Update from the Lake

A cold one after two days of driving!

A cold one after two days of driving!

Hi Everyone!  Is anyone still here? Knock Knock!  Sorry I have been utterly MIA but as I do every summer, I’m at the lake recharging and regrouping. During this time, I let life slow WAY down and disconnect a bit.

BUT —  I miss you guys!!  So I thought I’d say hello and show you some pics to share what I’ve been up to.

A family that SUP's together ...

A family that SUP’s together …

Two of the Calem Natives with Little Gia exploring the lake. Actually, this was right after Gia saw a flock of geese and leapt off the board to chase them. I mean, she just wants to make some friends. They were very snooty and flew off. RUDE!

Always put on sunscreen

Always put on sunscreen

My blondie did as he was told and put on some sunscreen.

And always wear your lifevest

And always wear your lifevest

Gia making sure the boat is going in the right direction.

Yoga SUP

Yoga SUP

Love this picture of my Pip getting some SUP yoga action.

Into the mist

Into the mist

This is one of the shots I took when we made a long trip from our house up towards the mountains. The water temp went from about 84 degrees down to 66. As we neared the dam at the base of the mountains, we passed through many vapor mists. It felt like cruising through a cloud, cold, heavy and a bit ‘woo woo — this is weird!’. As is tradition, we all took a plunge into the icy water. I stayed in all of .03 seconds. Blondie and Pip had a contest to see who could stay in the longest. They couldn’t feel their skin for awhile.

Macro bloom

Macro bloom

I have discovered a new passion. Macro photography. I accidentally took a macro picture with my Galaxy S4 cell phone and it turned out so cool that now I look for every single miniature piece of beauty. I can’t wait to compile them all into a project of some sort.

Little butterfly getting some pollen

Little butterfly getting some pollen

See it’s little pointy-tasty-thinger in the bloom. (Yes, that’s the official term.)

Good Morning Bumble Bee

Good Morning Bumble Bee

Ribbit!

Ribbit!

This is my favorite macro image. This little guy is perched on my daughter’s thumb. I adore him. A good friend says he needs a story and I agree. I’ll have to write one for him. He was made to be a STAR!

Writing in Paradise

Writing in Paradise

And finally, I’m writing! Yesterday I managed to reach “The End” on my YA novel. After it ‘sets’ I’ll start on rewrites and hope to get this book, my fun little Ninja, into some readers’ hands.

I’m anxiously waiting my husband and Mr. Big (oldest son) to arrive for a little vacation …. R&R with us all together. My Happy Place!  I feel so very blessed to have the chance to get away every summer.

I’ll be back blogging regularly by the end of August. In the meantime, tell me what you’ve been up to? Do you have a favorite summer memory? If you can’t escape reality for any length of time, do you take a chance to at least skip off for a weekend, an afternoon, … anything?  Tell us!! 🙂

About Ginger Calem

I never met a notebook I didn't want to buy. Pens speak to me. Sticky notes are dear to my heart. Some of my best friends are those clambering in my head trying to get onto the page. And when they have their stories told, and I release them to the world, I hope they'll be your friends too.

Posted on July 24, 2013, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 22 Comments.

  1. Gorgeous pics! Looks like you guys are having a great time…even if the macro pic of the frog on your daughter’s thumb almost had me screaming and running for the other room (my personal phobia).

    • Hi Kitt. Thanks for the comment. Hey, I guess I shouldn’t paint the picture of little froggy’s neck muscles going ‘bloop, bloop, bloop’ against Delaney’s thumb. I mean, look at those adorable toes gripping her skin. 😉 He’s gorgeous! (hee hee!!)

      If you want to get back at me, post a picture of a roach. I’ll throw my laptop out the window!

      • LOL! That’s okay. Roaches are universally abhorred. Frogs, on the other hand, have so many people who think they’re adorable I’ve had to learn to take a deep breath and move forward. Unfortunately, up close and personal with them…well, let’s just say my responses are not nearly so calm. In fact, a neighbor once thought I was being murdered and came flying out of his home. The frog had landed on the side of my face for a couple seconds, but that’s all it took for me to lose my mind. 😉

        • OMG! Hilarious! And notice it was on my ‘daughter’s’ thumb, not mine. 😉 She’s like an animal whisperer and will save anything.

          • Hubby’s the same way….except with insects. Then I usually have to save him. Although, there was the time he went to use the bathroom and found a frog in the toilet…. Yeah, that one freaked him out. Claimed the thing was trying to eat his butt. Bwah!

  2. Your macro photos are stunning, Ginger. Thanks for sharing them. Big congrats on writing “The End” of your YA. What an accomplishment! Yay, you!

    • Thanks, Pat! I’m having so much fun capturing them. This ‘the end’ was so hard-fought. I’m glad it’s behind me. Whew!! 😉 Hope your summer is going well.

  3. Great pics. I was just thinking of you today. Glad to see you having fun. Congrats on finishing draft of your YA. May August be spectacular.

    My summer has not been as fun. But everyone is ok. Cat has diabetes & I’m learning to give shots. Hubby is ok. I’m reading some great books and starting to get some energy back finally.

    • Hi Tasha! How sweet to know you were thinking about me. Thanks! And yes, may August be spectacular, for us both! Your poor little kitty. 😦 It’s amazing what we do for our animal babies. I too have been doing a lot of reading this summer. Tons of YA’s to keep my muse fed and happy. 🙂

      Take care … keep that energy coming back.

  4. Aw, that little froggy looks SOOO thoughtful. Very tiny and wise. 🙂 I’m glad you’re re-charging, and I’m SO SO SO SO SO proud of you for reaching ‘the end’! That’s a huge milestone, and I hope the celebration goes on for days and days.

    • Thanks Myndi! I love that little froggy too. It’s like he/she was trying to hard to say something, like thanks for getting me out of the pool skimmer … or what’s this thumb I’m on. 😉 Very happy Ninja has a The End … even a tentative one. Let the rewrites begin!

  5. I was wondering where you’d gotten off to.

    Looks like fun. Love the macro setting on the camera. That little frog looks really old. Must be the wrinkles or something.

    Have a wonderful time in your heaven away from home.

    Patricia Rickrode
    w/a Jansen Schmidt

  6. Well there you are Ginger! It’s great to see you. Glad to know that you haven’t drown or something. And look at those amazing pictures. You’ve really got a grip on that new phone of yours. So this is your secret for finishing a book. Hmm. Perhaps I shall hide away also. I understand no blogging girl. It just hasn’t been my priority. I think there’s cobwebs in there now. Time to get back to it. But I do hope that you and your entire family have a wonderful vacation together! 🙂

    • No…. no drowning. I even have a life guard in the family. 🙂 Sometimes our priorities are shifted to focus solely on self, heart, soul, family, breathing …. blogging will wait. I always love and appreciate your kind words. Thank you.

  7. I am a lovely shade of green right now. Envy you so! Hope you have a wonderful and refreshing time.

  8. Gorgeous pics! I’m pressing forward with work right now, but I’ll be going MIA for two weeks in August when my husband and I take our first vacation is a VERY long time 🙂

    • Oh, I hope you have a fabulous vacation! My husband and I did that last Sept, a trip just the two of us, no kids, no visiting family, just a destination to be together. It was bliss!!! Savor every moment. Thanks for stopping by. I always appreciate it.

  9. What an awesome summer, Ginger! And I love the frog and the other macro pix, too. Will have to check out my camera. 🙂

    I had no break this summer, and two overlapping classes put paid to my blogging. But I just took my last final, and my 16-y-o niece is here for my few weeks in between semesters. We’re going to explore Indy, do some things I haven’t done in a while, and some new stuff too. And I finally get to read again!

    When do you have to come home to a regular schedule?

    • Hi Jennifer! Glad you like my little froggy. I think he’s so cute! Yuk, no break is not good. Glad you’ll get some fun time in with your niece. And … HOORAY for getting to read again. That’s been one thing I’ve enjoyed so very much this summer. Tons of guilty-free reading!

      We head home (back to reality and obligations) on Thursday. Next Monday will be a true ‘Monday’. 😦 But at least the kids don’t return to school until close to the end of the month. I have a little more time left in semi-summer mode. I plan to milk it for all its worth.

  1. Pingback: Instagram Me | Ginger Calem

Leave a Reply

