’s amazing the strength and determination those athletes have. Well, I’m always in awe of active people. I hope you’re having a wonderful vacation Ginger! 🙂

    • I am having a great time, thanks! And you’re right, I cry at all sorts of Olympics. I boo-hoo at the special Olympics as much as the ‘main’ ones. It’s all so overwhelmingly inspiring.

  7. I love sculling and shotput. My son did shotput in high school and I fell in love with the sport. I was stunned to find coverage of it on NBC. It’s rare. I’m hoping they cover it for the games, too. I found this great vid of a woman shotputter. Jillian is such a delight.

  8. oh please, you think you’re a cryer? I started crying watching the preliminary coverage on the news report last night. 😉

  9. I’m always inspired by the hours and dedication it takes to reach this level of ability. It’s a reminder to me to always keep reaching for the next level in my writing.

  10. lynettemburrows

    The Olympic athletes leave me speechless at their dedication to their dreams. In my opinion they all deserve gold medals! (And you aren’t the only one who cries and cheers from their living room)

  1. Pingback: Do Olympians have FUN? Apparently they do!! « Ginger Calem

Leave a Reply

