Fist-Bumps for Everyone!

Is it Wednesday again? How the days fly by. I’m swamped under a self-imposed deadline but I couldn’t let Wednesday zip by without offering you a WritersButt post. I know how y’all are waiting, on the edge of your seat, clutching your water bottles in excitement for what I will offer you.

Okay, whatever.

Today I’d like for everyone to toot his or her own horn. I know you expect me to tell you to do this, don’t do that, eat this, avoid that … drink your water, eat fat, and do your potty squats! Today is your chance to tell me what you are doing about which you feel AWESOME.

This was prompted by a recent trip to my grocery store. I live in a pretty small town. I run into people I know every single time I go to the store. More often than not, the person will immediately start to justify the food in their cart.

“This is for the kids.” “It’s my wife’s birthday.” “I’m bad, I know.” “It’s my cheat day (week!)”

This sort of thing happens on Facebook and Twitter too. At one point there was the Twitter hashtag #donttellginger.  Cracked me up! And yet, I don’t feel anyone needs to justify any of their choices to me. If they feel justified in their actions, I’m cool with that. It’s yourself to whom you must answer, right? Not me? As I often say to my clients, “You’re only cheating yourself.”

Now, for all those things you think you’re doing ‘bad’ or ‘wrong’, I know you’re all doing a whole lot right in your life. I know this because I know you’re awesome!

So, tell me … what have you done in the last week, or even today that you feel good about.  It can be WritersButt related; did your potty squats all day, did a mini-workout with burpees and lunges, drank your 100 oz of water. Stayed OFF THE SCALE.  Let’s celebrate!  Or maybe you hit your word count, finally returned to your manuscript and just wrote something, did a random act of kindness, rediscovered a craft … anything that made you feel good and not that you were failing!

I want to cheer for you. I’m here waiting to give you a fist-bump, so lay it on me. Brag on yourself. You deserve it!

~*~

And now, I give you a recipe for Southwestern Frittata.  I made this last night and it was devoured!  So yummilicious.

INGREDIENTS

         1 tablespoon coconut oil

         1/4 cup yellow onion, finely diced (I had about ½ cup)

         1 small jalapeno, seeds removed and minced

         2 garlic cloves, minced  (I used 4)

         1 cup sweet potato, peeled and grated (I had more)

         1 pound grass fed ground beef (or any ground meet of your choice)

         1 tablespoons chili powder

         1 teaspoon ground cumin

         1/2 cup salsa verde

         12 eggs

Sea Salt and cracked pepper to taste

INSTRUCTIONS

Preheat oven to 350. In a large saute pan, saute the onions and minced jalapeno in the coconut oil over medium heat until the onions are translucent.

Add the ground beef and cook just until it starts to brown and add the grated sweet potato and garlic.

Cook until the beef is completely browned and the sweet potato is soft. Add the chili powder, cumin, and salsa, stir and cook until heated through. Taste and season with a little sea salt if desired.

Transfer the meat mixture to a 11×7 glass baking dish and spread the meat mixture evenly over the bottom of the pan.

In a large mixing bowl, beat together the 12 eggs add pour over the meat mixture in the baking dish.

Cover tightly with aluminum foil and bake for 30 minutes. Uncover and bake for an additional 10-15 minutes or until the eggs are set in the middle when you jiggle the pan.

DIG IN and LOVE!!  Have a great week.

About Ginger Calem

I never met a notebook I didn't want to buy. Pens speak to me. Sticky notes are dear to my heart. Some of my best friends are those clambering in my head trying to get onto the page. And when they have their stories told, and I release them to the world, I hope they'll be your friends too.

Posted on September 26, 2012, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 16 Comments.

  1. That frittata sounds delicious. I fill my meat loafs with grated sweet potatoes and zucchini, so this sounds like something we’d enjoy too.

    Can I brag about my husband a little? For two weeks now, he’s been drinking his 8+ cups of water a day. You have no idea how huge a step this is. This man hates drinking “just water.” In case you couldn’t tell, I’m more than a little proud of the change he’s making and how well he’s sticking to it so far.

    • Marcy, of course you can brag on your husband. I’m fist-bumping you both! That is fantastic. I know lots of people who really resist drinking water. We are conditioned to want strong flavoring. He’s doing himself such a huge favor for his health. Super awesome!!! I’m going to start adding the sweet potato and I’ll try zucchini to my meatloafs too. I don’t know why I haven’t done it before. Thanks!

  2. I’m totally going to make that frittata. YUM!

    What have I done in the last week…hmmm.. I think my biggest accomplishment has been staying on my eating plan of paleo/primal and making good choices DESPITE the fact that I feel as if I’ve been hit by a truck and had a ladie’s weekend. Totally off the grain train.

    • Wow, Elena, You stayed on course with being sick AND through a girls-weekend. I’m seriously impressed. When you see me in Surrey, which to me a like a girls’ weekend on steroids, I won’t be 100% diligent. Sure, I’ll still be mindful, but I’ll indulge in a thing or two. Huge fist-bump to you!!

  3. Hey, Ginger! I’m feeling fist-bump worthy, since I managed to get through two weeks of a houseguest, eating out, eating poorly, and somehow didn’t gain a pound! But even more than that, since she left early Monday, I’ve gotten on the elliptical very first thing in the morning, right out of bed. Not for very long – this is for habit-building right now – but three days in a row I’ve done it, with more to come. Hurray!

    • Way to go, Jennifer! Fist-Bump!! Habit-building is so vital so good for you for recognizing it for what it is. It’s a solid groundwork for continued success. I’m cheering for you!

  4. Looks good to me. I’m going to have to try it.

  5. OMG, this looks so delish, Ginger! I don’t eat beef, but I’m sure ground free-range chicken would substitute just fine 🙂

    • Exactly right, Debra. I sub ground turkey or chicken for beef in my recipes. I should add this was good as leftovers too. There wasn’t much left but enough for my son to scarf down when he got home from school the next day. 🙂

  6. Shannon Esposito

    That’s such a cute picture of you! I think it should be your profile pic, shows your personality. 🙂
    Well, I had my nerve burning surgery on the left side of my back last Wed. and have to go for the right side next Wed. Frustrating. So I haven’t been able to do much. But, I have been drinking my lemon water and getting in the pool everyday. Every little bit helps, I guess.

    • Aw, thanks, Shannon. I searched for a ‘fist-bump’ image and just got worried that I’d accidentally use one that was copyrighted or whatever. Finally, I just pulled out my ponytail and took a picture of myself. Ha! Gosh, I’m so bummed you are still dealing with all this back stuff. Such a drag. I really hope the nerve-burning (which sounds awful!) works. Yes, everything helps and you get fist-bumps for the water and the pool and I’m sure for a whole lot of other stuff that have nothing to do with writersbutt. 🙂

  7. In the past week I went to Curves five times, did one Zumba session, and walked four miles at a nearby park. I hate Texas’ summer heat, Ginger, and walked far less than normal for the past three months, but I didn’t gain weight. (I also didn’t lose, but that’s okay as summer is my danger zone.) My new goal is to be as consistent with writing as I am with exercise. Oh, did I tell you I’ve made your pulled chicken three times since you posted the recipe? I’ll try the frittata, too.

  8. So here I am having a little nap when I’m supposed to be working, wake up, click on your blog and voila! Dinner taken care of! Maybe I’ll go to Trader Joes and get some Frittata ingredients instead of working.

    • Yay!!! Nothing quite better than a nap and a frittata! 😉 Thanks for stopping by my little slice of the blogging world. I’m jealous you have a Trader Joes close. We are getting one in Austin very soon. They have one of my favorite wines. Fat Cat (cabernet) by Black Mountain Vineyards. Not pricey but quite yummy!

Leave a Reply

