WritersButt Wednesday – Back in Action!

Well, Hello, Hello, Hello, my WritersButt Besties!

I want to know how you all are doing? Who’s been drinking their 100oz of water a day?  Who’s been grilling up a storm this summer – fueling your body with healthy food? Who’s been finding time daily to get in a little workout to fire up their metabolism and boost their creativity? Who’s been taking the time at the end of the day to list 3-5 things for which they are grateful? Who’s been getting enough sleep?

The paragraph above is your recipe for a healthy and fit self! Sure there are more components, but these are your core basics. Everybody can do this. We can all be hydrated, fueled healthfully, active, rested and grateful.

Excuses are what you are choosing to do to ensure that you do not attain your goals.

Before I get to some recipes for you, I’d like to update you on Jennifer’s journey. She has hit some roadblocks and been knocked off course a bit, but she is not giving up! I’d love if you’d head over to her blog and give her some support as she gets determined to stand back up and forge ahead.

When we got home from TN, there was nothing to eat in our house. I mean, of course not. We’d been gone for weeks. On one of the first few nights we were home, I ran to the store to get a rotisserie turkey breast and a large salad. My daughter begged me to make my ‘lemon-spinach’ so I put that on the list. I was so scatter-brained trying to assimilate back into home-life that I got home without two things. The turkey breast and lettuce. Yes, just the two main things. My husband offered to run back to the store for me. I could have run back to the store myself, but I didn’t want to. I thought I could punt and make it work.

Now, I know a lot of people, when faced with a night where they don’t want to cook or missing key ingredients, will immediately default to unhealthy choices they can find in their pantry or freezer.  I had all the fixings for the wilted lemon-garlic spinach, so I was good there. I also had a ton of hard-boiled eggs left from our car trip home.  So, I whipped up some egg-salad and made the spinach. I did have bread for whoever wanted that. I didn’t. This is what I did.

It was SO good. In fact, when my daughter saw my plate, she asked if I’d make the same thing for her.  This couldn’t have been simpler!

Lemon-Garlic Spinach:

Huge box of fresh triple-washed spinach from produce section

1-2 lemons – zest and juice

2-3 cloves of garlic – thinly sliced

Bonus: sprinkle of freshly ground nutmeg

In very large skillet or sauce pot:

Sauté garlic slivers in extra virgin olive oil until golden

Add in zest of lemons

Pile in all your spinach (it will be overflowing!) Start turning with tongs.

Add juice of lemons

Just turn spinach until it just starts to wilt. Take off heat.

Another thing I’ve experimented with this summer is homemade Pico de Gallo. It’s a condiment that is PACKED with flavor and you can give it as much kick as you can handle. If you’ve never tried to make your own pico, I encourage you to try because you can put in exactly what you like. For instance, I’m not a fan of raw onions. All store-bought pico comes with raw onions.

Every summer in TN, I drive into town on Saturday to go to the local farmer’s market. This is a tiny-little market in the center of town in Dandridge, TN. What was fun is that this one farm has gotten to know me and looks forward to when I start showing up on Saturdays. This year, when I said I was about to drive home, the mom came out from behind the table and give me a huge hug and said she’d miss me until next summer. How cute is that? I adore small towns!

Why am I telling you this? Well, because it’s heartwarming for one, and, if you can get to a farmers’ market, do it — especially if you’re going to make an awesome pico de gallo!!  🙂

Some things I have used in my versions over the summer: various peppers from the farmers market, tomatoes (again from farmers market), cucumber, bell peppers, garlic, mango, apples …

Here’s a version we had last night with our eggs.

In our area of Texas, we’re in the Hatch-Pepper season. It runs for a few weeks and our local grocery store sells them raw and also slow-roasts them and packages them that way. For the above pico de gallo, we used a package of hot roasted hatch peppers, a large tomato (removing seeds and juice so it won’t be too watery), some sautéed onions, and apples. Seasoned with splash of vinegar, kosher salt, pepper and a bit of chili powder.  Seriously YUM! It can be used on eggs, on burgers, chicken, steak … anything. Or even with tortilla or pita chips if that’s your fancy. ~wink~

I have another recipe for you but I’m going to save it for next week. It was unbelievably good. Now aren’t you already excited for newt WritersButt Wednesday?

Finally, I’m going to give you a little workout challenge. We did this in our gym last week and I thought it would be a great short WritersButt workout for you guys. I’m going to give you the version we did at CrossFit Georgetown and I’ll give you a scaled version as well.

CFG Version:

AMRAP (As Many Rounds As Possible) in 12 minutes of:

50 double-unders – OR 150 single jumps

7 Burpees

*note: You add 7 burpees each round. So round one you’ll do 7 burpees, round two, 14, round three – 21 etc.

Your ‘score’ is how many burpees you can get done.

WritersButt Version:

AMRAP in 10 minutes of:

75 jump ropes (if you don’t have jump rope do 35 jump-jacks)

5 push ups

*You will add 5 push-ups each round.

Questions? I’d LOVE it if you tried one of these and let me know how you did. How many burpees or how many pushups did you manage to fit into that 12 or 10 minute time cap?

Have a great week!

About Ginger Calem

I never met a notebook I didn't want to buy. Pens speak to me. Sticky notes are dear to my heart. Some of my best friends are those clambering in my head trying to get onto the page. And when they have their stories told, and I release them to the world, I hope they'll be your friends too.

Posted on August 29, 2012, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 17 Comments.

  1. Thanks for admitting you left the grocery store without the items you went there to get. I’ve done that so many times, I’ve lost count. Like you, I would NOT have gone back, so good job “making it work.” (Deliberate Project Runway reference?) Okay, I’m off to do your ten-minute WB challenge. Welcome Back, Ginger!

    • I probably shouldn’t admit this but our grocery story is 1 mile from our house. BUT — it was the principal, right! I forget the stuff I needed, now I had the challenge of “making it work”.:)

      How did the challenge go? Please do tell!!!

  2. Ooh. Egg salad and spinach. Two of my favorite things! But I hate hot peppers. Guess I wouldn’t do well in your neck of the woods.

  3. Welcome back, Miss Ginger! I’m glad you had a lovely summer in Tennessee!

    I’ve been drinking my water, doing my weekly gym and zumba exercise, throw in a few bathroom squats and desk push-ups. Still wear the same jean size but at least it’s not growing.

    I’ll try the pico recipe. I’m not crazy about peppers but I think my hubby will love it!

    Patricia Rickrode
    w/a Jansen Schmidt

    • Patricia, you know I LOVE our comments. I’m thinking you need to amp it up, unless you feel 100% content where you are. In which case, continue to be the awesome you that you are! But if you want more, we need to kick it up with more weight and maybe something.

      Try to pico. Thanks for the welcome back.

  4. Yum. Thank you for the delicious recipes. The lemon-spinach sounds awesome. I’m curious about the egg-salad too 🙂

    • Hi, Reetta. The egg salad is total old-school. Eggs, mayo (full fat!!!) salt and pepper. Maybe a little garlic powder if you’re so inclined! Keep it simple, keep it yummy!

  5. I am saving the recipe for later- it sounds amazing!! I feel inspired to get back into my routine!

  6. I’m so excited you’re back! You keep me inspired for the day when I can get back into a full workout. (I recently had a never block in my lower back but it didn’t work, so we’re going for the nerve burn. I’m told it will give me a good year of relief. Cross your fingers for me!)

    It looked like your family had a fabulous summer at the lake! I’m definitely making this spinach. I wonder if it would work for kale, too? Kale’s such a bugger. I tried a new recipe that had you massage the kale with avocado to soften it up, that was pretty good.

    • Shannon, you’re one of those people that always make me smile. You just exude happy! I absolutely remember about your nerve block. I’m so bummed it didn’t work. SO sorry!! I know how you were counting on that. You may remember that my son (16) suffers from issues with a bulged/herniated disk so I empathize so completely! I do hope the nerve-burn will work. Truly. I will pray and keep you in my thoughts. If there is a single thing I can do or help with, please let me know.

      As far is the spinach vs. kale. Um, not sure. if you use the tender baby kale .. maybe. The tougher (waxi-ish) Kale, I wouldn’t think so. For that Kale I make kale chips. Let me know if you need a recipe for that. I’ll try the avocado massage. I sort of do that with olive oil before I roast it into ‘chips’.

  7. Welcome back. thanks for the recipes.

  8. I sleep three to five hours a night. That\’s it. All I need. Sometimes I literally go round the clock into the next and hit the gym that day. And I still have some of my best workouts. NOT a brag.
    Just . . . ”the way it is.”

  9. I’ll admit, it’s been hit or miss, but I’m starting to hit more than I miss. I’ve been getting more sleep (though probably still not enough) and making sure I drink enough water. Exercise–check. I’ve even lost some weight. I’m not down to my healthy weight yet, but I can finally see progress and it’s making me excited to keep going 🙂

  1. Pingback: A French Cat Burglar, Awesomeness, and an update « Alica McKenna Johnson

Leave a Reply

