Thanksgiving or Grocery Derby??

I have just returned from my weekly grocery shopping and being that this is Thanksgiving week, I know it would be crowded. The experience reminded me of a blog I posted last year before Thanksgiving. I hope you’ll forgive me this ‘re-blog’ but it’s exactly what I’d want to say today. I’d love to hear about what you’re in charge of for the feast and recipes are always appreciated.

As a teaser – I’m going to post a family recipe on Wednesday that is not remotely WritersButt approved but I bet you’ll forgive me that too!

The bird my sister got for our 2012 Thanksgiving Feast

It’s Thanksgiving time … or is it more like grocery store roller-derby?

You know what I mean, that special time before a major holiday when the masses become possessed.  When there is no greater accomplishment than to out-maneuver that little old lady with the cane to fling yourself on that 24-pound butterball.  In fact, you suspect the cane is fake, brought along to increase her chances of hedging you out of the way of the canned cranberries.

I don’t know about you but I find shopping during this pre-holiday mania kind of fun.

What’s curious about this is that at any other time, if someone so much as pauses in front of the diced tomatoes I’m muttering, “Don’t you know what you want? Have a plan woman … let’s keep movin’!” And Holy-Heavens-to-Betsy on the person with bags and bags of frozen peas-n-carrots and they’re rummaging for more, their cart blocking my way to the brussel sprouts.  I just want to tell him, “Dude, I’m sure they’ll restock by spring and you have enough to last you at least that long.”

So you’d think that the aisles jammed with people and their holiday meal lists would annoy me.  Nope.  I get swept up in the fun of it.  I check out peoples’ carts.  When I see cans of sweet potatoes and bags of marshmallows, I know what they’re bringing.  A cart loaded with bags of breadcrumbs and cans of chicken stock – she’s bringing the stuffing!  And oh my goodness, the excitement over that prize turkey!

My grocery store (HEB) rocks! They hand out samples all over the place … even gourmet cheese and wine. (I KNOW! Awesome right?)

Funny thing is, I’ve never made a turkey.  Thanksgiving has never been at my house.  It’s always been at my mom’s, or my mother-in-law’s, my grandma’s and now my sister’s.  I don’t host Thanksgiving, so I’ve never baked the turkey.  But like most families, we all bring stuff.  I’m always in charge of the mashed potatoes.  I tried to get out of it this year but my husband said my brother-in-law, Bill, would have a heart attack if I didn’t do the mashed taters.  So, fine, 10lbs of potatoes and a pound of butter went into my cart.  (Yeah, they’re that good!) I’m also in charge of the veggie tray because I always want fresh vegetables to nosh on.  Update: In addition to mashed potatoes, this year I’m bringing a huge pan of roasted veggies (sweet potatoes, beets and parsnips) and my husband is making the family Snicker Salad. There will NOT be anything left in that bowl.

My sister-in-law is bringing the canned cranberry because that’s what she likes, still in the shape of the can so she can see the ridges.  My husband’s uncle bakes pies so there are always at least two of those. My mom always brings the ‘party potatoes’ and the booze. (Yay Mom!!) My mother-in-law makes the most amazing chicken tamale stuffing.  I’ve heard that she’s not bringing it this year but is instead bringing potato salad (because Lord knows we don’t have enough potatoes coming!) and chopped liver.  (Um, not sure what short of madness this is but I’m trying to have a Thankful heart and I will not pout over the missing tamale dressing, not too much.)

So dish! Are you in charge of a specific recipe every year? Do you host the meal at your home?  Share what YOU’RE bringing to the Thanksgiving Feast!

Also I’d like to wish for all of you the most Blessed Thanksgiving!  I have met so many new people lately on the net that I want you all to know that I have such a full and grateful heart! I wish for abundant joy and laughter for all of you!

{Group Hug}

~ginger~

 

About Ginger Calem

I never met a notebook I didn't want to buy. Pens speak to me. Sticky notes are dear to my heart. Some of my best friends are those clambering in my head trying to get onto the page. And when they have their stories told, and I release them to the world, I hope they'll be your friends too.

Posted on November 19, 2012, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 13 Comments.

  1. Happy Thanksgiving Ginger! 🙂 We usually have dinner at our house or my sister’s, but this year we’re going to Vegas. So untraditional!

  2. Ginger! My pre-Thanksgiving trip to the grocery store had roller derby elements, and I almost caused a pile up by stopping in the middle of an aisle to mutter, “Cranberries.” I shop for groceries every week, but the preparation for Thanksgiving is daunting, especially since it doesn’t absolve us from cooking every other night.

    • That was my only beef … that I had to buy my ‘normal’ groceries in addition to the Thanksgiving dishes. We went easy this week. Tacos for 2 nights and then an egg night, which I know will bring whining but they can stuff it!

      Cracking up at causing a ‘pile up’. Happy Thanksgiving, Pat.

  3. I like being in the U.S. for Thanksgiving so I can do it all over again! Thanksgiving in Canada is in October so I’ve had just enough time to recover from that turkey overload before I dive in once more. Happy Thanksgiving to you and yours.

  4. I made something wonderful for Thanksgiving – reservations. Yes, that’s right. We’re going out.

    It’s almost always just my husband and I for Thanksgiving so we alternate between eating in (i.e. cooking) and going out. This year is a going out year. It is so hard to cook a Thanksgiving feast for 2 and there’s always so much left over that a lot of it goes to waste.

    My husband loves Thanksgiving too, but he rarely helps with the preparation or clean-up so I’m stuck doing it all. Not that I mind, because I love him, but this year, someone else is doing the cooking and clean-up. I’m relaxing and enjoying.

    Your grocery store story sounds like me every single time I go to the store. Seems like there is always at least one lady with 16 kids swinging like monkeys from her cart and I keep meeting her in the aisles. Same lady, every time. And the old folks with the scooters – don’t even get me started. I can’t tell you how many times I have stopped and gotten something down from the top shelf for them, just so they’d mosey along out of my way. I don’t have time to wait for them to set the parking brake and squeeze out of the scooter, reach out of their elastic-waisted pants for 1 can of tomato soup, then shuffle back to the scooter and get moving. Time is money people. Let’s keep it moving along.

    I’m waiting for your Wednesday post! Ta ta til then.

    Patricia Rickrode
    w/a Jansen Schmidt

    • I am so grateful I didn’t have a sip of wine in my mouth when I read … “Seems like there is always at least one lady with 16 kids swinging like monkeys from her cart”

      You KILL me! We have those too, as well as the carts. Good Lord, the carts! I especially love when people walk back to their cars in the middle of the darn road. No way to drive around them. Honking might cause a pace-maker to combust and then I’d be a murderer.

      I hope you cherish your Thanksgiving meal out and savor the fact that you won’t have dishes.

  5. First…I suppose if I’d been on a bread and water diet for a few years, I might be able to work up some gratitude for chopped liver…but even then I kinda doubt it. (kind of feel the same way about beets…) Second, I hope the recipe you’re sharing is for Snicker salad…cause I’ve never heard of it-and it sounds good!

    I’ve made more turkeys than I could ever count (it’s my daughter’s first choice for a holiday meal-she hates ham). For the past couple of years we’ve gone to my sisters. I’ll be bringing pumpkin pies and sweet potatoes. If I can work up a little motivation, I’ll also be making homemade rolls, but I’m thinking that’s not really going to happen.

    On Friday or Saturday, I’ll be making an entire Thanksgiving feast…because (in my daughter’s opinion)…it’s not really Thanksgiving if you can’t have turkey and dressing for 3-4 days after, and so this is just the way it is in my house. If we celebrate somewhere else, we still celebrate here. Sure wish that the traditional meat for this holiday was chicken. 🙂

    Happy Thanksgiving, Ginger!!!

    • Ok, so I have to say that I did not like beets until maybe 1-2 years ago. That’s because they were cooked in a way that I would love them. Not sure how you’ve had them prepared BUT, if you’ve never tried them roasted with plenty of olive oil and seasoning … especially dried minced garlic … might be worth a re-try. How they are prepared makes all the difference. I still do not like pickled beets. Has to be fresh and roasted.

      I love that you re-do the feast over the weekend for the leftovers. My kind of thinking! I hope you have a wonderful Thanksgiving, Kristy. Thanks so much for commenting.

    • P.S. Forgot to say that YES the recipe I’ll share on Wed is indeed for Snicker Salad. So not WritersButt approved but hey, I’m feeling frisky!

  6. I’m not telling you what I’m doing on Thanksgiving because it will make me look like the total old fart that I am, but I had to tell you that I loved this post. Made me snicker and snort in several places (comments were pretty good too). Glad you re-posted it! Happy Thanksgiving, Ginger!!

    • Hhmm… trying to figure out what you could be doing to make you look like an old fart. Since most of the nation will be gorging on food and napping in a turkey coma, sounds like there will be lots of ‘old-fart-action’ going on. And that just sounds really gross. hahaha!!

      Glad you enjoyed it and I hope you have a lovely Thanksgiving as well.

Leave a Reply

