And Sometimes You’re Just an Ass

Screen shot 2013-02-08 at 10.49.34 AM

Who’s an ass? If you’ll indulge me while I pull out the ol’ soapbox, I’ll give you my thoughts and you can decide if a certain someone is an ass or not.

This morning, I read a blog from my friend Julie and she got me all fired up. Seems she ran across a review on the New York Observer written by Rex Reed which prompted her to write her post. I hesitated to post the link to the review because, quite frankly, I don’t want to give Rex or his inane opinion any more screen time, but you will hardly know why I’m all-in-a-fuss unless you read it.

In a nutshell, Rex reviews the movie Identity Thief starring Melissa McCarthy and Jason Bateman. Only it’s not quite a review but more of a mud-slinging fest against Melissa about her size, as if that has one tiddely-do about the movie. (Yes, tiddely-do can be a word if I want it to be.) In regards to beautiful and talented Melissa, Rex vomits out terms such as “cacophonous, tractor-sized”, “screeching, humongous creep” and “female hippo”.

I don’t know about you but that just reeks a stink of vile, mean-spirited, offensive insults meant to personally attack someone so that an ass a person can feel superior when indeed he is not. He was supposed to review a movie, not spew his misguided opinions about an actor’s size. I mean, who in the hell cares? It’s got nothing to do with the movie and only served as a platform for Reed to get some shock-value attention. Careful, Mr. Reed. That sort of attention often brings about bad karma.

There is another opinion Reed shares in his attack review that I found sad and a bit creepy. He writes:

“Poor Jason Bateman. How did an actor so charming, talented, attractive and versatile get stuck in so much dreck?”

Okay, so according to Rex, if you’re ‘attractive’ (in his opinion), among other talents, you won’t land roles that might not be box office sensations. What?!

This is the bigger issue here. Why the constant gauge of value and talent on appearance and size?

WHY????

It doesn’t matter. Good grief!! Are we as a society so shallow? Honestly?

A person’s merits aren’t measured by their fat percentage and cover model potential.

Is a person kind? Is a person honest? Is a person loving, loyal, respectful and considerate? Those are traits that define a person and their value. Not their freaking pants size.

Now, I’ve given Rex Reed far FAR too much screen time on my blog. I’d like to shine the limelight on someone who deserves it. Someone talented, funny, charming, beautiful, vivacious and warm.  One of my favorite blogging buddies, Myndi Shafer, recently shared this hilarious clip on her blog. It’s laugh out loud funny! I’m going to share it too because everyone should have a smile on their face today. It’s Friday after all.

Note: Y’all know I try very hard not to swear on my blog. So, I’m sorry for saying ass. But, sometimes, if the word ‘fits’.  ~wink~

About Ginger Calem

I never met a notebook I didn't want to buy. Pens speak to me. Sticky notes are dear to my heart. Some of my best friends are those clambering in my head trying to get onto the page. And when they have their stories told, and I release them to the world, I hope they'll be your friends too.

Posted on February 8, 2013, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 36 Comments.

  1. Absolutely true!

  2. Amen, sister. Preach it to the choir!!

  3. Too damned right, Ginger. In these days when it seems any old body can write a review, some people forget that a review is much more than personal opinion and/or a rant about personal prejudice. (See Roger Ebert for how it should be done. It’s not easy to do it well.) I was just thinking today about this time I was at a writer’s festival and joined some people for coffee and this guy got up and left very quickly. The others said to me: ‘Did you know? That was the guy who gave you that crappy review in the Courier-Mail.’ He didn’t have the guts to face me. People say things in reviews they wouldn’t have the balls to say face to face. As per Myndi Shafer’s post: Beelzebub has a devil put aside for Mr Reed.

    • Thanks, Colin. Ah, interesting about the reviewer who couldn’t face you. Kind of makes me think of the rule ‘don’t write anything to which you won’t sign your name’. Don’t speak about a person in such a way that creates a dread or fear of facing them at some point and time. I suppose as writers, a bad review of our work can feel personal as we’re often so intertwined with the work itself. But the review is just that, of the work. We’re still awesome regardless. *huge grin* I appreciate the comment! Thanks again.

  4. Well said. Couldn’t agree more. I’ve always loved Melissa McCarthy and have so enjoyed watching all of her performances. She’s a talented actress with a killer sense of comedic timing. Too bad the small-minded critic couldn’t see that.

  5. My sister posted on Reed’s FB page this morning letting him know what she thought of his insults. Not to mention the fact that the actress he speaks of has been recognized for her comedic ability. This movie may suck (I haven’t seen it) but that isn’t necessarily because of her and it most certainly has NOTHING to do with her not being a size 2.

    Such an idiot.

  6. One word my friend – ASS!

    I can’t wait to see the movie. I’m going because I love to laugh. I’m hoping it’s “pee your pants” funny. And I think Melissa is beautiful and I think Ellen is beautiful and I think you are beautiful.

    Mr. Reed – ASS. (Actually I’m using a different word to describe him. One that starts with a B and has more letters. Although the first part ryhmes with ass and the second syllable would apply as well if used alone.)

    Patricia Rickrode
    w/a Jansen Schmidt

  7. Way to go, Ginger!

    What a mean little man with a heart the size and consistency of a raisin. Boy, Karma will bite him hard when she comes around.

  8. This pisses me off on two different levels. First, for all the reasons you detailed here. Also I’d just like to add that the reviewer calls McCarthy’s career “short.” Um, check her IMDB. She’s been in the business for over a decade and has been on not one but TWO hit TV shows. Second, my real anger actually goes above this guy’s head. It goes to the producers of this movie (disclaimer: I haven’t seen it). The character McCarthy plays is “crass” and “loud-mouthed” – and I’m sure that the producers never considered Sandra Bullock or Cameron Diaz or Reese Witherspoon for this role. They went straight to the “fat” actress, because when a “fat” actress is loudmouthed, it’s funny, but when a “pretty” actress does it, it’s offensive. That’s why BRIDESMAIDS was so great, because it had six women of all shapes and sizes crapping in a bridal salon and it was hilarious. That’s why GILMORE GIRLS was so awesome because not once in all seven seasons did they ever mention McCarthy’s weight. Those are the women I want to see on screen. Oh, and out of the six producers listed for IDENTITY THIEF, four are men, and it was written and directed by men. That’s the real root of the problem here. We need more women in Hollywood.

  9. I like Melissa.. and Jason is a hoot. And as far as her “size” goes.. I quite frankly am sick and freaking tired of seeing “perfect 10 women” in movies and on television.. It is really refreshing to see women, like Melissa, who make up a lot of our modern day society.. she’s overweight.. SO FREAKING WHAT?! Melissa is a funny woman! I’m actually looking forward to seeing this movie.

  10. Melissa McCarthy is a proven talent. Rex deserves all the slams he gets. It burns me when people treat others like that. There’s a proper way to give a review. A personal attack is not one of them. Shame on him and kudus to you for jumping up on your soapbox on this one. Sing it loud, girl. Judge not less ye be judged.

  11. I’m not going to read his review because I’m not in the mood for a dish of jackass right now. I love Melissa McCarthy (ever since Gilmore Girls). She is a great actress and comedienne. And Ginger, you are a great person for jumping on these asses every time they open their mouths. Society isn’t going to change on this issue unless we women get in their faces every time a woman is judged based on her package instead of her content. You go, Girl!

    • “not in the mood for a dish of jackass right now”

      Hahahahahahaha!!!! You crack me up! I’m totally using that line as soon as I can slip it into a conversation. Thanks for making my laugh and for commenting!

  12. Oh, Ginger. I love you.
    So well said! And you’re right…Karma is a b****!!

  13. He is a total ass! And what a great video thanks for sharing Ginger

  14. I’m just loving the fence, just loving the fence! She’s hilarious.

    I heard about that ‘review’ and was outraged as well. I hope he learns from this and never, ever, ever belittles someone because of their size, race, sexual preference, hair style, etc. He’s a toad if you ask me. Nothing but a croaker who needs some karma whoopass.

  15. Okay, Ginger, your post gave me whiplash. I do not know how I missed commenting on Friday. Thank goodness I caught this before you put a new post out there.

    I zipped from “bite me — NO, bite yourself” outrage over the vindictive, small-minded hate-spew to hysteria with the Ellen video.

    As I see it, the proof that this critic is an arse, is imbedded in that video. Yes, that could have happened to anyone. I relate to carrying a gazillion totes and feeling as if something isn’t quite right. It doesn’t matter if it was Melissa McCarthy or any one of us. I related.

    The brilliance lies in her telling of the story. The timing. The details. The comedic value of that piece had nothing to do with her size. It involved a situation any one of us could experience. However, few of us could build the suspense, pull the audience in, and then drop the 36 point and bold Humor Hit Bomb. Brilliant!

  16. I also have enjoyed Melissa McCarthy since Gilmore Girls. She is funny, and talented…and rich. Rex Reed IS an ass. I don’t need to know anymore about him than what he wrote about her to know that. I mentioned it on Colin’s blog, and I’ll say it here, too. I hope he’s fired…and then sued. That wasn’t a movie review, and it disgusts me that the people who pay his salary allow hate like that to be printed in their paper.

    • Kristy, I’m still appalled at not only what Rex Reed said about MM but that the NY Observer would allow it to be printed. I guess money and traffic talk since that ‘review’ has probably gotten lots of hits if only so people will see what the heck he said to get everyone all bothered!

  1. Pingback: And Sometimes You’re Just an Ass | KimTerry

  2. Pingback: SO THEN. WHAT DO WE ALL THINK ABOUT CRITICS? | LOOKING FOR MR GOODSTORY

Leave a Reply

