WritersButt Wednesday – Courage to be a doofus

What we’re going to do for this WritersButt Wednesday is pretend that it’s not Thursday and it’s indeed still yesterday, Wednesday. Look how fast we gained a whole day.  We’re like, our own time-turners!

I’m functioning on obscenely little sleep today.  And you know how I go on and on about how everyone needs their sleep. Last night, I just couldn’t turn off my brain or settle my thoughts. I leave next week for the Surrey International Writers’ Conference and all the little and big details are bouncing around in my noggin. Mainly this is preparing my WritersButt workshop that I’ll be giving next Friday morning with Linda Gerber. I’m so excited and sure, a little anxious as well.  Do any of you like that feeling of anxious excitement? Nothing akin to crippled nerves but that sort of swirling buzz that keeps you on your toes?  I love it.

Courage is not the absence of fear, but rather the judgment that something else is more important than fear.  ~ Ambrose Redmoon

I love this quote. There is a part of me that fears I’ll ‘mess up’ in some way, forget some vital piece of information or not know the answer to a question. I have courage though because doing well and being myself is far more important than the fear of being a doofus. I’m human and I’m sure if I stumble, I’ll laugh at myself and carry on.

That’s how I want you all to think about this WritersButt journey. You don’t have to be perfect in your nutrition. You don’t have to train like an Olympian.  I don’t want you to fear failure in this. I want the goal of better health and fitness and a more creative mind to be so important that it gives you courage to try every day.

I’m creating a handout for the workshop where I’m listing a lot of mini-workouts anyone can do at home and will all last between 5-15 minutes. I tested one of them the other day because I like to practice what I preach. It was a great little workout. I took me about 15 minutes, but I will admit to amp’ing it up a bit, so I suspect most anyone can do this is less than 15.  Wanna try?  Here ya go.

Complete 3 rounds of:

10 push ups (you can scale them!)

20 sit ups (full range – no ‘crunches’)

25 squats (just like the potty squats)

20 walking lunges (each step counts as one)

80 jumping jacks

60 second wall sit/squat

I’m challenging you to try it. If you feel it’s too much, cut the numbers in half. Just TRY it!

Now, I have an absolutely fantastic chili recipe to give you today. It’s still very warm here in central Texas. Yesterday it hit 90 degrees. But historically, we experience one little cold snap in October where we have temperatures in the 60’s for a couple days. It never fails. That happened last weekend. I immediately wanted to stay in my cozy home, have a pot of chili on the stove and snuggle in. So that’s about what I did.  I searched online for a new chili recipe that didn’t use beans but wasn’t all meat as well. I wanted to get some veggies in there. I found a great one. I’ll post the recipe and note the changes in red that I did for us.

Paleo Chili recipe (recipe from this site)

Ingredients:

1 1/2 lbs. grass fed lean ground beef cooked up with 2 chopped red onions (I used 2 lbs and use any ground meat you like)

2 Tbsp. of Chili seasoning

2 Tbsp. of Cumin

3C chopped butternut squash

3C chopped zucchini

A huge pile of baby portabellas that I sautéed separately

2 15oz. cans organic garlic roasted diced tomatoes

2 6oz. cans organic tomato paste  (I used only 1)

4 chopped jalapeño  (I used 3 and removed seeds and ribs)

I also splashed in some stock – match it to your meat, so beef, chicken, etc)

Here is a video of how to prepare it. I want to note that I did not use my crock pot. I wanted to but I made a ton and knew it wouldn’t fit. So, I used a huge soup pot and put it on low for a couple hours. The house smelled divine.

I made cornbread for the kids and I also made the best BEST batch of sweet potato chips ever.

This is so great on a cold winter night.

I leave for the PNW next Wednesday. (Unless I change my ticket – don’t see honey!) So I will try to have a post up early about how to eat healthy at a conference and still allow yourself some well-earned indulgences.

Have a great week.

About Ginger Calem

I never met a notebook I didn't want to buy. Pens speak to me. Sticky notes are dear to my heart. Some of my best friends are those clambering in my head trying to get onto the page. And when they have their stories told, and I release them to the world, I hope they'll be your friends too.

Posted on October 11, 2012, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 15 Comments.

  1. Sounds yummy! I think I’ll give this one a try next time we have a cold(er) snap.

  2. S’up, Ginger. We get organic stewed tomatoes and tomato paste by Muir Glenn too. They make great stuff. I like your compact exercise routine. Nothing like creating organized systems for working out. They can be very effective. Currently i am dealing with a nagging case of tendonitis in both elbows. Too much shadow boxing (hyperextending the elbow joint) combined with four sets of deep push ups on the handlebars alternated with four sets on the upright bench. Partially my stubborn nature to blame. I ignored the clicking in my elbow along with the burning pain while doing the pushups and kept pushing myself — now I am paying the price. It’s always something.

    • Hey Roy! Long time no chat. I do love these sort of bodyweight (or even with at home simple weight) workouts that I can throw into my day if I don’t have time to go to the gym. As soon as I get to the gym, since it’s my ‘office’, I start to putter and such, so if I’m really in a hurry, I do something like this at home.. Bad luck with the elbows. You are always overdoing!! Tsk Tsk. Hope they heel fast and you are back in the game. As always, I appreciate your input.

  3. It all looks lovely, Ginger and you’re gonna rock the Surrey conference!!

    I’ve been doing Crossfit for two weeks and have already lost 2 pounds. See what happens when I get off my ass? LOL. We’re still flailing across the blacktop, but I do rock at kettlebells and the rowing machine. Which means I’m always happy to do those, even though my squats are still…remedial. 🙂

    • Thanks, Jenny. Oh-my-gosh, you are doing AWESOME. And I say that not about the 2 lbs, (which is great because you are happy about it), but because you are still getting at it and you are celebrating your strengths. You and me need to go head-to-head on Kettlebells, girl. I can rock a KB, let me tell you! 🙂 Squats will get there. They are the bomb-diggety when you can get the heavy. I’ll just say, high and tight, if you know what I mean! 😉

  4. I am so going to your session. Either that, or I’ll interrupt it with my chai delivery service. 😉

    Question…so, are “full sit ups” allowed now? Weren’t we told to do squats years ago?

    • Leanne, you’re awesome. Listen, I know I’m up against some serious heavy-hitters, so no pressure to attend WB. But if you don’t, I’ll take a coffee – espresso or a cappuccino. hahahahaha

      To your question, yes, full sit-ups. And can I ask you a favor? Will you ask this in the workshop? I know a lot of people ask about this and I’d love to explain why. It’s because ‘crunches’ work your upper-abs but totally ignore your lower abs. Basically, you are not working your entire abdominal wall.

      Also, squats are the bomb. I’d love for you to ask about this as well if I forget to explain it. Suffice it to say that when doctors say ‘you really shouldn’t ‘squat’ … it’s bad for (insert whatever) …” My question would be … “How do you expect your patients to get off the toilet?” One of the parameters to be able to avoid ‘assisted living’ as an elderly person is if you can get out of a chair of off the toilet. That is a squat. So yes, everyone should be squatting.

      SO looking forward to meeting you in person. Only 1 week!

  5. I love the title of today’s blog. I’m Writig it down And sticking it on my desk. Maybe my forehead. 😉

  6. this sounds delish…OMG I can’t wait to try it. I have to say that paleo is getting a bit tiresome. I like fruit but i’m eating too much of it to lose the weight I want to lose. but this would give flavor and warmth. we had oru first cold snap last night and it went to 28F…with snow. so i’m making chili even though it’s going to be about 60 this weekend.

  7. That sounds delish! As soon as I’m in my own place with my own kitchen, I’m going to try it. Congrats on the conference presentation! That is so exciting. I wish I was going. I hope you take lots of pictures to share. 🙂

  8. You’re going to do an awesome job at the conference. I wish I could be there to welcome you to Canada, but I’m on the other side of the country 😦

    And thanks for the answers to Leanne’s questions about about the full sit ups. I was wondering a similar thing. Also good to know that all the squats I’ve been doing will help keep me in my own home longer 😀

    P.S. I’m down another 3 pounds. Super, super excited!

  9. Yummy! I think I might could get the hubs to eat this one. He’s not into new things, but I’m gonna give it a try.

    Patricia Rickrode
    w/a Jansen Schmidt

Leave a Reply

