WritersButt Wednesday – Best Workout FAILS

Let’s have a laugh for this WritersButt Wednesday, shall we?  My sister posted this to her Facebook page this morning and I spent 3 minutes laughing my butt off. Ah, what people will do in the effort to workout. Some of these attempts are truly creative and they fail epically … all for our enjoyment!

Before you get any ideas that this is proof that y’all should avoid working out. Au contraire!! That doesn’t fly with me and you know it.  It would be really hard to have an epic fail on a Potty Squat. Well, unless you didn’t close the lid. And, if that happens, I sure hope someone gets it on camera and emails it to me!

So, sit back, put your water bottle down just for these few minutes so you don’t squirt water out your nose and have a laugh!!  You’re welcome!

 

About Ginger Calem

I never met a notebook I didn't want to buy. Pens speak to me. Sticky notes are dear to my heart. Some of my best friends are those clambering in my head trying to get onto the page. And when they have their stories told, and I release them to the world, I hope they'll be your friends too.

Posted on November 28, 2012, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 28 Comments.

  1. Yeah, totally funny 😀 Thanks for the link back Ging!!!!

  2. That made my morning! The pilates ‘snap back’ was so funny!

  3. Ouch, painful! Maybe this needs a disclaimer: No one was killed in the making of this video! (I hope.)

  4. OMG, the lady on the pilates machine was freakin’ awesome! Bahahaha! Also, I think the cat planned the attack with the tv! Thanks for the laugh 🙂

  5. ROFL!! I don’t feel so bad now….HAHAHAHA!!!

  6. That’s too much, Ginger. Sometimes people don’t know when to stop. LOL.

  7. Ginger, thanks for sharing this, you don’t know how appropriate this is. No cameras around me!
    I laughed so hard…you don’t record your clients do you?

    • Um, no not usually video. But we used to take a lot of pictures for our blog. We still do sometimes but we’ll still get shots of our clients for Facebook. We do try really hard to make them pictures of them all being GREAT and looking good!! 😉

  8. That girl does push-ups like I do. And the guy puking and then falling face forward into it – how priceless is that?

    Fun stuff!

    Patricia Rickrode
    w/a Jansen Schmidt

  9. Sure didn’t know you could lift weights with your hips…but hey…you learn something new every day. That was just too funny. Here’s hoping that because they all made the video, no one wound up with broken bones, flattened faces or required stitches.

    And now I just have to ask about the whole potty squat thing, but I’m assuming you do them before you actually get in position to go? Do you actually touch down on the lid? And how rough is it on the knees?

    • Yeah, that guy with the twisty-butt … bizarre! That said, you really do move weight with your hips, It’s the power-source of a lot of power. So I don’t totally fitness-nerd-out on you, I’ll just leave it at that for now!

      Potty squats — I introduced these from day 1. Here’s the list of the first week ‘homework’ at the very beginning of WritersButt. See number 2. 😉 —

      1 -Drink 100 oz of water a day. YES—I said 100. Find a water bottle that shows you the ounces. Lately I’ve been using the one shown. It is 20 oz and on the side it has a counter so every time I fill it up, I move it over to the next number. I know I have to hit 5 by the end of the day.
      2 -10 squats every time you go to the bathroom. If you are not used to drinking this much water, you will be going to the bathroom a LOT. (Your body will adjust to this but be prepared to pee-pee quite a bit for a few days.) Because you’ll be in the bathroom a lot, after you are finished, and after you close the lid to the potty, I want you to sit down and stand up from the toilet 10 times. Obviously if you have a low stool in your bathroom or house, you can use that. A kitchen chair might be taller than I’d like. I’m choosing the toilet not to gross you out but because I KNOW you’ll be in there a lot and I want you to get a lot of squatting done. I’m sneaky that way.
      3 -Write 3-5 ‘Gratitudes’ into a journal every night before bed. What the heck does this have to do with fitness? We’re not just working on our bodies; we are also hoping to increase our mental and even our emotional fitness as well.

      And if you’d like to keep following my past WB posts in order, here is a post with links starting from the beginning and ending in June 2012: https://gingercalem.wordpress.com/2012/06/13/writersbutt-wednesday-taking-my-own-advice/

      • I guess I never realized that your hips are involved in weight lifting. Of course the only weights I use are light hand weights for curls, too.

        Wow…I have trouble getting the minimum 64 oz of water in every day (and I drink nothing but water 99% of the time, too). Gonna have to work on that. I like all of the advice though…and definitely want to catch up on the older posts. I know I’ve signed up to get the updates, but as with so many other blogs, I don’t always get them.

        Thanks for explaining potty squats. I had a different image in mind (which wasn’t pretty). I also was also a little concerned that maybe you weren’t supposed to sit down in between, and I have one knee that wouldn’t tolerate that very well (thanks to some unsalted ice about 10 years ago). 🙂

      • Yes, those 100 oz a day take getting used to. Also yes, you are supposed to do the squats all in a row. Ideally, you’d give the stool a little ‘touch’ and then stand back up. Even more ideal is to step away from the stool and squat up and down (going low) without stopping. I used the stool to help people do them with the correct form, a form which should not hurt your knees. Most people when told to squat will sort of tuck their butts in and when going down, their knees will travel forward beyond the tips of the toes — which would have you miss a chair if one was behind you. This is REALLY hard on your knees. But, if you aim for a target behind you, your butt will go back and down, keeping the knees in line with the center of the foot. I hope that makes sense. Anyway, the more you can move your body, even adding in more weight than light dumbbells, the more lean muscle mass you’ll gain which offers a host of benefits, most popular being that it greatly aids in fat loss.

        Whew — far more you than you wanted to hear, right?

  10. I’M DYING! Ginger, this is fabulous.

    Just so you know…the girl ‘doing’ pushups??? So totally me. *snort*

  11. thanks for the laughs, ginger. I am always amazed at people in the gym, usually men, who lift lots but do it incorrectly.

  12. That was awesome! My favorites were the guy on the rower and the guy who had to call his mom for help. He lived in her basement, didn’t he? Oh, and I like how the guy was bench pressing and working in the cheek lift. Although, I’d be afraid he was letting one fly. 🙂

    • The rower guy was so funny. At our gym, we were totally laughing about the guy who called for his mom. As you know, if he was a CrossFitter, he’d have known how to dump his weights! 🙂

  1. Pingback: DO YOU HAVE THE X FACTOR? | LOOKING FOR MR GOODSTORY

Leave a Reply

