WritersButt Wednesday: NEW Class debut – and SALSA to DIE for!

Happy WritersButt Wednesday!

Whew, it’s been a while, right? Well, I have a really fun and exciting announcement today as well as the most deliciously, awesome salsa recipe I have EVER made!

Let me start with my little announcement. Remember one year ago when I presented WritersButt at the Surrey International Writers’ Conference? Then the following January, I traveled to Sacramento to meet up with fellow writer and friend, Jansen Schmidt, to present my WritersButt workshop to her RWA chapter. Well, I had a blast both those times and I’d LOVE to do more traveling and presenting. (I really would – have your people talk to my people. And by my people, I mean me.)

That said, I can’t go gallivanting off all the time. I have my house natives who want to be fed, like every day, multiple times. (What is with that?) And I have a gym to run, classes to coach.  But, I also wanted a way to offer my WritersButt workshop in order to keep helping writers (or anyone!) to make that fabulous mind/body connection. To focus on their health as well as boost their creativity and productivity.

Well, WriterU has given me that chance and I’m so unbelievably excited! Check this out!

 

See Ginger Smiling!

See Ginger Smiling!

 

This coming January I’ll be teaching this two-week Masters Class.

~~SQUEE!!~~

My favorite part of this class description:

Prerequisite: Must be considering a change in habits to become more creative and productive.

If you are not being as creative and productive as you’d like to be, then there is something(s) in your daily routine that you are not doing in order to accomplish that. To yield different results … a CHANGE in habits HAS to happen!

It may feel a little early to be thinking about a class in January but they have put a cap on enrollment for this class. It may fill up before you or someone you know grabs a seat! I love that this class is taking place at the start of January, at the dawn of a brand new year. What better time to establish some new habits and set up for a successful and abundantly creative year!

And now – Salsa Time!

This recipe comes from Michele Tam’s Nom Nom Paleo iPad App.  I’ve recommended her APP before but it bears repeating. Even if you don’t eat a strict Paleo diet, this app is amazing! I’m not kidding. It’s gorgeous, easy to navigate and jam packed with delicious recipes.  Let me add that my pictures turned out blurry and just ‘eh’ … Michele’s photos make you want to lick your iPad and I bet it even tasted good. If you don’t have an iPad or don’t like to have cookbook apps, you can always follow her blog – it’s also amazing!

Nom Nom Paleo’s SALSA ROJA ASADA

1 lb tomatoes

2 medium Serrano chilis (I used 3 and 4 and it was SPICY!)

4 cloves garlic, unpeeled (or more!)

½ tsp Kosher salt

Juice from ½ a lime (I used a couple keylimes from my tree)

1 lg shallot, finely minced

¼ cup chopped cilantro (or pretty much the whole bunch)

Directions:

*Broil your tomatoes (washed and whole) on high for about 10 minutes, turning half way through. You want the skins blistered and blackened, and peeling off.

Broiled Tomatoes

Broiled Tomatoes

*Meanwhile, roast the chili peppers and unpeeled garlic in an ungreased skillet. Turn periodically for about 15 minutes until peppers are blackened/blistered a bit and garlic is soft. (You will find that peppers will finish first, take them out and let garlic finish.)

Bring on the flavor!

Bring on the flavor!

*Once the peppers and garlic are cool enough to handle, peel garlic and cut tops off peppers. I left in all seeds and ribs because I wanted the heat. You may remove them if you don’t like things spicy.

*I threw the peppers, garlic, and kosher salt into my Ninja blender (you can use a food processor)

*Add in your blistered, roasted tomatoes.

*Pulse until desired consistency.

Fresh cilantro

Fresh cilantro

*Transfer salsa into a bowl and stir in your shallots and cilantro.

Fresh jicama stick + Nom Nom Paleo's Salsa = Nom Nom GOOOOD!!

Fresh jicama stick + Nom Nom Paleo’s Salsa = Nom Nom GOOOOD!!

 

It gets better as it sits. OH MY GOSH – our new family favorite. Thanks Nom Nom!!

Thanks for letting me share my news with you.

Have a GREAT week everyone!

About Ginger Calem

I never met a notebook I didn't want to buy. Pens speak to me. Sticky notes are dear to my heart. Some of my best friends are those clambering in my head trying to get onto the page. And when they have their stories told, and I release them to the world, I hope they'll be your friends too.

Posted on September 4, 2013, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 14 Comments.

  1. Congrats, Ginger! Awesome news. 🙂

  2. That sounds so yummy! One tip if you are going to seed the pepper WEAR RUBBER GLOVES the oils will stay on your finger for a long long time burning your skin and eventual you will rub your eye- its like some weird law of physics.

    Congratulations on the class!

  3. I love cilantro, so “pretty much the whole bunch” suits me fine. Congrats on the class, Ginger. I’m glad you’re back.

    • I adore cilantro as well … we’d be good to share salsa! I’m surprised how many people I meet who have an aversion to it but it’s fairly common. More for US!! 🙂 ((Thanks — I’m glad I’m back too! Now if I can just ‘stay’ back!))

  4. Nom, nom Ginger! Ooh, I am so excited for you. Way to go girl! This is perfect and right up your alley. Hey, my son is on the Paleo diet and he turned us on to Avacado oil. It’s awesome. It has a fraction of fat that olive oil has and…it burns at a higher temp. You being the goddess of all things writersbutt and fitness probably know about all this. But we love it. Glad to see you back Ginger. Congrats on the class! 🙂

    • Hi Karen! I know, right — this class is so firmly in my wheelhouse that I’m giddy over it. I haven’t actually tried avocado oil and it sounds divine. I’m going to have to find some. As always, thanks for the support.

  5. gorgeous recipe, Ginger, and fantastic news about the class! If it’s likely to sell out, then I have high hopes you’ll be offering it again, cuz I can’t do it in January. Crossing my fingers for one in the summer or fall!

    • Hi Jennifer. I will certainly let you (and everyone I possibly can) if I book this class again. I truly hope it sells out. It will be fun with good group.

      Try the recipe. Super easy and truly so fresh and delicious. I don’t think I’ll be able to eat a jarred salsa ever again.

  6. Mariesa Kanetzky

    Just getting a chance to read.  So darn excited for you!  I need to ship the boy child off for a night, drink wine and learn more from the below links.  Better yet, we need a wine night so you can fill me in on matters of the muse.  That would be splendid!  Very proud for you, Ging! 

    ________________________________

  7. Very cool, Master Ginger. I’m going to call you that from now on.
    Unless you bring me some salsa.

  8. I kind of like the sound of Master Ginger! 😉

Leave a Reply

