WritersButt Wednesday – Happy Birthday and Salsa

Happy WritersButt Wednesday!

Earlier in the week I promised on Twitter that I’d give you all my new salsa recipe that is so delicious and easy, you’ll always want to have it on hand. So that’s what I have in store for you. But before we get to that, I’d like to wish WritersButt a very Happy Birthday!!

I can’t believe I’ve been giving you all a weekly (most weeks anyway) post about health and fitness and how it relates to your creativity! It’s been a great year and I’ve loved getting to know so many of you who come each week so see what I have to say.  This weekly segment even led me to my very first live workshop at an international writers’ conference. Later this month, I will travel to Sacramento to present WritersButt to a monthly chapter meeting for a writers’ group. This is so exciting and none of it would have happened if you all hadn’t supported me, enjoyed the tips I had to offer and worked hard on your own at improving your health through fitness and good nutrition.

So, thank you, truly from my heart.

With that said, it’s the start of a New Year. I LOVE New Years. Not because it’s the time of resolutions as many people think of them but because it represents a fresh start, a BIG fresh start. I enjoy the start of a new school year for this reason. The first wildflowers bursting through the ground in the spring to turn their petals to the warm sunshine. The beginning of summer lake days. They all represent a shift, and an opportunity to make the best of what’s next.

Beginnings are hopeful and exciting.

And so are strong finishes! How did you fare last year? Are you feeling healthier, fitter, stronger, more creative?  If not, do you know why?

For 2013, let’s not ‘resolve’ to accomplish a list of tasks. Let’s create routines that will become part of our lives and which will support our lifestyles.

You know what the basics are but let me put them out there again, as a friendly reminder.

  1. Drink Water – 100oz a day!
  2. Get moving – exercise!
  3. Clean nutrition – Food is your fuel, what quality fuel are you giving yourself?
  4. Sleep – recharge, dream, create, recover
  5. Gratitude – A gracious soul is open to amazing gifts.

I’m here to support you! I will continue to use Wednesdays on my blog for recipes, workout advice, health discussions and as a place to use all these things to boost our creativity so that we produce more words that are rich and alive for our readers.

And now for my salsa recipe. I saw this on a TV show and it looked so easy and tasty that I had to try it and tweak it to my liking. I call it roasted, but the ingredients are seared/sautéed in a pan, but whatever.

Ginger’s Roasted Salsa

5-6 vine-ripened tomatoes (fresh organic is best)

4-5 whole cloves of garlic (I use a lot – vary for your taste)

3-4 Serrano peppers (again vary for your taste and ‘heat’ level) *

1-2 jalapeno peppers (ditto above) *

Olive or coconut oil for cooking

Fresh cilantro

Salt/Pepper

*Note: Obviously use more peppers if you like it hot and less if not. Most important though are the number of seeds and the amount of fleshy ribs you have to control the heat level.

**You can add onions if you like or other varieties of peppers like poblano, annaheim, etc.

Directions:

Heat up your oil in a large pan and add in first four ingredients , washed and whole.  Keep turning and keeping an eye on them until they are nice and ‘sweaty’ and slightly seared. Remove from heat.

Veggies in the heat

Veggies in the heat

Trim the tops off the peppers and remove the seeds and ribs if you do not like your salsa spicy. Leave them in if you do. Or go for middle ground and remove some and leave some. You will have to experiment with this.

Trim stems and remove any seeds to control heat level

Trim stems and remove any seeds to control heat level

Put all cooked ingredients in a blender, add in some kosher salt and cracked pepper and as much cilantro to your tastes. I like a lot.

Into the blender with cilantro and seasonings

Into the blender with cilantro and seasonings

 

Blend to the consistency that you enjoy and then …. ENJOY!

I LOVE salsa. If you have a tried and true recipe you’d like to share, put it in the comments so we can all collect more salsa recipes. You can’t have too many!

Have a great week.

About Ginger Calem

I never met a notebook I didn't want to buy. Pens speak to me. Sticky notes are dear to my heart. Some of my best friends are those clambering in my head trying to get onto the page. And when they have their stories told, and I release them to the world, I hope they'll be your friends too.

Posted on January 9, 2013, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 20 Comments.

  1. Oh cool, I’m your first visitor! Well Congratulations Ginger!!!!! I am standing up and applauding you! You’ve worked your butt off literally and look what’s happened. You’re traveling with WritersButt. That is awesome! That just proves that it works. And you have a great way of motivating people Ginger. This is so exciting.

    And I also want to let you know that I am walking again. Hubby is able to take short walks during the day. So we are walking about .5 miles twice a day. It seems that I am a social walker. LOL! You know that I am all about eating healthy and water is a must. And you know how much I love green tea. I drink that all day long. It is amazing stuff.

    I am grateful everyday. I agree with you Ginger. We need to practice gratitude. It is so much a part of our health. Well you and WritersButt too of course! 🙂

    Thank you so much for the salsa recipe. I bookmarked this post. I’m making it. Yummy!

    • Hi Karen! I’m thrilled you’re my first commenter. Woo! Thank you for all your sweet words. I’m SO glad to hear that you are walking again and that your husband is walking with you. That is wonderful. I do know how good you are about your nutrition and hydration, especially supporting fresh and organic products. You’re a great role model. Let me know how the salsa turns out.

  2. Yay, Ginger! I love reading your blogs, you inspire me!!:)
    The salsa recipe looks great, as a “not so clean eater” what would you suggest I eat with the salsa.. I”m seriously trying to do better however, I love tostada chips. Please Help with suggestions. HGUS!

    • Thank you so much, Karen. I really appreciate the support. That’s a great question! I’ve been known to dip veggies in salsa. I particularly like jicama because it’s mild and very crispy. Have you ever tried it? You could also make your own sweet potato chips. YUM! I have a recipe for those on my blog somewhere but they are super easy. Slice very thin, season, and bake in about a 350 oven. Watch them. Tip is to slice them evenly so they all finished at the same time.

      Also, I suggest using salsa as you would a condiment. On eggs, meat like burger patties, chicken, meatloaf, steak etc., even as a dressing for taco salad. It’s a far healthier alternative to jarred sauces.

      Hugs back … HGUS even! 🙂

  3. Oops, HUGS! 😉

  4. Thanks for the tips! I tried my first sweet potato fry at lunch..(only one, tho). If it’s Ginger approved, I’ll make it work 😉

    • How was that one fry? 😉 You crack me up. After I replied to you earlier, I started craving sweet potato chips and we happened to have a large sweet potato. They just came out of the oven and oh my are they good!!!

  5. Sounds yummy! I’m not a fan of peppers or spicy food, but my hubby will love this recipe. I’ll put less peppers and more onion and garlic and it should satisfy us both.

    Looking forward to your presentation in person in Sacramento at the end of the month.

    (I’m pausing her to drink some water.)

    Keep the good stuff coming.

    Patricia Rickrode
    w/a Jansen Schmidt

    • The nerve of WP to throw you into my spam filter after all the times you’ve commented on my blog. I can hardly wait to see you in person. Yes, you can throw is more garlic and onion and even some fruit, like mango, if you want that sort of salsa. 🙂

  6. Thanks for the salsa recipe, Ginger, and congrats on a year of WritersButt posts. I like your idea of creating healthful routines rather than approaching weight loss/exercise/healthful living as a series of tasks.

    Kick butt in Sacramento!

    • Thank you, Pat. You have always been so supportive and you always make me smile. Thank you for that. What I’m hoping is not to ‘Freeze-Butt’ in Sacramento. I’m told I’ll be cold and, well, that’s not my favorite thing! I’ll take pictures and blog about the fun!

  7. I posted a comment earlier, but it’s not here. Hmmmm.

    Don’t remember exactly what it said, but it was something like my hubby would like this recipe more than me because I’m not too keen on spicy food or peppers.

    Anyway, wanted to let you know that I stopped by. Not sure where my comment went, but I’m trying it again.

    Patricia Rickrode
    w/a Jansen Schmidt

  8. Thanks for the salsa recipe, Ginger, and happy Blogversary!

  9. Congratulations on your amazing WritersButt milestone. That’s a big deal. My husband is completely addicted to salsa so this post will come in extremely handy for me. I’ll be printing a copy of this one. Thanks, Ginger. Keep up the amazing work.

  10. Gorgeous recipe, Ginger! And I love your 5 tips. Water is always a hard one for me. Could that be why Crossfit is KILLING my knees???

    • Thanks, Jenny. Joints can be so pesky, can’t they. Yes, you do need to be good and hydrated for your joints but you might need some extra ‘help’. Do you take fish oil? That is great for joints. Also, (and this will cancel out the salsa) you might be sensitive to nightshades — tomatoes, peppers, eggplant. I have a friend who was suffering terribly with her knees. She cut out the nightshades and it made an amazing difference. You’re already gluten-free, right? Because gluten can cause a lot of inflammation and effect joints as well. In any case, I’m sorry that you are having trouble with your knees. That does make much of CrossFit a challenge, as if it’s not challenging enough. 😉

  11. Yum! You forgot the important caution for contact lense wearers–do NOT handle the peppers and then try to put a contact in or take it out. Well, unless you like crying, and that salsa DOES look good enough to cry over. 😉 Or maybe it’s your secret technique to get people moving.

    And… Squat and cry! And squat and cry! Reach for the tissues, reach for the tissues! And squat and cry!….

Leave a Reply

