WritersButt Wednesday: Inspiration through a compliment to another.

Hometown Sunset

Hometown Sunset

Something just happened in my day that compelled me to write this blog. I love how the universe works sometimes. Before I get into my story, I have a question for you all.  In the past 16 months of WritersButt Wednesday, I have shared quite a lot of information with you on health, fitness and nutrition and how they can positively impact your creativity.  When I come upon some nugget of inspiration or what I think is helpful information, I share it with you. I love sharing my family recipes with you. And I’ll never tire of inspiring you, if I can, to add more movement and fitness into your day.

What I want to know is … What do YOU want? I’d love to know what you’d like me to blog about in relation to health and creativity. Do you want more workouts? Do you want to learn more about healthy eating? More recipes, and if so, what kind are you most interested in? My goal with this weekly segment is to help, support and encourage you to live your life in the healthiest way possible to support your creative endeavors. This applies for all my writing friends, or other artists, or just anybody looking to become more fit and healthy.

So, if you have a topic you’d like for me to cover, or cover more thoroughly … let me know!

Now, back to what inspired me today. I had a phone conversation with a new CrossFit client who is going to start this week. She was so enthusiastic and friendly on the phone that I’m really looking forward to meeting her, and told her so. I even called my husband to tell him we have a really fun woman who will start this week.

This woman, why don’t I call her ‘Mary’, informs me that we have some common acquaintances, some clients and a couple friends. I remark that one of them is a very good friend of mine. Less than an hour after our conversation, Mary sends me a text thanking me for the encouragement and then tells me what a blessing I have in having one of our common acquaintances as a friend.

She proceeds to describe my friend using words like: genuine, kind, good and with a tender, precious heart.

I could not have agreed more with her assessment of my friend.  It made me feel even more blessed to call this woman one of the dearest people in my life. It also made me think so highly of Mary … to reach out to an almost perfect stranger to shower another with kind words. What an amazingly giving thing to do, a gift from the heart. The first thing I wanted to do was tell my friend of these kind words, not only because they are true because I know it will make her feel wonderful.

It also made me consider how I live my life and how I impact others. What would someone say of me? I can be opinionated (and I don’t mind sharing them!), bossy, sarcastic and stubborn. I don’t think these traits are all bad, mind you, as long as they are controlled and never aim to hurt others. I do actively work at this.

But when I read Mary’s compliments, it made me want to be a better person, the best person I can be. It made me view myself through others’ eyes.  That is not to say that I would live my life solely to gain approval or compliments from others.  Not in the least in fact. But it did make me see myself from a different perspective and take note. Do my outward actions and words represent who I am inside? I believe you can be yourself, true and honest, and still offer genuine kindness and consideration and respect to those around you, like my friend does.

I’m going to try to be the sort of person who would receive the same kind of appraisal as my friend so richly deserved.

What about you? Have you ever thought about how others view you? Does is change how you act, your choice of words or how you interact with other people? Do you have someone in your life who makes you want to be a better person?

I can tell you, it’s given me something to think about.

 

 

About Ginger Calem

I never met a notebook I didn't want to buy. Pens speak to me. Sticky notes are dear to my heart. Some of my best friends are those clambering in my head trying to get onto the page. And when they have their stories told, and I release them to the world, I hope they'll be your friends too.

Posted on April 17, 2013, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 12 Comments.

  1. What great inspiration! I wonder how people view me, but sometimes I do worry about what they would say LOL

  2. For what it’s worth, Ginger-girl, I’m pretty sure most everybody walks away from an encounter from you encouraged and uplifted. You’ve got light, hon. ❤

  3. I think you’re pretty darn swell! I bet you make workouts fun and sweating look pretty.

    Seriously though, yeah. There was a time when I was kind of bitter and hung out with other bitter moms. We would feed off each other and it was toxic. I didn’t realize it until my son switched schools and one of the moms at the new school told me I was super negative. It was a huge wake up call. Since then, I’ve been aware of my attitude and who I surround myself with. It makes a big difference in my life. I don’t have the energy anymore for toxic people. I feel so much lighter and freer now, I’m much, much happier, too. I hope it shows.

    • Tameri, you made me laugh with the ‘sweating look pretty’. If only you could see me work out in the gym. I pretty sure there’s not too much pretty! haha I try to wear funky socks to divert people’s eyes. 😉

      Oh, you make such a great point. Who you hang out with really impacts the mood and energy around you. That toxic vibe is no fun. I’ve been there too and I was miserable!! I’m with you, no longer invest any energy to negative, toxic people if I can avoid it.

      I’d say that YES, your efforts have paid off. I’ve never once seen a picture of you where you aren’t happy and glowing. Also, your words are always uplifting and fun and cheerful and helpful. You exude that positive aura. Makes me love to interact with you., so thank you for that.

  4. Actually my goal is to try and not worry about what other people think or say about me. I have spent my life worrying way too much about others. I want to focus on what I think of myself. The truth is, I think people would describe all of us using much more kind words than we would use about ourselves. From what I know of you, I would say kind, sweet, genuine, true, inspiring, honest just to start. I think sometimes other people can see the good in us so much more clearly and easily than we can.

    • You make such a great point, Emma. I agree that I suspect we’d all describe ourselves far more harshly than others would. Makes me think of the video going around FB where there’s an artist doing a sketch solely from a person’s description. First a person describes herself. Then another person describes that same person. The photos put side by side show a far more attractive and happy person from the one where the ‘other’ person did the describing. Interesting.

      Your words for me are very sweet. Thank you. I’m going to show them to my kids. 😉

  5. Trish Loye Elliott

    Inspiring post, Ginger. It made me think about my friends, my life and my choices.
    I love these types of posts, but I also really look forward to your posts about mini-workouts, especially something you might get up and do after an hour of writing. I struggle with my posture, so I’d love to see anything you know about stretches or muscles to strengthen to stand taller. I love anything really about exercise.
    I also like when you have easy recipes. Basically I love it all!
    Did that help?

Leave a Reply

