Even Hags need love

My kids crack me up. All the time. They crack each other up. There is no shortage of humor at Casa Calem. Often there is no shortage of yelling and bickering but thankfully, the laughter is usually more.

How do you know when you’ve raised siblings that truly love each other?

When you see this handmade label affixed to your daughter’s door, lovingly put there by her older brother.

YOUAREAHAGLOVE DUNCAN

YOUAREAHAG.
LOVE DUNCAN

May they always adore each other!

Any of you parents have a similar story of sibling-love? Please, do share!

About Ginger Calem

I never met a notebook I didn't want to buy. Pens speak to me. Sticky notes are dear to my heart. Some of my best friends are those clambering in my head trying to get onto the page. And when they have their stories told, and I release them to the world, I hope they'll be your friends too.

Posted on January 8, 2013, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 16 Comments.

  1. That’s precious. Those are the moments you need to capture. Glad you did.

  2. So awesome, Thanks for the smile Ginger!

  3. My sister and I are still very much like that with each other. It’s only been better as we’ve gotten older. (My brother who is closest in age to me, too – there’s five of us 🙂 )

    • Wow, 5 of you! I think that would be awesome. I’m only one of 2. But we have 3 and with my oldest driving the two younger ones have gotten really close in the last year. I hope it grows and grows and of course will be the same with the oldest as well once he gets over the novelty of the ‘freedom-ride’. 😉

  4. Love it. Whenever my 8yo daughter hurts herself (which seems to be quite often), her cries signal the starting gun for her twin brother, who bolts up to her bedroom, and sprints back with her favourite stuffie.

  5. My brother and I are very different, and I don’t think you could call us the best of friends by any means. We fight like two Middle Eastern countries. But when one of us needs something, the other comes. No questions asked. I think that’s a sign that siblings love each other even when they’re merciless in picking on each other.

    • I love this. My oldest is a bit of a ‘lone ranger’ but when push comes to shove and he knows that one of his younger sibs is being picked on or something of the like, he goes all rogue! Boy after his mom’s heart!

  6. Ha! Kids are awesome.

  7. That’s great! Perhaps he was referring to her alter ego from Willy Wonka? That little girl was not very pleasant as I recall. How’s the rehearsals going any way?

    Patricia Rickrode
    w/a Jansen Schmidt

    • You are so awesome to ask about Delaney and her part. Um, she ‘says’ that all is going well. We have no idea. We ask if we are indeed going to be able to see the big production. She ‘assumes’ so. *sigh* Heads will roll if I don’t get to see my Sassy-Pippy play Veruka (or however you spell it!) I know for certain one cast member who will know and own her part like no other! 😉

  8. How did I miss this Ginger? I was all excited about WritersButt today and then I found this. Sorry to be late to the party here. Your kids are adorable. They make me miss my boys. Can we just stop time? I know, not possible. But sometimes…I will say this. My boys are sixteen months apart, so their almost like twins. At 32 and 31, they are so close Ginger. They talk on the phone all during the day. They see each other almost every day. I don’t know how my new daughter-in-law puts up with it. But who would want to mess with that relationship? They are our blessing. Truly. Okay, now I’m gonna cry. Thanks a lot Ginger. LOL! I’m kidding. You know I love ya girl. Enjoy them while they’re there! 🙂

Leave a Reply

