Instagram Me

gingerillustration-1

 

I’m BAAACCKKK!!!!  I’m home from my little summer retreat at the lake. Whew! Had a great time but as always, even though it’s ‘reality’, it’s great to be home. I thought it was a good time to dust off my little blog here and give you all a fun little something to put a smile on your face and a giggle on your lips.

Today with a plethora of multi-media avenues, we can express ourselves to our family and friends … and absolute perfect strangers … in endless ways.  Some may say it’s too much. Keep a few things to yourself, for the love of over-sharing. And they may be right. But, you have to admit, it’s kind of fun.

The other day, a video was shared on Facebook that had me cracking up so hard, I had tears running down my face. I shared it with my husband and we both laughed/cried through it.

It’s priceless!

It’s priceless because it’s so TRUE.

I mean, I represent many of the very things they are mocking in the video. As a fairly new Instagrammer (is that a term?), I fully represent the mockery!! I own it with pride! As I watched, all I could think of was all the macro pics I took this summer, sharing both on Instagram and Facebook. I’m guilty of the ‘cloud’ pictures, in the form of sunsets. I’m just a sucker for a sunset. I mean, don’t you all want to see my sunsets? Doesn’t enjoying them together sort of mean we’re bonding, in some small way?

When I edit my pics, I feel like an cutting edge artist. I envision winning photo contests. I know I’m on the verge of ‘trending’.

For every ‘Like’ I get, I utter a quick ‘Ooo-OO-oooh’. (Yes, it’s 3 syllables)

Well, tell me what you think?  Do any of you relate to this video? Fess up!!  I know you do!

If nothing else, I hope you enjoy the laugh. I know I did.

 

About Ginger Calem

I never met a notebook I didn't want to buy. Pens speak to me. Sticky notes are dear to my heart. Some of my best friends are those clambering in my head trying to get onto the page. And when they have their stories told, and I release them to the world, I hope they'll be your friends too.

Posted on August 14, 2013, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 17 Comments.

  1. That was hilarious! I don’t actually do instagram (and I don’t really get what it is) but I think that applies to what people post on facebook, too. I loved the line about a “selfie” looking cute in the same room where she poops. That was awesome! Thanks for sharing.

  2. Not sure why I thought the profanity while chasing a duck was the funniest part but there ya go. Thanks for the morning chuckle!

    • Well, you’re in good company because I guffaw at that part every time. Yes. Each time!! That was me this summer trying to get the macro pic of the bee and not get stung since I’m allergic. The depth of effort in the name of art …..

  3. Oh my goodness, that is LOL FUNNY!!!!!!!!!!! Sharing 🙂 Welcome home!

  4. I’m glad you’re back with your Wednesday blogs – always enjoy your clever writings.

  5. Well now, there was something different. The guy was like total ADD dude – “hey look, a duck.” And it conveniently rhymed with . . . another word.

    I don’t “do” Instagram or Pinterest and I rarely post photos on FB. I’m just not that into it I guess.

    But your pictures, now that’s something I need to see. Lots of clouds and sunsets and water sports. I love your life’s precious moments. So keep ’em coming. Even the selfies and the close up’s of your eye and your food. Love them all.

    Welcome home my friend.

    Patricia Rickrode
    w/a Jansen Schmidt

  6. I love instagram! I think it’s my fave social media. And that video is hilarious. 🙂

  7. Yay Ginger! So great to see you back! Sounds like you had a lovely summer. Hmm. Instagram. Yep, it’s the new thing. My youngest son prefers it to Facebook. I’m not on there or Pinterest. I am terrible about taking pictures. Always have been. What does that say about me? Wait. Don’t tell me. I don’t want to know. lol. But I would love to see your pictures girl. Sunsets are the best! Looking forward to it! 🙂

  8. Though I’d seen that video before, I LOVED it and happily watched it again. I think we can all relate to special moments like that… “worried about red-eye” or a blurry photo, even if the real point is to capture a moment and a memory.

    • It’s a video that seems to get funnier the more it’s watched. I’m a picture taking addict. With print pictures a thing of the past, I don’t have hard copies of anything. I’m kind of glad for Facebook, Instagram and Dropbox. They have my entire family’s moments!

      • You’re right about having duplicates available….

        Just last fall, our old computer server started acting up–the place with all our family photos… Though I’d been concerned that we didn’t have a backup drive attached to it, I’d given up asking my husband to set one up… and though I made one or two backups myself, for me, it was an extra hard process involving multiple CDs images, etc.. I’d stopped trying after 2008

        Welllllll…. We have a new server now with two extra back drives. Guess why? Of half the bad sectors on the old server drive, 1/2 of them were for the boot sector (so no computer could recognize it) and 1/4 of them were in our picture directories… wedding pictures and videos and images of our son’s first 2 years. We recovered copies of all but one of the lost images from Facebook and our Imgur albums.

        Don’t ever be embarrassed about using the online “backups”, Ginger. They can be life-savers.

Leave a Reply

