WritersButt Wednesday – Snicker Salad!

I almost forgot it was WritersButt Wednesday and I had promised you on Monday that I’d give you a yummy ‘treat’ recipe today that is not WritersButt approved. But, it’s the kick-off for our holiday season and I’m feeling all soft-hearted toward y’all.

So, this recipe is for Snicker Salad and yes, it does indeed have Snicker Bars in it. I know!! ย This is a family recipe from my Minnesota relatives. All of my extended family are from MN, because that is where both my parents are from. Fun fact, my parents grew up 50 miles apart but met and married (and had me) in Hawaii (Honolulu).

In the event you don’t know, when there is a family gathering in Minnesota, which could be anywhere from 2 people to in excess of a 100 over for coffee, the food will consist of ‘hot dishes’, ‘salads’ and ‘bars’. This is a known fact. Salads often don’t have a shred of lettuce in them. Often they are made up of pasta, other veggies or in the case of Snicker Salad, simple sweet pleasures!

Ingredients for Snicker Salad

True story — my husband started making my family’s Snicker Salad to bring into the office for the various pot-luck occasions. Soon, that’s all they requested of him. The bowl was scraped clean, usually with fingers and sometimes with tongues. It’s a sight, I tell you. ย Women counting only a few Weight Watcher points because, well โ€ฆ it’s a ‘salad’. Well over a decade ago, when we just had the one child, William (my man) brought Snicker Salad into the office. A young co-worker loved it so much she called to tell her mother she was bringing this new, delicious salad to their family Thanksgiving. When she told her mother what was in it, the mother’s response was, “Oh Honey, that’s all that poor guy had in his fridge.”

His young co-worker couldn’t convince her mother that William was married with a child. He had to be some young bachelor living off of snickers and ramen.

So, if you’d like to indulge in a fun new treat that I can assure you, will be met with much appreciation and awe, try this out. But, be warned, you may have to bring it to every last family gathering from now on!

Snicker Salad

6 Granny Smith apples

6 regular sized Snicker Bars

16 oz tub of cool whip (found in freezer section)

Chop up snickers and apples in small bite-sized chunks. Mix in bowl with entire tub of cool whip.

Done!

Enjoy the angels singing and the adoration of your family and friends.

Happy Thanksgiving!

About Ginger Calem

I never met a notebook I didn't want to buy. Pens speak to me. Sticky notes are dear to my heart. Some of my best friends are those clambering in my head trying to get onto the page. And when they have their stories told, and I release them to the world, I hope they'll be your friends too.

Posted on November 21, 2012, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 31 Comments.

  1. Oh, Ginger, you’ve done it this time! This may have to replace my standard apples-walnuts-celery Waldorf Salad. Or at least I’ll take it to Friday’s after-Thanksgiving gathering!

  2. Yeah, I’ll just bet the angels sing over this stuff! I sure wish you had WritersButt Mondays or Tuesdays , cause I SO would have bought the ingredients even as late as yesterday. But…if I make it over the weekend, I don’t have to worry about having to make enough for a crowd. Meaning more for me and my daughter. ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. I so want to talk my husband into picking these ingredients up for me when he treks out to pick up our pizza. Yeah, yeah, I know. Another non-writer butt friendly meal. Does it help that it’s thin-crusted and loaded with veggies? Yes? [Going with the assumptive positive here.]

    I’d go myself, but it’s my Start-Decorating-for-Christmas day which demands who-da-thunk-it attire — and lots of squats. Tons of squats while I unload boxes.

    We’re having Thanksgiving at my step-daughters, so I’m only in charge of the Yankee bread stuffing they’ve come to love and Escalloped Pineapple.

  4. Woot! Late breaking news. He’s going to buy the ingredients for me. I think the fact that he’s a Snicker-holic, and his horrible-cook-of-a-sister was put in charge of pies may have tipped the scales in my favor.

    Questions: Peel the apples, or no? (Guessing “no.”) How far ahead of time can I make this? (Guessing hours.)

  5. Hey – it has apples in it so it’s healthy! Right? Right? I probably won’t make this tomorrow as we already have a heavily-laden table, but there’s always Christmas! Happy Thanksgiving, Ginger!

  6. I’m thankful for Minnesota.

    Have a wonderful Thanksgiving, Ginger!

  7. Well there you go. This will be a new staple in my house I just know it. The way my husband eats sweets, I’ll have to make a double batch. He’ll rationalize that because there are apples in it he needs to eat more to get his daily dose of fruit. And, you’re right, it is a salad so . . .

    And I too have bountiful, mostly German, relatives in Minnesota. There are 12 kids in my dad’s family and 7 in my mothers so I have aunts and uncles galore and cousins I don’t even know about. (Perhaps we’re related. Who knows?) Our family reunion would darn near fill up a football stadium.

    Thanks for sharing this awesome looking thing.

    Now I’m off to the store for apples and candy bars.

    Happy Thanksgiving!

    Patricia Rickrode
    w/a Jansen Schmidt

    • We probably are related. Wouldn’t be surprised, I swear. Grandfather one of 8. Gram one of 5. Both parents 1 of 3. There’s a lot of us. My sister kissed a boy at a party once in MN and told my Grandma his name only to find out he was her cousin. Hee hee!!

      Tell you husband, “You’re welcome!” ๐Ÿ™‚

  8. sounds great, but I’ll pass. LOL

  9. i tried to make this but i ended up eating all the snickers…will have to go back to the store and try again.

  10. No, no, no! This internet sharing of fantastic recipes has got to stop !!! Just reading the recipes I can feel my abs, hips and thighs expanding! LOL. I know I’ll just use will power . . . Snickers salad? I will bring the ingredients into my house, under my own power. (Whatdoyouknow? It worked!) Happy Thanksgiving, Ginger!

    • Very funny Lynette. Here’s the good news. We can all taste a bit of fun holiday treats — as long as we ALSO do all the WritersButt practices all the rest of the time! ๐Ÿ˜‰

      Happy Turkey Day to you too!!

  11. Snicker, snicker. I think I’d just eat all the ingredients separate…

    Happy Thanksgiving, eh?

  12. Playing blog-catch-up today and just saw this. It sounds luscious. Would it be sacreligious to sub Three Musketeers? Snickers stick to my teeth. ๐Ÿ˜€ (I’m taking this to the Christmas buffet; my daughter-in-law will love me forever.)

  13. This is really stretching it for me, lol. I want to trust you on this, Ginger, but Snickers + apples + whipped topping sounds so very strange. :p

Leave a Reply

