WritersButt Wednesday – “Weight-Loss Soda” Crazy Talk!!

You’re in for an extra treat today folks. You see, this was going to be a short WritersButt Wednesday post. I was going to give you an easy and delicious recipe and send you on your way. But then, my good friend of awesomeness, Myndi Shafer, shares a link on Facebook that, well, let’s just say there was quick contact with my face and my palms.

That’s just crazy talk!

Hang on while I pull out my soapbox. It’ll just be a sec … need the big-daddy-box for this one.  Portable one (pull) not nearly (push) sturdy (shove) enough (kicks into place and jumps up) for what I have to say.

Whew, I’m ready.

Holy mother of all that is merciful and ridiculous! Are you kidding me? No, of course they aren’t kidding. Why? Because Pepsi is smart and opportunistic.  They know people are desperate for results and yet not quite desperate enough to make some sacrifices. They absolutely know people want to drink their beloved crap in a can soda. And they also know that people want easy. They want the magic pill or in this case ‘ingredient’. Pepsi knows they will make money.

I think it’s safe to say we all know soda is unhealthy. But now, well maybe, we can drink ‘this’ soda and lose some weight and isn’t losing weight healthy?

NO, it isn’t. Eating clean, natural food is healthy. Moving your body and breaking a sweat is healthy. Drinking water is healthy. Consuming a drink laden with chemicals and high fructose corn syrup and yes, even aspartame (etc) in diet sodas, is NOT HEALTHY, ever. It’s not that you can’t ever drink a soda.  Just know that it’s not a healthy drink. Keep it real.

A sheep in wolf’s clothing

Ok, let’s see what this Pepsi Special claims to do from this Yahoo Health article.

“Simply called Pepsi Special, the caffeinated soft drink has the added ingredient dextrin, a natural water-soluble dietary fiber derived from potatoes. … Pepsi claims that dextrin slows the absorption of fat in the body by binding with it and eliminating it as waste, not reserving it as empty calories.”

(see Ginger’s eye twitching)

And then the article says, “Japanese commercials touting the product’s effectiveness for weight loss even go as far as to ask, “Why choose between a hamburger and a slice of pizza? If you choose Pepsi Special, you can have both!”

(see Ginger pinching bridge of nose)

You’ll have to read the entire article but here are a few more zingers (all from same source) that stood out to me:

chances are your stools won’t be [solid] if you overindulge

destroyed a substantial amount of valuable nutrients

gave junk-food junkies more than they bargained for in terms of eliminating the additive

frequent diarrhea, gas, and bloating—would be overwhelming

“Pepsi Poop.”  

Who doesn’t want to get in on this deal? Woo … sounds awesome. Not.

I am relieved that the article does indeed warn readers that this might not be the best option for weight loss. They state,

“…still contains high levels of sugar in the form of high fructose corn syrup”

And finally say,

“And believe it or not, the best method to successful weight loss remains diet and exercise, not by gulping a popular soft drink with a secret ingredient.”

The voice of reason!

Listen, I know there are a lot of people who love their soda. It’s a tough drink to give up. I don’t have a problem if people want to drink their soda, knowing it’s not healthy. It’s their choice.  What kills me is someone drinking this Pepsi Special thinking that it’s a healthy weight loss choice. It isn’t. It’s asinine.

It reminds me of those shape/fit shoes. If you like the look of those shoes, wear them. But please don’t believe they are going to give you a rear-end like Kim Kardashian “…without ever setting foot in a gym.” That’s not logical and it’s not true.

So many people go from one gimmick, program, ‘diet’ after another and they don’t work because they are not lifestyles, they are products. Shakes and pills and eating only cabbage and tomatoes are not lifestyles. But people will continue to keep searching for the ‘secret’ when the answer is not a secret at all.

Eat real food that is not processed. Drink tons of water. Be active. Sleep. Be grateful.

The good news is that if you do those 5 things above, even just 80% of the time, giving you that 20% for your treats and indulgences, you will still be healthy and fit.

I’m going to give you all a recipe for a healthy and delicious dinner. Then I’ll need some help schlepping this soapbox out of the way. ~huge grin~

Recently, that same Myndi Shafer who launched me into this rant, (thanks, Myndi, I feel much better now) blogged about Happy Hausfrau: Easy Peasy ‘Italian’ Chicken and Veggies. I thought it looked fabulous and easy, so I made it, tweaking it a little for our needs and tastes.

Ginger’s version

2 packages of all natural, hormone-free chicken breast (at least 8 breasts)

Sweet potato

Parsnips

Brussel Sprouts

a poblano pepper

Seasoned everything with olive oil, kosher salt, pepper, dried minced garlic, smoked paprika, chili powder.

Chicken and veggies before their trip to the oven

Into the oven, covered, at 350 for an hour and found out it wasn’t even close to being cooked. Cranked up the temp to 425 and it finished within another 30 minutes. Maybe because I had a lot of chicken and my brussel sprouts were frozen, it took longer. Next time I’ll start with the oven hotter.

For a treat, I uncovered the dish and sprinkled shredded parmesan cheese over the top and let it bubble and brown under the broiler. Voila!

Who doesn’t want to dig into that?! YUM

My family gobbled this up. My husband may have drooled. Fortunately it was over his own plate.

You have to try this one. It’s so good and you can put in any veggies you like.

About Ginger Calem

I never met a notebook I didn't want to buy. Pens speak to me. Sticky notes are dear to my heart. Some of my best friends are those clambering in my head trying to get onto the page. And when they have their stories told, and I release them to the world, I hope they'll be your friends too.

Posted on November 14, 2012, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 20 Comments.

  1. All I can say about the new Pepsi is “wow.” I have to admire their market savvy, that drink is probably going to fly off the shelves, but I feel so sorry for the people who will believe it can actually help them lose weight.

  2. Amen, sister! There is no easy way, no magic pill. Women go on an average of 4 “diets” a year. It just doesn’t work. Losing weight is not discriminatory. Any diet will lose weight,(except this crap) eating less will lose weight, both fat and muscle. Ginger, you are always on target, eating right , making sure you are making healthy choices, and exercise is essential. I know I am older than you and I have thyroid issues, so my metabolism needs more of a boost. What I found is that by increasing my muscle and taking Leucine, it helps me retain and build muscle while I exercise and boosts my metabolism, so that I won’t gain the weight back. This is about lifestyle change. I love when you talk about not using the scales, I use my clothes and how they hang. I look forward to your blog!

    • Thanks, Cheryl. Yes, it does get harder as we age but you are also correct in that maintaining and working hard to increase our lean muscle mass is vital to not only weight/fat management, but overall strength and health. Our health should be a priority so that we can enjoy all those other priorities. 😉

  3. I hate it when companies try to multi market products in such a way to try and capture other markets with blatant lies. Healthy Pepsi…give me a break! We all need to be even more savy shoppers lest we fall for sly marketing.

    • Yep!! Exactly right. It makes me so darn mad when companies appeal to the ‘soft spot’ (no pun intended) just to make money, knowing FULL WELL that their product is unhealthy. It’s shameful!

  4. Right on, Ginger! It amazes me what people will believe. You can have a hamburger AND pizza? Come on, folks, where’s your common sense? About the same as my friend (and many others) who orders a Big Mac, fries, and a diet coke. Huh? I may binge on all sorts of things, but at least I admit I’m bingeing.

    • Another vote for common sense here! Right on. I love your last statement. You may indulge in some treats but you’re honest about it. We need to stop the mind games over food. When I have movie popcorn, I don’t try to convince myself it’s not that bad for me. I know it is. I know I’ll be all bloaty from the sodium. But I enjoy it the very occasional times we make it to the theatre. I own it. And I move on back to my normal discipline the next day. Boom!

  5. I have days when I am willing to give stuff up for my health and days when I’m not but I don;t pretend what I am eating is healthy or will magically make me lose weight. Ignorance is bliss- for the advertising companies!

  6. Shannon Esposito

    Good. Lord. Honestly, I don’t think the problem here is Pepsi, I think its people not being informed (or being in denial) about what is healthy. We need to clone people like you and put you in every grocery store in America. 🙂

    • Oh mercy, me as a clone. I can practically hear people screaming in revolt to this idea. hahaha!! But you are right in that people need to be informed. We need to be empowered with knowledge so we recognize this as absurd. At the same time, people tend to ‘hear’ what they want to hear. If something sounds easy, a short cut and tasty/lazy at the same time, they’re in. I know that sounds harsh. Marketers know this and do prey on the fact that they are selling the products by telling the consumers exactly what they want to hear.

  7. Another great post Ginger! I had to share it on my page and CFG’s page too of course. Can’t wait to try Myndi’s and your recipe 🙂

  8. Love the recipe and really…diet soda? Good grief. I LOVE your soap box! It makes me giggle. 😉

  9. Oh wow, Ginger, that’s just crazy. I hope people are smart and Pepsi’s new drink fails miserably in the market. Your chicken and veggies sound way better tasting!

  10. You are so awesome, Ginger! I saw this on FB when Myndi shared it and was like, ????? Like you said, face palm. People are going to believe what they want to believe and thinking a soda is healthy for them is just ridiculous. I’m with Sheila. I hope this fails miserably.

    That chicken dish, on the other hand, is going to be a huge hit at our house! Yum yummers.

    • Exactly what you said … “People are going to believe what they want to believe … ” Sadly, people truly want to believe that they can drink soda and have it be healthy and help them lose weight. It’s one of my biggest nutritional challenges with my clients. People are very attached to their soda.

Leave a Reply

