Knit and Purl, how I missed you!

I love doing crafts. All sorts of crafts. I’ve made quilts, baskets, jewelry pouches, domino crosses, jewelry, stamped cards and gift bags, knitted countless scarves … you name it, I’ve probably tried it. But in the last few years, I haven’t done a thing. Too busy growing our CrossFit gym, managing house and children, and writing.  I knew I missed it but I didn’t realize how much until Coleen Patrick write this fabulous blog about Chasing Inspiration with Scissors.

I got the bug to create something besides my stories. I wanted to do something with my hands besides lift weights and swing kettlebells. Of course I’ll still do those things too, but I needed to add in a little something else. That nugget of an idea settled into my brain, waiting for the right inspiration.

A few days ago, it came. The wonderfully talented Erica O’Rourke, who wrote the freaking amazing TORN TRILOGY, tweeted something about fingerless gloves.  I LOVE fingerless gloves. I bought a pair last year at Pikes Place Market in Seattle. A decadent cashmere pair adorned with antique buttons that I swoon over every time I slip them on.

I tweeted Erica back asking if they were truly as easy to knit as promised. She sent a tweet with a link to a pattern and said, “Easy-peasy lemon-squeezy.” Yes, she really said that. I told you she was awesome.

Later that same day, I miraculously found myself at Hobby Lobby looking at yarns and needles. The patterns called for different type of needle from what I already owned and I did have to totally guess on the size. More on this fact later. Ahem!

After a little more searching for a pattern and instructions I thought I could handle, I casted on with my bad self. Sure the pattern I found called for size 9 needles and I had bought size 6. I mean, it’d all work out right?  Oh, and I should mention this was the first time I’d ever followed a knitting pattern, or sort of followed.

First thing I discovered was it had been WAY too long since I’d knitted since I now needed cheater-reader glasses. I had to keep searching youtube for videos for techniques I’d forgotten. YouTube, I owe you so much!  I followed the instructions for knits and purls. I counted rows with hash-tags on my grocery list. I was all Zen with my knitting self.

Let me show you my results.

Here you’ll see my cute “little” needles. One glove is finished there on the right and the other is ready to be seam-stitched. There’s a great tutorial video on how to do that on youtube, among other things. You might be thinking, ‘Gosh, Ginger, those look sort of small. Maybe it’s just the camera angle?’

Well, no, you’d be right. There are just a teensy-tiny-bit on the smallish size. But I think I can still make this work.

How cute is this coaster, for instance? (Note: Ginger is horrified at scratches in coffee table? Will be interrogating the natives after school.)

Or, maybe daughter would like her doll to stay warm while she’s off tackling 6th grade without her?

No matter, aren’t they just too adorable?

Hey, I bet these would be in hot demand in Lilliput Village. This is like, a very hard to find item. I have solved problems!

Ok, so I’m ready to start on pair number two. I do have bigger needles and another pattern to try, just to keep things interesting.

Do any of you craft? Have some ‘misses’ that are actually wonderful like my Lilliput Fingerless Gloves to tell me about? Please let me know all about it in the comments.

 

About Ginger Calem

I never met a notebook I didn't want to buy. Pens speak to me. Sticky notes are dear to my heart. Some of my best friends are those clambering in my head trying to get onto the page. And when they have their stories told, and I release them to the world, I hope they'll be your friends too.

Posted on September 24, 2012, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 14 Comments.

  1. adorable they are, Ginger. I don’t know where my knitting stuff is – and I used to be a pro.

    • Well find those suckers and get back to it. It really felt wonderful. In fact, a little dangerous as now I want to start my second pair but I won’t let myself until I’ve put in my word count. Knitting as Reward!!

  2. Ah yes, knitting. Wow, it’s been a awhile since I’ve knitted too. Those are so cute Ginger. I so love U-tube videos. What did we do before them? That’s cool that you could pick up the craft so quickly. Something else to keep you out of trouble! LOL! I see pot holders in your future! 🙂

    • I’m so happy I remembered and that, yes, YouTube was there to fill in the gaps of what I needed refreshing. William has done household fix-it problems using YouTube. We’d be lost without it.

  3. I love crafting! I do cross-stitch and make scrapbooks and do lots of goofy stuff with odds and ends Christmas decorations. You little fingerless gloves are great! So what if you can’t wear them, I have some awesome jeans that I can’t wear either. They look good in the drawer though!

    Patricia Rickrode
    w/a Jansen Schmidt

    • Patricia, as usual, you have cracked me up with the jeans comment. Priceless. Delaney managed to shove her hands in them when she got home from school. Now Gia the schnauzer is upset because I promised them to her. 😉

  4. They are adorable and I’m so impressed by those neat rows, stitches? I don’t know the right way to describe knitting! Either way it’s great–and how cute does that American Girl doll look? 🙂

    • Thanks! I was happy my rows turned out straight as well. Years ago, when my kids were little, I knitted the boys Harry Potter Griffondor scarves in gold and maroon stripes. They looked legit, I swear!! I’m happy to be crafting again. Thanks for the inspiration.

  5. NICE!!! I’m on your list for a pair…..oh yeah baby…..I’ll take my birthday gift early please 🙂 I miss knitting mostly because the feel of my wooden knitting needles gave me comfort and made me feel warm. I’ve never tackled a knitting pattern and not sure I’m ready to start. When I have crafting time, I would probable focus more on my digital scrapbooking as I’m desperate to finish a couple baby books for my poor children who have nearly nothing of the like.

    • Good to know you’d like a pair. 😉 Knitting is a warm and fuzzy craft, figuratively and literally. It’s a comfort craft. Unless you’re William and your hands curl up into balls of painful cramps. Such a wimp! ha!

  6. Ginger, those are so cute. I have always enjoyed knitting and often do as I’m trying to figure out the next twist in a story line. I start knitting socks in January and by November all my Christmas knitting is done. 🙂 I’m not just about chainsaws. tee hee

  7. They are so cute! I just knitted my first pair of socks- they’re a bit big, but I’m working on a second pair and I think these ones will be perfect

  1. Pingback: Fist-Bumps for Everyone! « Ginger Calem

Leave a Reply

