WritersButt Wednesday – On the Road Again

I’m going to keep this really short because I’m busy preparing to take WritersButt on the road again. That is to say, I’m traveling to present WritersButt to another group of writers. Yay! Back in October, I traveled to Surrey, BC to present WB at the Surrey International Writers’ Conference. I had a fabulous time!

Now, I’m flying in the same direction to Sacramento to speak with Sacramento Valley Rose, chapter #52 of Romance Writers of America. This all came about when Jansen Schmidt asked me if I’d be willing to speak at their monthly chapter meeting. After I finished screaming and jumping up and down thoughtfully considering, I said, ‘HECK YES’ – ‘Sure, I’d love to.’

I’m so excited to meet Jansen (AKA, Patricia in ‘real’ life) in person. All of you regulars here at WritersButt Wednesday will be quite familiar with Jansen.  She is such a hoot and never (and I mean never) fails to crack me up. I’m looking forward to getting a hug in person.

Ginger at vineyard in Portland area

Ginger at vineyard in Portland area

I’m also going to get to hook up with the family friends I haven’t seen in so many years, I refuse to count them. And, if that’s not all, I’m also going to see one of my closest writing friends, Liz Jasper.  There will be much fast-talking and laughing.

I hear there is a high probability of wine tasting included in this trip. Well, let’s face it, I could be going deep into the Sahara where a grape vine would wither at the mere notion of sprouting and I’d find a way to get wine into the mix. Since I’m pretty darn disciplined with my nutrition and I work out nearly every day … I get to have wine. That’s my reward for staying on course. That and an occasional, frozen Thin Mint. Not that I’ve had any … today … yet.

So tell me, if you were to have WritersButt presented to you in about a 90 minute chunk of time, what would you most want to hear? What would be the most beneficial takeaway for you?

I’ll try to have some pictures and a write-up of my time in the Sacramento area next Wednesday. Have a great week!

About Ginger Calem

I never met a notebook I didn't want to buy. Pens speak to me. Sticky notes are dear to my heart. Some of my best friends are those clambering in my head trying to get onto the page. And when they have their stories told, and I release them to the world, I hope they'll be your friends too.

Posted on January 23, 2013, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 19 Comments.

  1. Holy cow, Ginger, this is FANTASTIC! *woot, woot!* Cheering you on from the Writer’s Butt Fanatic Cheap Seats!

  2. Have a wonderfully fantastic time in Sacramento. I love reading your blogs, Ginger, but it would be beyond great to see and hear you address this writers’ group. I’ve very proud of you. Love, GRAM

  3. This is awesome, Ginger! I’m sure they’ll benefit from anything you talk about. Have a great time with Jansen/Patricia,her RWANDA chapter, and your old friends!

  4. Aw shucks. You say the gul darndest nicest things.

    So after we hug and jump up and down and do the hand wavy thing at the airport, we’ll head off to the wine country. Your photos here won’t be as lovely as the one above because it’s winter and all and all you’ll get is barren vines in the back ground, but you’ll get some really good vino and it will not come from a box.

    My home girls are looking forward to hearing you speak.

    See you soon!

    Patricia Rickrode
    w/a Jansen Schmidt

    • You had me at ‘wine country’. *HUGE grin!!* Seriously, I’m so very excited and I can’t wait to meet your ‘home girls’. I’ll be very nice and not make them workout or anything! It’ll be like a girl’s chat!

      2 days!

  5. Oh, boy, Ginger, you and Patricia are going to have fun! If I were to attend a ninety-minute Writer’s Butt session, I’d hope for some commiseration, inspiration, butt-kicking, recipes, exercise demonstrations, and the chance to practice the exercises right then and there. Have a great time!

    • I know, right!! See, Pat, you’d be my ideal workshop attendee. You want all the things I’d love to offer. I suspect every workshop will be a little different just depending on audience. I know we’re going to have fun. And maybe I’ll get to do one near you and I can do a big ol’ workshop with everyone on your wish list. I especially love your thought of practicing the movements right there. I struggle with this on my blog because I can’t have hands-on time to show people how to move correctly. A live workshop is ideal for this! As always, I appreciate the comment.

  6. That is so exciting! I’d love to see you at a conference! What I’d like to hear at a Writter’s Butt presentation is first, an explanation for why exercise is so important for writers. I think that would serve as motivation to keep my butt moving. Second, because I am a very routine person, I would love some sample workouts and sample daily meal plans. But, I don’t do Paleo because my body needs healthy carbs, so I’d love idea for how to eat clean, including healthy whole grains. And, of course some motivation and pumping up. It would be the perfect opportunity to buy an official “Writter’s Butt” t-shirt. I’m picturing it with the title right across the booty. 🙂

  7. I would totally love a t-shirt!

    You’re going to rock your presentation, Ginger!
    i think the other ladies have suggested all I’d love to hear. Some sample quick workouts, food ideas…and motivation of course. All things I know you have. 😉
    Have fun!

  8. You’re going to Sacramento? I love it there. You are going to have a wonderful time. I can just see you and Patricia together. There’s no telling what kind of trouble you’ll get into. Wine Country? Oh yeah! lol

    Have a wonderful time. And get those writer’s butts moving Ginger. Make them get on their feet and move! But I think you’ll have no problem motivating them. You are inspirational girl. And I think you should have a couple of recipes to share because not everyone knows how to eat healthy.

    Have a great trip. We expect a report when you get back! 🙂

    • Hi Karen. Well I’m back and will be posting my report today. But had to come back here and thank you for commenting. Patricia and I had fun and didn’t get into TOO much trouble! 😉

  1. Pingback: WritersButt Wednesday – Recap from the road and Lettuce Wrap Recipe « Ginger Calem

Leave a Reply

