How I fell in love with a Lava-Lamp

You are turquoise and groovy and a lovely Lava-Lamp and we shall bring you home and call you Lavvie.

Mr. Lavvie

Mr. Lavvie

Over the Christmas holidays we attended a party where there was a white elephant gift exchange. You know the kind where you pick numbers and open presents in order of the numbers. When it’s your turn, you have the choice of opening a wrapped gift or stealing one that’s already been opened. Well, when it was my husband William’s turn, he stole a lava-lamp which had already been opened. I looked at him like he’d taken one too many kettlebells to the head.

“What the heck do you want that for?”

Classic William shrug and smirk.

“Where are you going to put it?” Ginger says, a suspicious slant to her eyes.

“My office,” he said, instead of ‘what’s it to you, Slanty?’

William proceeded to sit quietly against the back wall, flying under the radar so no one would steal his lava-lamp, which is how it came home with us.  Turns out he’s always wanted one and his mother had never let him have one as a kid because it would of course burn the house down.

Lava Lamp

Lava Lamp

For kicks, we plug it in on the kitchen counter and after it warms up, the magic begins. And by this I mean, I become obsessed with the groovy, magical seduction of the lava-lamp.  Who knew of the allure … other then William?

He’s now not allowed to take it to his office unless I have my very own.  Do any of you have a lava-lamp? Or, was there something you always wanted as a kid but weren’t allowed to have?  Did you ever get one? Do tell!

About Ginger Calem

I never met a notebook I didn't want to buy. Pens speak to me. Sticky notes are dear to my heart. Some of my best friends are those clambering in my head trying to get onto the page. And when they have their stories told, and I release them to the world, I hope they'll be your friends too.

Posted on January 15, 2013, in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 14 Comments.

  1. I always wanted one of those disco balls to hang up in my room back when I was in middle school. I should get a mini (very tiny) one for my office. lol

  2. Yes, I have a red lava lamp. It’s on my mantle. You are so right about it’s hypnotic qualities. I think I ought to buy another one or two.

  3. It seems that you and I are married to Williams Ginger. And I dare say that my William would have also done the same thing. Now, about your lava lamp. You’re taking me back Ginger! Way back. LOL! They are really cool, aren’t they? I too always wanted one and wasn’t allowed. But, I am not into disco balls girls. Been there, done that. And I don’t want to go back either. Sounds like you both had a lovely time and brought home the best gift. Enjoy! 🙂

    • Karen, you are so funny. Some things are worth going back for. 🙂 I didn’t realize you were married to a William too. How fun! And does he go by William, as opposed to Bill or Will?

  4. I love my lava lamps! Yes, plural, we have a total of three. We turn them on regularly, they make a nice subdued glow for watching tv or meditating. 🙂

  5. I’ve never had one but I might need one.

  6. I’ve never had one and think they are totally groovy!

Leave a Reply

